We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Girls Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Emerald Iguana Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Emerald Iguana Inn to your Saves list
Emerald Iguana Inn
108 Pauline Dr., End of Blanche St., Ojai, CA 93023   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Ojai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Perfect Girls Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

The Emerald Iguana proved to be the perfect place for a weekend "girls" getaway. So that we could each have a private bedroom we rented two cottages (Raven and Lilypad). Both have small kitchens, living rooms, are well-located on the property, and give a sense of privacy. Overall, Lilypad feels newer, brighter, and is better for gathering together. Its second bedroom, however, is a loft with a steep, circular staircase leading down to the second bath –– not good for women of a certain age. So, two people had to share a bedroom with two beds. Raven is single story. The bedrooms and ensuite bathrooms were more than adequate, but it is not as open and airy as Lilypad. The pool and hot tub were clean and comfortable with lots of chairs and umbrellas nestled among the flowers and shrubs. Breakfast was a real treat with yogurt, bagels, fresh fruit and juice, boiled eggs, pastries, as well as plentiful hot tea and coffee. The staff that we met in the Reception area were very helpful. They provided maps, directions, suggestions, and a bowl of Jelly Bellies. Although we did not take advantage of any of the spa opportunities in Ojai, they were quite willing to assist with reservations. The Inn is in a residential area that is an easy walk into town for shopping and excellent restaurants. The setting was ideal for a girls getaway, and I would also recommend it highly to couples.

Room Tip: If you need two private bedrooms and don't like to negotiate stairs between a bedroom and bathro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    57
    11
    6
    4
See reviews for
33
238
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We booked the Raven room for one night. To our surprise , it was an oasis of peace. After a long work day, we so enjoyed the comfort of the whole environment ! The breakfast is fresh and yummy served in the pool patio, nice. I loved the art on the walls and the bed was comfortable. The feel in General is relaxing. I will defiantly be back to enjoy more that!

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

There were 10 of us. We had a very fun time. This place is a little reserved for a few in our group. As it's very very quiet. And we were loud at the pool until 10pm. And a few of the 20 something in our group were a little crazy for this place. They probably should be in Miami for that kind of craziness. But for me and most of the group PERFECT!! Very beautiful unique rooms

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I was pleasantly surprised when I arrived after sunset at this lovely inn.

Tucked in a residential hood in Ojai, just a few blocks from town, this lovely hotel is a real find.

The lovely Pilar greeted me at the check in and showed me to my room. I stayed in "Frog" and is perfect. One large bedroom and a super huge living room and kitchen. There's also a beautiful patio area. I could have stayed a month.

The property has a nice pool area and breakfast buffet. It's not a huge hotel/inn, but that's the charm.

Top grade for service, privacy and romantic potential. The staff is professional, friendly and will go the extra mile to make things perfect.

Can't wait to go back for another adventure.

Thank you!

Room Tip: The website has some very nice pics.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Emerald Iguana is our new perfect place in Ojai! We totally fell in love with the place from the moment we arrived. We had to get away for just one night (last minute, same day kind of thing) and we found this little yet beautiful hotel on Kayak. It's almost like something out of a story book! Nestle into the small hills and surrounded by trees, its the perfect get away! We stayed in the Grasshopper room, it was tastefully decorated, had a small private patio. The service was great, the swimming pool was really nice, specially at night with all the candle lighting. Loved, loved loved the Emerald Iguana so much that we booked our Anniversary in August already!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chula Vista, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Good location, great service, large rooms and beautiful pool area. This property is small, a boutique type inn with a warm, friendly feel to it. The staff is extremely helpful in every aspect. We will be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Have stayed at the Iguanas before. This time my husband and I chose "Cricket" suite at the Emerald Iguana for our anniversary. Very nice room adjoining the pool area with light and space.
2 story suite with 2 balconies off the bedroom and one patio off the dining nook. One balcony gets western afternoon light and looks out over a veld of bamboo. The other faces south east into the pool/breakfast area, is framed by a great tree and gets morning light. It was a totally peaceful and magical environment. Iguana maiden waves her wand. I am in bliss and forget my recent three surgeries and year plus struggle with cancer. Enjoyed breakfast by the pool in the sunlight. Check in and out was efficient. Parking close. Walk or drive into town easy. A very special place!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ojai
1.1 mi away
Casa Ojai Inn
Casa Ojai Inn
#3 of 5 in Ojai
4.0 of 5 stars 355 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Capri
The Capri
#4 of 5 in Ojai
3.5 of 5 stars 340 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chantico Inn
Chantico Inn
#5 of 5 in Ojai
3.0 of 5 stars 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Oakridge Inn
Oakridge Inn
#1 of 1 in Oak View
4.0 of 5 stars 62 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ojai Valley Inn & Spa
0.4 mi away
Su Nido Inn (Your Nest In Ojai)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald Iguana Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Iguana Inn

Address: 108 Pauline Dr., End of Blanche St., Ojai, CA 93023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ojai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ojai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Emerald Iguana Inn is Ojai's most beautiful boutique hotel. This lovely, romantic boutique Inn offers luxury accommodations in a serene setting just a few minutes walk from the scenic downtown Ojai. Luxuriously decorated rooms, suites and cottages surround a crystaline pool & spa. Many offer whirlpool or clawfoot bathtubs, fireplaces or private balconies. Daily continental breakfast. Wine & cheese reception offered Spring & Summer weekends. In-room spa services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Emerald Iguana Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerald Iguana Hotel Ojai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emerald Iguana Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.