We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Emerald Iguana Inn

Save Saved
You added Emerald Iguana Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Emerald Iguana Inn
108 Pauline Dr., End of Blanche St., Ojai, CA 93023   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Continental Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 10 Ojai B&B and Inns
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Charming Spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Very charming property, quiet, clean, nice location near center of town, great spot to relax and enjoy the whole Ojai experience. I used room service to reflect the breakfast which was adequate but nothing special.

Room Tip: a very quiet location and the units at the back of the property more so, we were in the Grasshopper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iguanapwr1, Owner at Emerald Iguana Inn, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
We are very pleased this guest enjoyed their stay at our property. To hear that our guests are still satisfied even during this period of construction at the property pleases us very much. We do hope they will return again after the construction is completed to enjoy our new upgrades.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    213
    44
    8
    5
    4
See reviews for
28
176
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Rafael, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

11/23-26/12...Comfortable, quiet, gracious, convenient...certainly worth the six-hour drive to get to Ojai from NorCal...town and people as advertised...restaurants not so much...entire town is walkable...shopping highlighted by the total lack of "chains." good local groceries and nice Sunday farmer's market...unfortunately, motorcyclists have discovered the town and it can get noisy...

Room Tip: Cricket was exceptional but two flight in-room stairs have to be reckoned with...also could use a ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

What a wonderful surprise when my husband and I stayed at the Emerald Iguana Inn. There have been many lodgings in which we stayed in our decades of travel both in the USA and in Europe. The Emerald Iguana Inn rates among the best.

Our suite was just beautiful, in fact we walked through the grounds, peeked in at other rooms as they were being cleaned for the next guests. Every room had something special to offer, and one could see that great efforts were made at attention to detail. The whole grounds are conducive to a very relaxing and “decompressing” stay.

We were booked for 4 nights and added a 5th. We wanted to stay the weekend, but everything was already booked solid.

Ojai was a surprise, as we’d never heard of it being a spa or vacation destination. Additionally, who would have thought that a “small town inn” would have such a sophisticated and professional staff. I would like to take this opportunity to thank the very competent Casey, Jade and Ashley for the great, professional and personal service we received.

We shall return!

Maria Quehenberger, San Diego, CA

Room Tip: All rooms have their own character and ambiance, so to pick one particular one would be difficult.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

10/30/2012

The town was filled to the brim for Film Festival and Yoga Retreat weekend. Our luck was good, and the Toad Room at Emerald Iguana opened at the last minute. We've never been here before, but it looked wonderful, and the reviews were nearly all positive. Well, this GEM was better than we imagined: Spotless rooms and grounds, perfectly appointed and maintained grounds, helpful staff, quiet and reserved guests, lovely wine/cheese comped each day and gratis continental breakfast each morning. All in all, a perfect 10/10 spot.

WE DON'T WANT TO STAY ANYWHERE ELSE IN OJAI....THE EMERALD IS NOW OUR HOME AWAY FROM HOME!!!!!

John & Elizabeth

Room Tip: Spend a little more for a suite...they're spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Our bungalow was clean, the bed super comfy, and the grounds very quiet. The staff went above and beyond to make our stay a nice one. They made recommendations for lunch and dinner and had great experiences at each restaurant. The only complaint is the jacuzzi was broken and wasn't being fixed until the next day. They spent quite a bit of time trying to fix the problem and apologized. But we got a nice specialty box of chocolates from them that helped the disappointment!

We will definitely come back for a stay and highly recommend it!

Room Tip: We had a queen bed with a fan above the bed. Since October is hot in Ojai we felt this was a must...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle Creek, Oregon
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I was doing a workshop 2 doors down from the Emerald Iguana, so it was the perfect location. there were many amenities and features about the suite i was staying in (the leaf room), like a fridge, a gas-range. comfortable furniture. it was extremely quiet most of the time, though the 9:30 pm quiet time was not enforced at all and some noisy evening pool party was not very welcomed.There does not seem to be any staff present after 6 pm. This presented a problem for me, requiring that i stop at the Blue Iguana on my way into to town to check in. it made it absolutely imperative that i rent a car so if my flight was late (which it was) i would have to stop there to check in first. it would have been nice if they could have ran my card a head of time and simply told me where they hid the key (which is all they did). this was extremely irritating to me. the fridge made a lot of noise and would give off a big bang every now and then. the other thing that was not great is that the deadbolt was nearly impossible to turn, so most of the time i only locked the door knob. the flimsy doors made me wonder about the security of the place but i made do. I loved that the cleaning staff did my dishes for me!

Room Tip: The leaf room was pretty good--not too close to the pool, and only one side and above are neighbors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Our only complaint is that our room was very dark, needing lights to be on even in the middle of a sunny day. A staff member had recommended the Grasshopper Room to us, even though we reserved so early that all rooms wrere available at that time. She said the room was among her favorites.

After exploring the property, we realized we had been given poor advice.

But otherwise, a very nice stay.

Room Tip: If you like light, don't choose the Grasshopper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Emerald Iguana Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Iguana Inn

Also Known As:
Emerald Iguana Hotel Ojai
Emerald Iguana Hotel
Address: 108 Pauline Dr., End of Blanche St., Ojai, CA 93023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ojai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Ojai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Emerald Iguana Inn is Ojai's most beautiful boutique hotel. This lovely, romantic boutique Inn offers luxury accommodations in a serene setting just a few minutes walk from the scenic downtown Ojai. Luxuriously decorated rooms, suites and cottages surround a crystaline pool & spa. Many offer whirlpool or clawfoot bathtubs, fireplaces or private balconies. Daily continental breakfast. Wine & cheese reception offered Spring & Summer weekends. In-room spa services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, T4B, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Emerald Iguana Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emerald Iguana Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.