We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“People and Doggie Heaven!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lavender Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ojai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lavender Inn
Save Saved
You added Lavender Inn to your Saves list
210 E. Matilija St., Ojai, CA 93023 (Formerly The Moon's Nest Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 Ojai B&B and Inns
Manhattan Beach, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“People and Doggie Heaven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We went to Ojai on a "scouting" trip as we are new foster parents to Bella, a beautiful and well mannered Old English Sheepdog. We had never traveled with a dog before and went looking for a weekend get-a-way within a couple hours drive of Los Angeles. We found doggie and people heaven at the Lavender Inn! There are two accommodations for people with dogs- the Cottage and one of the regular rooms. We spoiled ourselves with the Cottage the first night and would have loved to stay there the second night but it was already booked. Very spacious and comfortable with access to a private yard which opens up to an even larger yard. Plenty of room for playing with the dog. The bathroom was very nice. There is also a well stocked DVD library. The staff loves animals and showered Bella with attention and treats. The other guests did not seem to mind her joining us for the terrific breakfasts. There is plenty to eat and all requests for more food or other types of food were cheerfully granted. My wife has a gluten allergy so they provided her gluten free options. The wine and cheese tasting were a nice touch with several tasty cheeses to choose from.

We spoiled ourselves with an in room couples massage arranged through the attached spa. Our therapists, Donna and Yajaya were wonderful and customized the massages to our tastes. the ambience of the Cottage made this very special. That evening we hung out on the comfortable sofa and chair catching up on reading and enjoyed a fire. The next day we moved to one of the other rooms and it was smaller but comfortable. It faced the street but there was very little noise and neither Bella nor we were disturbed. It had a little porch where we drank coffee and read the paper.

The Inn is directly across the street from the Rainbow Market and we bought sandwiches and snacks there. All the food is organic and very tasty. The Inn is right in the middle of town so we took frequent walks with Bella through out town. The shops and several restaurants were very accommodating to people with dogs.

We ate out one evening at Azu restaurant about five minutes away. While they said they had outdoor eating to accommodate dogs, the heater was attached high up on the eave on the street side of the restaurant. Again, this was a scouting trip and next time I'll be more careful to check out eating outside. We went in early December and it was very chilly in the evenings so we shivered through a very good dinner.

Don't miss the Mediation Mount. It's about a ten minute drive from the Inn and the view of the sunset is spectacular! There was no sign restricting dogs so we took Bella with us. There are several quiet spots to view the sunset and to see the pink on the Topa Topa Mountains. We took a walk through the Ojai Valley Inn (which has dog friendly accommodations) but agreed we picked the better spot to stay at the Lavender Inn. While spacious, the Ojai Valley Inn didn't seem as charming and was further away from town which would have meant taking the car more.

For those of you traveling with dogs, there is a big park south of the Inn one block called Libby Park. Just cross the street in front of the Inn and go to the left and you will find a passage through the through the Arcade Shops taking you to Ojai Road. Libby Park is right across the street. As I was exploring the park I discovered a great bike and equestrian trail on the southern end of the park. It's called the "Ojai Valley Trail." Bella and I ended up running on that path two days in a row. I suggest going to the right as it goes for several miles. The dual trail offered a hard packed dirt trail for horses or runners and a paved trail for bicyclists. It is away from traffic. About three miles to the west it crosses Highway 33 (be very careful crossing as there is a lot of traffic on Highway 33.) Continue to the left paralleling Highway 33 and in less than a mile you will come to Hermosa Ave. On the right is the beautiful campus of the "School of Theosophy." We did the loop of the campus which has expansive lawns and rose gardens and nice views. A bit of a challenging hill but worth the effort. The other run we did was going to the east (left) from Libby Park but the Trail ends at the Golf Course. We ran for about a half mile on Ojai Avenue and took the turn on Boardman Road to Soule Park. This is a huge park with about another mile or so of traffic free running. Just be careful on Ojai Avenue.

Enjoy your trip to Ojai with or without dogs!

Room Tip: Go for the Cottage if it is within your budget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    22
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
17
70
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

This is my second time staying at the charming Lavender Inn in Ojai. All the rooms are lovely--artfully decorated with lots of natural light. The Inn is also incredibly well-located. It's directly next to the Sunday farmers market, a block from downtown Ojai Ave., a 5 minute drive or 15 minute walk to the scenic Shelf hiking trail, and half a mile from Hip, a delicious vegan eatery where we had lunch everyday.

In fact, the Inn is both vegan-friendly and dog-friendly, so my family was able to enjoy delicious, abundant, vegan breakfasts every morning, as well as bring our two dogs along to enjoy our vacation with us. The enormous backyard made it easy to take care of the dogs' needs too.

Beth, Erin, and Diana are amazing inn-keepers and made our stay truly memorable. I'll be back again soon, most likely to celebrate my wedding anniversary in a few months.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojai, California, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I put my parents here b/c they dont enjoy the hippy/communal living I appreciate in Ojai. The breakfast is awesome, but if you are on a diet, I suggest you skip it. Across the street is Rainbow Bridge, where you can buy a bag of groceries for $75. But it's high quality, and thats what ya pay for. LI is great and a great deal.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, Ca
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

My September birthday getaway with my husband was at the Lavender Inn in Ojai. We arrived late and found the key to our room as described. Our room, the Craftsman #2, was spotless and comfy. I loved that the bathroom had a large window that could be opened for air and a view of the huge garden below. With temps in the upper 90s, the air conditioning was comfortable and quiet. Breakfast included chicken sausage, gourmet spicing in the egg dishes and lovely fresh berries-yum! Thanks to Vanessa who really helped us have a wonderful day in the Ojai Hills--a lovely stay!

Room Tip: A room away from the street might have less noise from a nearby bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I am not a B&B kinda guy. They are usually thin-walled,and designed as if all visitors were on their idea of a honeymoon.

However.
The Lavender Inn in Ojai, Ca was better than that.

It is an older house in the town of Ojai.
It is beautiful, with a killer garden with various spots to sit.
There is a small building next to the main house with spa services but I did not involve myself in that.
There restaurants around as well as nice artful stores, all easily in walking distance.
The room ( #6) was large with en suite bath and a wonderful small, 2nd story porch overlooking the garden. The bed was firm and the decor was, well, lavender.

They serve wine and cheese in the evening and as good a breakfast as I have had for sometime. This was not a French bread-in-many-forms breakfast. This was eggs over polenta with salsa,fresh fruit, bread and juice. I think there may have been more but this was all I could handle.
Then, upon leaving, I left a pair of shoes in the room.
The Inn called that day and boxed them up and sent them to me, for postage.
The shoes have arrived and I am grateful.
This is a good place with nice people.

Room Tip: I enjoyed room # 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

Love this place! Wonderful homely feel, right in the centre of town. Local wines and cheeses in the evening come part of he deal, enjoy them in a beautiful garden setting with the cat and rabbit. Rooms are well appointed and staff friendly. The ideal for a weekend get away.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Lavender Inn in August for one night and enjoyed it very much. The staff members were friendly and helpful and the breakfast was wonderful. There was a really nice wine and cheese "happy hour" and the wine was decent (a nice surprise). Lavender Inn is "dog friendly" and we could have brought our dog. They are allowed in two of the rooms and we slept in one of them. It was comfortable and with its own little balcony. When we awoke the next morning there was a dog waiting outside our room to greet us. One of the staff had brought their pet to work......

Room Tip: Pick a room not facing on the front street - it was a tiny bit noisy for a while but did quiet down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lavender Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lavender Inn

Address: 210 E. Matilija St., Ojai, CA 93023 (Formerly The Moon's Nest Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ojai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Ojai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blending comfort with elegance, the Lavender Inn is conveniently located across from shops, galleries, and restaurants. Originally built in 1874, this Bed & Breakfast offers a romantic getaway, garden wedding celebrations, intimate business workshops, family reunions, or a quiet retreat. The gardens are absolutely stunning with mature oaks, 7 fountains, a small pond, and colorful flowers. The interior is tastefully decorated with an array of art and antiques. Full, gourmet breakfast and wine and cheese are served daily on the veranda. Put on one of our lush robes and wander out the front steps for a facial or massage in our Lavender Inn Spa. Look for our cooking classes in our kitchen, Ojai Culinary School, with visiting chefs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lavender Hotel Ojai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lavender Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.