We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hospitality!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lavender Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ojai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lavender Inn
Save Saved
You added Lavender Inn to your Saves list
210 E. Matilija St., Ojai, CA 93023 (Formerly The Moon's Nest Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 Ojai B&B and Inns
Ojai, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“hospitality!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This lovely set of cottages is delightful! The staff made us feel so welcomed from the moment of our arrival. I had dietary special needs and they went out of their way to accommodate me, even without my request. I love the location as there is no need to rent a car - located right in downtown Ojai so every thing you need is in walking distance in this sweet Ojai village! We had a peaceful, warm, friendly, pampered time at the Lavender Inn and I hope to come back many times!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    22
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
17
70
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Ana, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Loved my stay!!! The Lavendar Inn doesn't just cater to couples, I just turned 50 and came for a great weekend with a gal pal, on a girls weekend. The staff was so friendly, that we felt we made new friends in our short stay. The breakfast was truly old school B&B...not just a 'continental breakfast' with store bought bagels and hard boiled eggs. We had Polenta with eggs and fresh fruit the first morning, and a spinach scramble and lox the 2nd. Wine, cheese and crackers were each night...and they were very generous, with that, as well. :) There was free internet thru-out. The Farmer's Market is located next door on Sundays, and the arcade is one street up. It's quiet, the garden is lovely, the rooms are delightful...and I very much look forward to returning as soon as I can! Thanks Lavender Inn for making part 3 of my birthday month that much greater!!!

Room Tip: We were located in room #4...overlooking the garden with a private balcony...beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

My husband & I celebrated our anniversary at this beautiful B & B. We brought our six month old son with us. The cottage gave us enough privacy that we didn't need to worry about disturbing other guests. We even had our own private patio for sipping champagne and enjoying the perfect Ojai weather. The entire property is perfection!! Every detail attended too. Unbelievably clean, beautiful shabby chic style, AMAZING breakfast, the kindest staff ever... did I mention the AMAZING breakfast??!!!
We found the Lavender Inn to be the perfect location for a stay-cation for our little family. Amidst the peaceful garden/patio and lovely room we really enjoyed each others company. It was a breath of fresh air and really gave us an opportunity to reconnect. We will visit again and again... and again!
Thank you for the special memories!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

My wife and I decided to get away for the weekend with our 1.5 year old daughter. We wanted to pick a relaxing place to just relax. Based on the review of Lavender Inn, we decided to give it a try. When i called to make the reservation, the inn keeper recommended booking the PRovence cottage since we have a toddler and may be more secluded from others in the Inn. We agreed with her suggestion and didn't want our daughter to ruin the stay of other guests in the inn. We made a reservation for 1 night at the Provence Cottage.
Lavender Inn is located right in the heart of Ojai with walking distance to all the shops and restaurants. It is situated on a quiet street with ample parking. When we checked in, the inn keeper was very friendly.
The provence cottage has it's own entrance separate from the main house. It is attached behind the kitchen. IT is quite spacious and boasts a living room separate from the bedroom.
Everything was decorated with a very warm and inviting taste.
However, my wife and I were a bit disappointed with the upkeep of the cottage. One thing we notice was that it wasn't as clean as we had hoped for considering we paid $300 per night. We had hoped with that price, we would find a better maintained place.
First, we noticed that the paint on the baseboard of the walls was too dirty from all the luggages and people that had stayed there before. There was black marks all over many parts of the wall. On the wall behind the toilet, the paint was coming off in certain areas and there were traces of old black mark on the paint from what seemed like prior decoration that had to be removed.
We also notice there were a few spider webs on one of the corners of the living room. I had to physically remove a spider from the ceiling in our bedroom as well. The french doors in the living room was hard to close and we could tell, it needed some repair as well.
Not to mention, there was a sign that the CD player in the living room was not working.
Since this was a Bed and breakfast, we didn't expect anything fancy but we had hoped it was cleaner. The carpet in the living room seemed too warn off and needed a good dry cleaning or replacement.
I know the reviews from other visitors were wonderful and we had hoped we were able to post positive comments like theirs as well

However, with the price we paid per night, we wished we had rented a better maintained cottage.

BUt in a positive note, the staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We went to Ojai on a "scouting" trip as we are new foster parents to Bella, a beautiful and well mannered Old English Sheepdog. We had never traveled with a dog before and went looking for a weekend get-a-way within a couple hours drive of Los Angeles. We found doggie and people heaven at the Lavender Inn! There are two accommodations for people with dogs- the Cottage and one of the regular rooms. We spoiled ourselves with the Cottage the first night and would have loved to stay there the second night but it was already booked. Very spacious and comfortable with access to a private yard which opens up to an even larger yard. Plenty of room for playing with the dog. The bathroom was very nice. There is also a well stocked DVD library. The staff loves animals and showered Bella with attention and treats. The other guests did not seem to mind her joining us for the terrific breakfasts. There is plenty to eat and all requests for more food or other types of food were cheerfully granted. My wife has a gluten allergy so they provided her gluten free options. The wine and cheese tasting were a nice touch with several tasty cheeses to choose from.

We spoiled ourselves with an in room couples massage arranged through the attached spa. Our therapists, Donna and Yajaya were wonderful and customized the massages to our tastes. the ambience of the Cottage made this very special. That evening we hung out on the comfortable sofa and chair catching up on reading and enjoyed a fire. The next day we moved to one of the other rooms and it was smaller but comfortable. It faced the street but there was very little noise and neither Bella nor we were disturbed. It had a little porch where we drank coffee and read the paper.

The Inn is directly across the street from the Rainbow Market and we bought sandwiches and snacks there. All the food is organic and very tasty. The Inn is right in the middle of town so we took frequent walks with Bella through out town. The shops and several restaurants were very accommodating to people with dogs.

We ate out one evening at Azu restaurant about five minutes away. While they said they had outdoor eating to accommodate dogs, the heater was attached high up on the eave on the street side of the restaurant. Again, this was a scouting trip and next time I'll be more careful to check out eating outside. We went in early December and it was very chilly in the evenings so we shivered through a very good dinner.

Don't miss the Mediation Mount. It's about a ten minute drive from the Inn and the view of the sunset is spectacular! There was no sign restricting dogs so we took Bella with us. There are several quiet spots to view the sunset and to see the pink on the Topa Topa Mountains. We took a walk through the Ojai Valley Inn (which has dog friendly accommodations) but agreed we picked the better spot to stay at the Lavender Inn. While spacious, the Ojai Valley Inn didn't seem as charming and was further away from town which would have meant taking the car more.

For those of you traveling with dogs, there is a big park south of the Inn one block called Libby Park. Just cross the street in front of the Inn and go to the left and you will find a passage through the through the Arcade Shops taking you to Ojai Road. Libby Park is right across the street. As I was exploring the park I discovered a great bike and equestrian trail on the southern end of the park. It's called the "Ojai Valley Trail." Bella and I ended up running on that path two days in a row. I suggest going to the right as it goes for several miles. The dual trail offered a hard packed dirt trail for horses or runners and a paved trail for bicyclists. It is away from traffic. About three miles to the west it crosses Highway 33 (be very careful crossing as there is a lot of traffic on Highway 33.) Continue to the left paralleling Highway 33 and in less than a mile you will come to Hermosa Ave. On the right is the beautiful campus of the "School of Theosophy." We did the loop of the campus which has expansive lawns and rose gardens and nice views. A bit of a challenging hill but worth the effort. The other run we did was going to the east (left) from Libby Park but the Trail ends at the Golf Course. We ran for about a half mile on Ojai Avenue and took the turn on Boardman Road to Soule Park. This is a huge park with about another mile or so of traffic free running. Just be careful on Ojai Avenue.

Enjoy your trip to Ojai with or without dogs!

Room Tip: Go for the Cottage if it is within your budget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

This is my second time staying at the charming Lavender Inn in Ojai. All the rooms are lovely--artfully decorated with lots of natural light. The Inn is also incredibly well-located. It's directly next to the Sunday farmers market, a block from downtown Ojai Ave., a 5 minute drive or 15 minute walk to the scenic Shelf hiking trail, and half a mile from Hip, a delicious vegan eatery where we had lunch everyday.

In fact, the Inn is both vegan-friendly and dog-friendly, so my family was able to enjoy delicious, abundant, vegan breakfasts every morning, as well as bring our two dogs along to enjoy our vacation with us. The enormous backyard made it easy to take care of the dogs' needs too.

Beth, Erin, and Diana are amazing inn-keepers and made our stay truly memorable. I'll be back again soon, most likely to celebrate my wedding anniversary in a few months.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojai, California, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I put my parents here b/c they dont enjoy the hippy/communal living I appreciate in Ojai. The breakfast is awesome, but if you are on a diet, I suggest you skip it. Across the street is Rainbow Bridge, where you can buy a bag of groceries for $75. But it's high quality, and thats what ya pay for. LI is great and a great deal.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lavender Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lavender Inn

Address: 210 E. Matilija St., Ojai, CA 93023 (Formerly The Moon's Nest Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ojai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Ojai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blending comfort with elegance, the Lavender Inn is conveniently located across from shops, galleries, and restaurants. Originally built in 1874, this Bed & Breakfast offers a romantic getaway, garden wedding celebrations, intimate business workshops, family reunions, or a quiet retreat. The gardens are absolutely stunning with mature oaks, 7 fountains, a small pond, and colorful flowers. The interior is tastefully decorated with an array of art and antiques. Full, gourmet breakfast and wine and cheese are served daily on the veranda. Put on one of our lush robes and wander out the front steps for a facial or massage in our Lavender Inn Spa. Look for our cooking classes in our kitchen, Ojai Culinary School, with visiting chefs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lavender Hotel Ojai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lavender Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.