We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B ever!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lavender Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ojai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lavender Inn
Save
You added Lavender Inn to your Saves list
210 E. Matilija St., Ojai, CA 93023 (Formerly The Moon's Nest Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 Ojai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Akron, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best B&B ever!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

What a beautiful place this is! My husband and I had a wonderful stay here. Great food and especially the individualized service. We had some early morning activities scheduled so we had to leave before breakfast was served. They took the time to make sure we had a breakfast ready for us before we left for the day. That's service!! Thanks so much!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    25
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
21
75
12
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Friends for over 30 years, we booked our getaway based on the positive reviews. The Inn is adorable. The women who run it are fabulous and so willing to help in any way they can. The building is old, which adds charm and a homey feel. We found it to be very clean and really enjoyed the breakfasts and the wine and cheese in the early evening. We also loved the country garden feel of the grounds. This is a B&B and not a hotel, so those that want sound-proof rooms with thick fire doors may not be as satisfied as we were as you can hear some hushed sounds of your neighbors.We stayed in the Lavender room with a balcony that had a view of the grounds and caught up as we watched the squirrels scurry from tree to tree with lots of hummingbird activity. We also recommend shopping in the adorable little town. We would come back again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Having stayed at a range of four and five stars worldwide, I am always wary of B&B's. But, there is absolutely nothing to worry about with Lavender Inn, no doubt one of the best B&B's out there. Charming one-of-a-kind rooms, almost all of the amenities of a five star hotel (except slightly outdated bathrooms), accommodating service (we loved Vanessa!), great breakfast and hors d'oeuvres, comfy beds, beautiful gardens, a friendly house pooch and cat, and a perfect, quiet location with a spa! It does not get better than this B&B, which gives a serious run for the money to the more commercial, more expensive, less charming Ojai Valley Inn down the street.

Room Tip: Room 7 for more space
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Best way to do this is bullet points otherwise I will go on and on and on.

-Absolutely beautiful, homey, quaint, and cozy B&B
-Beth, Linda, Diane, Vanessa, Dan, and staff are fabulous, warm, and welcoming and all contribute to the beauty and sense of ease you feel the second you arrive.
-The rooms are all individually beautiful and unique and have robes in each room. In addition Vanessa makes a gourmet mean breakfast while you stay and sets out a wine and cheese spread in the evening. Must I go on?

Our Wedding
-Beth coordinated everything for us and was worth every dime. She made evrything so smooth and calm so that we could enjoy every moment. We had huge wedding parties and both our families occupied the inn n and Beth along with the staff was so patient and accomodating.
-Vanessa served us our breakfast the morning of our wedding and the morning after on our own seperate patio which made things so special.
-The cottage could not have been more perfect for us girls to get ready in. The private back patio has a chandelier and getting my makeup done out there next the the buddah and water fountain was so friggen relaxing and special.

I will never stop reccomending this wonderful gem and cannot wait to keep revisiting! A huge thank you to everyone at Lavender Inn!!! Love you guys!!

Tara and Ryan

Room Tip: The Provence Cottage is amazingly quaint quiet and has its own private patio and kitchenette. You ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We have just returned from a trip to CA having stayed at 3 distinctly different yet wonderful properties. The Lavender Inn was delightful! We stayed in the Romantic Suite because it had a king bed. The room was spacious, well appointed, clean, and the bed very comfortable. The bathroom had a small balcony off of it that was delightful. It is an older home that has been beautifully restored and maintained so I would disagree with some reviews that implied it was not up to snuff. The Innkeepers were lovely, extremely helpful offering suggestions for things to do, restaurants etc. The breakfasts were yummy! These ladies can cook! One morning was eggs with polenta and fresh vegetables and herbs, the other a light and fluffy frittata. My husband and I certainly enjoyed the chaise on the front porch to read and enjoy the sound of the fountain, (both of us were lulled to sleep by it)! The gardens are beautiful, freeform and full of herbs and flowering plants. The backyard offers a large porch and also several seats tucked into the landscape where we enjoyed our wine and cheese in the afternoon. We both like to be active and found the shelf trail that was recommended a good way to burn off some calories and offer beautiful vistas of the entire Ojai valley. Walking to dinner every night is a treat and we actually went to the same place twice because it was so wonderful, sat outside on a lovely patio and enjoyed dinner made with fresh, local fish and vegetables. We walked around the Ojai Inn and resort, just to see what others had fussed about, and both said how much we preferred the comfort and coziness of the Lavender to the pretentious pomp.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I attended a wedding at Gridley Ranch and stayed at the Lavender Inn for one night. This was my first time staying at a bed and breakfast and I was pleasantly surprised. My room (Tree House) was clean, comfy bed, and had serene views of the backyard from two large windows. I shared a bathroom with another room, accessible from one door in the hallway. The Inn is walking distance to the parking lot where the bus picked us up to go to Gridley Ranch. Breakfast was also delicious and I enjoyed dining on the patio in the morning. Staff was friendly including the adorable dog. Great experience!

Room Tip: Tree House is a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We chose the Lavender Inn for our Sons wedding and could not be happier with the outcome. Perfect location and walking distance to restaurants, shops and stores. The staff was incredible and accommodating. The property was perfect for our wedding with 90 guests and the fact that we could stay at the property, made preparation easy and relaxed. Breakfast every morning was delicious and the property is beautiful and relaxing. We would do this again without question and look forward to going back even for a weekend to relax and enjoy the quaint town of Ojai. A great value and the perfect location for a wedding!!!

Room Tip: We loved our room # 3 with a small balcony overlooking the garden and a private bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lavender Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lavender Inn

Address: 210 E. Matilija St., Ojai, CA 93023 (Formerly The Moon's Nest Inn)
Location: United States > California > Ojai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ojai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blending comfort with elegance, the Lavender Inn is conveniently located across from shops, galleries, and restaurants. Originally built in 1874, this Bed & Breakfast offers a romantic getaway, garden wedding celebrations, intimate business workshops, family reunions, or a quiet retreat. The gardens are absolutely stunning with mature oaks, 7 fountains, a small pond, and colorful flowers. The interior is tastefully decorated with an array of art and antiques. Full, gourmet breakfast and wine and cheese are served daily on the veranda. Put on one of our lush robes and wander out the front steps for a facial or massage in our Lavender Inn Spa. Look for our cooking classes in our kitchen, Ojai Culinary School, with visiting chefs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lavender Hotel Ojai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lavender Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.