We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adorable country cabin!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ojai Rancho Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ojai Rancho Inn to your Saves list
Ojai Rancho Inn
615 W. Ojai Avenue, Ojai, CA 93023 (Formerly Rose Garden Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 9 Ojai B&B and Inns
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Adorable country cabin!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

We arrived in a Monday. So it was the perfect quiet get away we were in search for. I'm not sure why some of the reviews for this place were bad. I liked it a lot! I don't mind the stone floors or the lack of room decor. All the wood accents along with the stone floors made the place chamrming! We had an issue with the blinds in our first room. The owner quickly came by and tried to fix it but couldn't. He moved us to another room and i did notice a difference in the rooms. One had a bigger more triangular hot tub and a big wardrobe cabinet. The other tub was smaller and oval with no closet. But that's ok. A hot tub is a hot tub! I loved the wood bench along the tub which allowed plenty of room for our bucket of beer! And I also believe that's the reason for stone floors-it got a little wet. The glasses provided were cute little mason jars, fridge, and microwave in the room. Little patio with chairs and a table to enjoy the complimentary coffee/ tea invthe morning. The pool was great & was enclosed with lush privacy! There was also some nice mellow music playing while I sunbathed. I would definitely return!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterSocialClub, Owner at Ojai Rancho Inn, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you so much for being here with us and please come see us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    40
    18
    15
    18
See reviews for
21
74
9
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
venice, california
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

The set up is like a motel with a row of rooms facing another row outlining the parking lot. It's cute with a country vibe. The new owners have a gift of design that I know this place will get better and better. They do have some work to do as the bathrooms, floors, and decor are not new. It had a hotel feel to it as the new owners are putting a lot of care into this place, but at this point it was still a motel. We found the room quiet, didn't hear traffic, enjoyed the pool, and sat outside at our little table.
I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I'd avoid the room in the middle, near the pool. That is a stand alone so that's appealing b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avila, CA
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

At $190 a night, this place is way overpriced for what it is, but what angered me most is their false advertising. Although they claim to serve breakfast on their website, they don't. The new ownership is no excuse: they should either change the website immediately or give their guests a voucher.
The place appears to have been built in the seventies and has never been renovated. We stayed in the garden cottage because it is away from the road. It is rustic, but void of charm except for the garden. The bathroom not only needs to be redone, it needs to be cleaned. The small piece of carpeting leading to the bathroom is filthy. The bed is good, but the pillows bad. It is the first time I give a one star review to any hotel, but it deserves it because of the discrepancy between how much you pay and what you get for it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterSocialClub, Owner at Ojai Rancho Inn, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
We hope you will give us another chance in the future. We are doing our best to iron out the kinks. Please come see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

I really do not understand the negative comments! I looked for a quiet (and cheap) hotel around santa barbara and found through booking.com this little pearl (on booking.com much better ratings). Anyway, located in little ojai, a little town with nice cafes, restaurants and shops it is the perfect way to relax and do nothing! We took the room with the hot tub and we loved it! Very nice rooms in country style and a lot of love for small details! We stayed one day longer for relaxing! At the time I am writing this it was the best inn i stayed on our california trip!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterSocialClub, Owner at Ojai Rancho Inn, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thanks so much for the great review and please come see us on your next trip into Ojai !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

I was in my friends wedding this weekend and stayed here because the prices were the most reasonable and I did not have the funds to really go all out on a hotel. When I looked online the hotel was the least expensive and it was literally around the corner of the venue. I couldn't go wrong. $179 a night to $196 after tax, great compared to $295+. After I booked the room I looked online at the reviews and saw they weren't too bad. The next day I looked at them again to make sure and I read all the bad reviews. I can honestly say I was regretting spending almost $200 and not going and spending another $100. Some of the reviews had me worried.GLAD I DIDN'T spend the extra. Being a bridesmaid was already costing me close to $700! My husband and two young boys, 4 and 1 drove the 3 hour drive to Ojai. I was to be at the brides hotel at 9am for hair which left the boys by themselves to check out Ojai. After a hour they were getting antsy so I called Ojai Rancho Inn and asked what time they could check in. The young girl said they could right now(10:30am) which was a lifesaver because checking in at 3pm would have left my husband in a horrible mood. The room was the king bed with jacuzzi(jacuzzi tub!). The room was small, no decor on walls, floor was like rock/tile but not too bad. Small bathroom that I'd prefer to wear flip flops in because the tile grout looked worn and needed a good bleaching. The bed was comfortable. I slept like a baby along with my husband and boys. The blinds leading out the main window were gone so they only had a curtain that wasn't big enough to cover the entire window so I took a sheet and just placed it over the curtains and had privacy. I am not a woman that cares too much about those things and can find a way to deal rather than complain. But if you are the type that does care it may not be your ideal spot. I would recommend this place to a friend especially one looking for a good deal and the fact they let us check in so early! We were in room 7 which was right on the road but it's such a small town you don't hear the traffic.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Very rustic. Maybe supposed to be charming unless you don't like walking on cold stone floors with no rug in the room. Not even in the bathroom, so you had to drip on t he floor from your shower. But that didn't seem so strange since there was already a leaky stream of water coming from the refrigerator in the main room. No hand soap in the meager little bathroom. there was a dispenser of liquids in the shower, but was unable to discern the difference in which was shampoo and which was body wash or hand soap or hair rinse. Too bad I lost hot water in the middle of my shower and had to finish quickly in freezing cold water.
Sad to say the air conditioning was difficult to reach. It's situated above the bed, above the headboard. About 6 feet off the floor. I had to call someone to climb up and stand on the bed to start it up. Had to climb up myself later on to adjust the temp. Would you like to sleep with an AC hanging over your head????

This was not a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterSocialClub, Owner at Ojai Rancho Inn, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
We hope you will give us another shot later down the road to see the changes soon to come !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladera Ranch, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

My wife and I planned a mid-week get-away and we just happened on the Ojai Rancho Inn. Our three night stay was AWESOME. Comfy bed, simple decor, morning coffee and a great location. So much fun to walk downtown and enjoy the many sights of Ojai. The staff and the NEW OWNER were friendly and extremely helpful. I'm confident this place will only get better!

Room Tip: We didn't have one of the rooms with a jacuzzi tub...next time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterSocialClub, Owner at Ojai Rancho Inn, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you and please come see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ojai Rancho Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ojai Rancho Inn

Address: 615 W. Ojai Avenue, Ojai, CA 93023 (Formerly Rose Garden Inn)
Location: United States > California > Ojai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ojai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charming Ojai Rancho Inn-a Shelter Social Club property continues to reflect Ojai's relaxed and friendly personality. We offer service and amenities that ensure every visit is memorable. Our beautiful property, which is located within steps of the Ojai Valley Inn & Spa, boasts a tranquil garden that adjoins Ojai Rancho Inn to the popular Ojai Valley Trail. With our convenient location, free bikes, swimming pool, spacious grounds, and friendly staff we hope you will enjoy your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ojai Rancho Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ojai Rancho Hotel Ojai
Rose Garden Inn Ojai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ojai Rancho Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.