We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best kept secret” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Emerald Iguana Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Emerald Iguana Inn to your Saves list
Emerald Iguana Inn
108 Pauline Dr., End of Blanche St., Ojai, CA 93023   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Ojai B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best kept secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary and it was a perfect getaway. We booked the "Frog" suite which lovey. The pool felt very private and the water temperature was perfect.(refreshing). my husband couldn't get put of the jacuzzi. They serve a continental breakfast and the food was very fresh. We chose to have in room massages; what a treat. There are some lovely places to have dinner in town. If you travel early in the week the area can be quite remote which was so nice as we got to relax and reconnect. It is a perfect place to reconnect.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    48
    9
    6
    4
See reviews for
31
203
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Watertown, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We were there in June for our daughter's wedding. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Clean room, comfortable bed, beautiful grounds, nice continental breakfast. Everything: the room, the staff, and everything in between was well-worth going back for.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

The Emerald Iquana is a great place to stay. I stayed in a cottage and it was so roomy and cozy. Great service and really enjoyed the stay. I only regret I was only there for one night. I will definately return this time just for fun.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

This hideaway was beautifully decorated in a quiet corner of Ojai. Close enough to walk to the shops and restaurants in town, but the decor makes you feel secluded. Nice pool, staff and breakfast. The perfect getaway from the city.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

the room had everything jet tub ,front and back patios ,your own dining room ,kitchen ,coffee maker it had outside pool hot tub and very private but you walk into town..its a must if you go to Ojai,pricey.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We were in town for a wedding and the Emerald Iguana was recommended. We rented the Raven room which had two separate bedrooms and adjoining bathrooms which were more than adequate, clean. The beds were comfortable and the peace and quiet of the place a welcome surprise during an otherwise hectic weekend. The location is a little bit out of the way, but still within easy walk distance to the main road, shops and restaurants. The breakfast was good and fresh, the pool area very nice and the staff helpful. One little quirk: we were two couples and only when we checked in were we made aware of a quadruple occupancy surcharge; kind of a silly thing I would think when the room can sleep six comfortably..... Would I recommend it? Yes.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

The Emerald Iguana proved to be the perfect place for a weekend "girls" getaway. So that we could each have a private bedroom we rented two cottages (Raven and Lilypad). Both have small kitchens, living rooms, are well-located on the property, and give a sense of privacy. Overall, Lilypad feels newer, brighter, and is better for gathering together. Its second bedroom, however, is a loft with a steep, circular staircase leading down to the second bath –– not good for women of a certain age. So, two people had to share a bedroom with two beds. Raven is single story. The bedrooms and ensuite bathrooms were more than adequate, but it is not as open and airy as Lilypad. The pool and hot tub were clean and comfortable with lots of chairs and umbrellas nestled among the flowers and shrubs. Breakfast was a real treat with yogurt, bagels, fresh fruit and juice, boiled eggs, pastries, as well as plentiful hot tea and coffee. The staff that we met in the Reception area were very helpful. They provided maps, directions, suggestions, and a bowl of Jelly Bellies. Although we did not take advantage of any of the spa opportunities in Ojai, they were quite willing to assist with reservations. The Inn is in a residential area that is an easy walk into town for shopping and excellent restaurants. The setting was ideal for a girls getaway, and I would also recommend it highly to couples.

Room Tip: If you need two private bedrooms and don't like to negotiate stairs between a bedroom and bathro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Emerald Iguana Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Iguana Inn

Address: 108 Pauline Dr., End of Blanche St., Ojai, CA 93023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ojai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ojai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Emerald Iguana Inn is Ojai's most beautiful boutique hotel. This lovely, romantic boutique Inn offers luxury accommodations in a serene setting just a few minutes walk from the scenic downtown Ojai. Luxuriously decorated rooms, suites and cottages surround a crystaline pool & spa. Many offer whirlpool or clawfoot bathtubs, fireplaces or private balconies. Daily continental breakfast. Wine & cheese reception offered Spring & Summer weekends. In-room spa services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Emerald Iguana Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerald Iguana Hotel Ojai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emerald Iguana Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.