We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like a postcard” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Emerald Iguana Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Emerald Iguana Inn to your Saves list
Emerald Iguana Inn
108 Pauline Dr., End of Blanche St., Ojai, CA 93023   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Ojai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Like a postcard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

11/23-26/12...Comfortable, quiet, gracious, convenient...certainly worth the six-hour drive to get to Ojai from NorCal...town and people as advertised...restaurants not so much...entire town is walkable...shopping highlighted by the total lack of "chains." good local groceries and nice Sunday farmer's market...unfortunately, motorcyclists have discovered the town and it can get noisy...

Room Tip: Cricket was exceptional but two flight in-room stairs have to be reckoned with...also could use a ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    57
    11
    6
    4
See reviews for
33
238
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

What a wonderful surprise when my husband and I stayed at the Emerald Iguana Inn. There have been many lodgings in which we stayed in our decades of travel both in the USA and in Europe. The Emerald Iguana Inn rates among the best.

Our suite was just beautiful, in fact we walked through the grounds, peeked in at other rooms as they were being cleaned for the next guests. Every room had something special to offer, and one could see that great efforts were made at attention to detail. The whole grounds are conducive to a very relaxing and “decompressing” stay.

We were booked for 4 nights and added a 5th. We wanted to stay the weekend, but everything was already booked solid.

Ojai was a surprise, as we’d never heard of it being a spa or vacation destination. Additionally, who would have thought that a “small town inn” would have such a sophisticated and professional staff. I would like to take this opportunity to thank the very competent Casey, Jade and Ashley for the great, professional and personal service we received.

We shall return!

Maria Quehenberger, San Diego, CA

Room Tip: All rooms have their own character and ambiance, so to pick one particular one would be difficult.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

10/30/2012

The town was filled to the brim for Film Festival and Yoga Retreat weekend. Our luck was good, and the Toad Room at Emerald Iguana opened at the last minute. We've never been here before, but it looked wonderful, and the reviews were nearly all positive. Well, this GEM was better than we imagined: Spotless rooms and grounds, perfectly appointed and maintained grounds, helpful staff, quiet and reserved guests, lovely wine/cheese comped each day and gratis continental breakfast each morning. All in all, a perfect 10/10 spot.

WE DON'T WANT TO STAY ANYWHERE ELSE IN OJAI....THE EMERALD IS NOW OUR HOME AWAY FROM HOME!!!!!

John & Elizabeth

Room Tip: Spend a little more for a suite...they're spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Our bungalow was clean, the bed super comfy, and the grounds very quiet. The staff went above and beyond to make our stay a nice one. They made recommendations for lunch and dinner and had great experiences at each restaurant. The only complaint is the jacuzzi was broken and wasn't being fixed until the next day. They spent quite a bit of time trying to fix the problem and apologized. But we got a nice specialty box of chocolates from them that helped the disappointment!

We will definitely come back for a stay and highly recommend it!

Room Tip: We had a queen bed with a fan above the bed. Since October is hot in Ojai we felt this was a must...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle Creek, Oregon
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I was doing a workshop 2 doors down from the Emerald Iguana, so it was the perfect location. there were many amenities and features about the suite i was staying in (the leaf room), like a fridge, a gas-range. comfortable furniture. it was extremely quiet most of the time, though the 9:30 pm quiet time was not enforced at all and some noisy evening pool party was not very welcomed.There does not seem to be any staff present after 6 pm. This presented a problem for me, requiring that i stop at the Blue Iguana on my way into to town to check in. it made it absolutely imperative that i rent a car so if my flight was late (which it was) i would have to stop there to check in first. it would have been nice if they could have ran my card a head of time and simply told me where they hid the key (which is all they did). this was extremely irritating to me. the fridge made a lot of noise and would give off a big bang every now and then. the other thing that was not great is that the deadbolt was nearly impossible to turn, so most of the time i only locked the door knob. the flimsy doors made me wonder about the security of the place but i made do. I loved that the cleaning staff did my dishes for me!

Room Tip: The leaf room was pretty good--not too close to the pool, and only one side and above are neighbors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Our only complaint is that our room was very dark, needing lights to be on even in the middle of a sunny day. A staff member had recommended the Grasshopper Room to us, even though we reserved so early that all rooms wrere available at that time. She said the room was among her favorites.

After exploring the property, we realized we had been given poor advice.

But otherwise, a very nice stay.

Room Tip: If you like light, don't choose the Grasshopper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

What a wonderful stay! Don’t let the “inn” part of the name fool you. This place is so much more! I stayed at the Lilypad suite which had 1 bedroom, 1 2nd floor loft, 2 baths, 2 patios, and a full kitchen. My favorite part of the suite was the little Jacuzzi. The beds were all very comfortable and the inn environment was just as peaceful. The management enforces a quiet time so this place is great for those who are seeking peace and relaxation. There is also a pool and Jacuzzi so your rest and relaxation can definitely continue outside. The breakfast was great since it serves a large variety of pastries and beverages. Above and beyond all expectations, especially for an inn!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ojai
1.1 mi away
Casa Ojai Inn
Casa Ojai Inn
#3 of 5 in Ojai
4.0 of 5 stars 353 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Capri
The Capri
#4 of 5 in Ojai
3.5 of 5 stars 339 reviews
4.8 mi away
Oakridge Inn
Oakridge Inn
#1 of 1 in Oak View
4.0 of 5 stars 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Chantico Inn
Chantico Inn
#5 of 5 in Ojai
3.0 of 5 stars 56 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ojai Valley Inn & Spa
0.4 mi away
Su Nido Inn (Your Nest In Ojai)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald Iguana Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Iguana Inn

Address: 108 Pauline Dr., End of Blanche St., Ojai, CA 93023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ojai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ojai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Emerald Iguana Inn is Ojai's most beautiful boutique hotel. This lovely, romantic boutique Inn offers luxury accommodations in a serene setting just a few minutes walk from the scenic downtown Ojai. Luxuriously decorated rooms, suites and cottages surround a crystaline pool & spa. Many offer whirlpool or clawfoot bathtubs, fireplaces or private balconies. Daily continental breakfast. Wine & cheese reception offered Spring & Summer weekends. In-room spa services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Emerald Iguana Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerald Iguana Hotel Ojai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emerald Iguana Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.