We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but serene” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ojai Rancho Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ojai Rancho Inn to your Saves list
Ojai Rancho Inn
615 W. Ojai Avenue, Ojai, CA 93023 (Formerly Rose Garden Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 9 Ojai B&B and Inns
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Small but serene”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The rooms are nice, and the back yard area is really pretty. There's a nice big tree with 2 chairs underneath that's the perfect setting for relaxation. There's a pool and sauna ( wood with rocks and water) but there's not much else on the property. Town proper is just a 4 minute walk away.

(we actually stayed there in 2011, but I couldn't pick that year.....)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterSocialClub, Owner at Ojai Rancho Inn, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Rancho and we hope to see you back soon for more property updates!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    41
    18
    15
    18
See reviews for
22
76
9
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Westminster,Ca
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Nice place! It is rustic and like a cabin inside. We had a reservation through Orbitz for a weekend stay and the Wife got sick that week. Our reservation required that we cancel by 1/08, otherwise there would be a charge for one night. I got on the phone with Chris, one of the owners on the evening of 1/10 and let him know what we were up against and he happily switched us to the following weekend. Good guy! Good prices, nice place. We will be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterSocialClub, Owner at Ojai Rancho Inn, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
We are happy to have you-come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles, california
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We were looking for a last minute getaway where we could bring our puppy in Ojai that wouldn't cost a fortune and this was great. It's one of those old school side-of-the-highway motels but the rooms and facilities have been thoughtfully renovated so the overall feel is really charming and nice.

There is a big (though unheated) pool and fire pit and grill area, which we loved. So we just grilled every night and watched the stars while the puppy ran around the enclosed yard. We had a jacuzzi room but there wasn't enough hot water to fill the tub so that was a downer. Also the C02 detector ran out of batteries in the middle of the night, also a drag.

But big plus on the music choice all around the property too!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterSocialClub, Owner at Ojai Rancho Inn, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
We will do our best to make sure all these issues are addressed and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

Exceptional grace yet comfort and style. Lovely people, hip and yet cozy is the best way to describe the inn. Not excessive. Thoughtful. Artful. Common sense has been used with an eye for detail. Try it, you'll like it! Helen Nahoopii and Rayton Takata

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterSocialClub, Owner at Ojai Rancho Inn, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you again for more future improvements soon to come !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceano, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
248 helpful votes 248 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We needed a get away not too far from home but quiet and peaceful. Ojai Rancho Inn fit the bill. We originally were going to bring the dog but decided at the last minute to leave her home. Once we got to Ojai Rancho Inn, the check in was very easy and the gal at reception couldn't have been nicer. Our room was right across from reception and we were able to park right in front of our room. The room was very cozy and had a lot of wood and stone work. We had a HUGE jacuzzi in the room and it was great for relaxing, just what we needed. There was a small kitchenette next to the jacuzzi and it had a coffee maker, fridge microwave and small counter top. The jacuzzi worked great and we enjoyed a bottle of wine while soaking. The bed was very comfy. We felt very safe and cozy in our room. The shower was a bit tiny and the bathroom was a little oddly shaped but it worked just fine for our needs. We did also enjoy the continental breakfast on our patio outside our room. We were able to walk downtown from the Inn and enjoy some cocktails and shopping and a meal. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Jacuzzi in room is a full size one, not just a jetted tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterSocialClub, Owner at Ojai Rancho Inn, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
We appreciate choosing to be with us and we hope to see you again soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contadora Island, Panama
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We spent 3 nights at the Ojai Rancho Inn. Each time we visit Ojai we stay at a different place and we will stay at this Inn again in the future. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the Inn. We took the room with the kitchen and loved it. The room next to us had a Jacuzzi bathtub and the guests in it preferred that to a kitchen - there are numerous choices in room types. The new management are diligently upgrading each room and have made sure that each room has everything you would need in it. They are also delightful and most helpful. We like small nice clean, attractive places with the personal touch and this was all of that. It is also very centrally and conveniently situated.

Room Tip: We took the room with the kitchen and loved it. The room next to us had a Jacuzzi bathtub and the g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Although the property is slightly removed from the center of downtown Ojai, there was measurable late night traffic on Ojai Avenue, which was discernible from room 10. We flipped on the ceiling fan to help mask the noise. The bathroom (as stated by others) is also in need of updating, which brings us to the good news! Upon check-out we learned that the property has new owners who will be upgrading and updating the rooms. They had begun in the reception area already - the installation of fabulous, locally crafted ceramic chandeliers. If the rooms continue the same decor, the new owners will end up with a very charming property. The staff was very helpful, the bed was extremely comfortable, and the jacuzzi tub (which I would normally eschew) proved to be an excellent feature for relaxation. Ask for a room away from the street and you will enjoy a very good value.

Room Tip: ask for a room to the back of the property
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ojai Rancho Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ojai Rancho Inn

Address: 615 W. Ojai Avenue, Ojai, CA 93023 (Formerly Rose Garden Inn)
Location: United States > California > Ojai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ojai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charming Ojai Rancho Inn-a Shelter Social Club property continues to reflect Ojai's relaxed and friendly personality. We offer service and amenities that ensure every visit is memorable. Our beautiful property, which is located within steps of the Ojai Valley Inn & Spa, boasts a tranquil garden that adjoins Ojai Rancho Inn to the popular Ojai Valley Trail. With our convenient location, free bikes, swimming pool, spacious grounds, and friendly staff we hope you will enjoy your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ojai Rancho Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ojai Rancho Hotel Ojai
Rose Garden Inn Ojai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ojai Rancho Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.