We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lavender Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ojai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lavender Inn
Save Saved
You added Lavender Inn to your Saves list
210 E. Matilija St., Ojai, CA 93023 (Formerly The Moon's Nest Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 Ojai B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Lovely B&B. Staff was friendly and helpful. The building and yard had character, and offered enough privacy to enjoy quiet time with my wife. Breakfast was delicious and generous, and the wine and cheese hour was an unexpected treat.

Re: location - a short walk from nearly everything we wanted.

Perfect for a quiet get away. We look forward to visiting again.

(No pool or fitness center.)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    123
    22
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
17
69
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We went up to Ojai for my husband to play golf. I decided, since we were staying at the Lavender Inn, to spend time in the Inn's garden, reading and writing. This was so incredibly pleasant -- just exactly the kind of time I was hoping for and more. They had hot water for tea in the dining room, so I was able to take a cup of tea out with me into the garden. The people who work there are so nice, the setting is so serene, and did I mention the breakfast? A whole array of flavorful dishes, including vegetable frittata and Gruyere herbed buttermilk biscuits, filled the sideboard, and we ate out on the porch by the fountain. I could have stayed there a long, long time. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 7. Very spacious with a king bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This is our second time staying at the Lavender Inn. The first time was around 2006 and I was happy to see that this small inn was as charming and comfortable as I remembered. The inn is perfectly located just across from a wonderful organic grocery store and one block from Ojai shopping arcade. It is also walking distance from Bart's , a wonderful bookstore. We stayed at the Craftsman room this time, a spacious room with a queen size bed, nicely decorated with comfortable quilts and a good size bathroom. My only tiny complain is that I could have used more space for my toiletries but this is something that can be easily remedy by adding another small table by the pedestal sink. The hotel has a very lovely garden and a porch where we had breakfast in the morning. Talking about breakfast it is really gourmet: Wonderful egg dishes, homemade biscuits, fruit, granola, yogurt and so much more. They also serve wine and cheese and other goodies at five pm every evening, unfortunately we missed because of our schedule. This is the perfect place for a romantic getaway but I would not recommend it for family with children.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, California
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

My friend and I went to the Lavender Inn Spa. She had a facial, I had a massage. The facial experience was fantastic. The esthetician obviously knows her stuff. She is professional, knowledgable, and engaging. She's been doing facials for quite some time & is very helpful. Alas, the masseuse was not up to par. Perhaps she is very new to the field....but the massage was mostly her just rubbing oil on me. There was no massage of my back, leg, or arm muscles. She did an excellent job on head & shoulders....and perhaps this would be a different review if she advertised only that type of massage. I am disappointed that I invested the money & got about 7 minutes of quality experience. Again: super facialist....just be careful with the massage. (I should add that we made last minute reservations, so maybe that was the issue with the masseuse.) I'll definitely return for a facial.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lavenderinn, Owner at Lavender Inn, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
We're sorry that you had a less than perfect experience at the Spa and if you stayed at the Lavender Inn during this experience, we hope that stay made up for it. The following is a response from The Lavender in SPA that we would like to forward in response to your review.

"We are sorry to hear that you had a disappointing experience at The Spa at the Lavender Inn. In fact your assessment was correct, Natalia, our regular massage therapist, was in Russia because of a family emergency and we had a young woman recently graduated from massage school filling in for her.
We have never received a complaint regarding Natalia's treatments. Quite the contrary, we have always gotten glowing reports from the Inn's guests and she also has a substantial cliental of local residents.

Neither Natalia nor myself want you to feel that you "didn't get your money's worth " at our spa and would like to invite you to visit us again , as our guest. I also want to thank you for your kind words regarding the facial......I think you'll probably leave feeling that way about your massage if you're able to make another visit !

We'll look forward to hearing from you, at your convenience , for an appointment.

Sincerely,

Mary Nelson "
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Lavender Inn was a great place for a short "get away". Not too far from LA to go for a weekend, and far enough to be "away". I found Lavender Inn on the "dog-friendly" website and booked the "pet friendly room". The "non-pet" rooms have a better room but ours was just fine. The garden is well fenced so we were able to let the pooch run freely for a while. Very peaceful, beautiful spot. We had a yoga class early Sunday morning (they will arrange it any time with a private instructor). The staff was attentive and welcoming. The breakfast was GREAT...none of the stock stuff you get in most hotel breakfasts. Overall a bit of a splurge but well worth it!

Room Tip: If you are NOT bringing your dog, take one of the rooms overlooking the garden (rooms 3 & 4 look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

What a beautiful place this is! My husband and I had a wonderful stay here. Great food and especially the individualized service. We had some early morning activities scheduled so we had to leave before breakfast was served. They took the time to make sure we had a breakfast ready for us before we left for the day. That's service!! Thanks so much!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Friends for over 30 years, we booked our getaway based on the positive reviews. The Inn is adorable. The women who run it are fabulous and so willing to help in any way they can. The building is old, which adds charm and a homey feel. We found it to be very clean and really enjoyed the breakfasts and the wine and cheese in the early evening. We also loved the country garden feel of the grounds. This is a B&B and not a hotel, so those that want sound-proof rooms with thick fire doors may not be as satisfied as we were as you can hear some hushed sounds of your neighbors.We stayed in the Lavender room with a balcony that had a view of the grounds and caught up as we watched the squirrels scurry from tree to tree with lots of hummingbird activity. We also recommend shopping in the adorable little town. We would come back again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lavender Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lavender Inn

Address: 210 E. Matilija St., Ojai, CA 93023 (Formerly The Moon's Nest Inn)
Location: United States > California > Ojai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Ojai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blending comfort with elegance, the Lavender Inn is conveniently located across from shops, galleries, and restaurants. Originally built in 1874, this Bed & Breakfast offers a romantic getaway, garden wedding celebrations, intimate business workshops, family reunions, or a quiet retreat. The gardens are absolutely stunning with mature oaks, 7 fountains, a small pond, and colorful flowers. The interior is tastefully decorated with an array of art and antiques. Full, gourmet breakfast and wine and cheese are served daily on the veranda. Put on one of our lush robes and wander out the front steps for a facial or massage in our Lavender Inn Spa. Look for our cooking classes in our kitchen, Ojai Culinary School, with visiting chefs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lavender Hotel Ojai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lavender Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.