We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golf Course at Ojai Valley Inn and Spa

Golf Course at Ojai Valley Inn and Spa
905 Country Club Road, Ojai, CA 93023
805-646-5511
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Golfing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Rated by Conde' Nast Traveler's readers as the #1 golf resort in California, this 18-hole resort course measures 6,235 yards with a U.S.G.A./slope rating of 70.20/122.
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Great course, great views only sorry they were putting in a new watering system and doing maintenance when I was there. A good golfing challenge to be played off the back tees

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    9
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe Springs, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“real test of golf on a beautiful golf course”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Had a chance to play ojai golf course. The course itself is a real challenge as there are many canyons, creek beds, well trapped and thousands of trees :-). It is kept in real good condition with the greens being in great shape and fast. Even though it is a challenge, the best part is the beauty of the course. Many separate fairways with beautiful views of the canyon. I really enjoyed just being out doors, seeing the beauty and enjoying a day of golf.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Kumbaya for the Kuyam experience at Ojai Valley Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Kumbaya is translated as "come by here." The Spa day at the Ojai Valley Inn was definitely one of the most unique and spiritual experiences that I have had at a spa, definitely- come by here. The Spa at the Ojai Valley Inn boasts that the Kuyam treatment is one-of-a-kind in the United States, Kuyam (Koo-Yahm). Kuyam is a Chumash Native American Indian word which means “a place to rest together.” And that is definitely what we did. A group of 8 gals gathered for our bookclub annual retreat, celebrating our 15 year anniversary!

Surrounded by the Topa Topa Mountains, the 31,000 square-foot day spa is the focal point of this serene resort village which includes two pools, a fully-equipped workout room, Mind and Body Studio, Spa Boutique and Artist Cottage and Apothecary. After we pampered ourselves with the complimentary products, sipped a fresh-pressed juice drink, we showered and robed. We proceeded to an entire room walled with rich colors and Moroccan-styled tile chaise seats. Beautiful abalone bowls containing three types of therapeutic cleansed mud of different earthy colors. The desert clays were infused with essential oils, that we self-applied as the dry heat hissed into the room. Our hostess had a soothing voice and the Indian soundtrack led us into inhalation therapy, accompanied by a traditional Chumash narrative. Our hostess came around spraying scented cool water, if we were needing relief from the heat. Afterwards we sprayed off the mud in the showers just outside of the room and settled in our robes at a private area just outside. As we lounged we nibbled on small plates of fruit and flavored waters and marveled about the extraordinary experience.

Communal sessions - $85.00 per person

We paid an extra $20 for use of the pool, facilities and spa, which was well worth it.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cave Creek, AZ
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Challenging yes but don't miss it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Beautiful scene, challenging course. Carts do have GPS yardage displays. Great driving range and pro shop. Helpful staff. Great experience.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“OJAI California - paradise for golf and spa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

I have been in Ojai for 4 days while attending a conference. I have to confess that I am no golfer and I did not use the spa. But I was dreaming of being a golfer because the grounds are just unbelievable beautiful in a very natural way with real delicate and fragrant blossoms and happy birds flying all around. The mornings were beautiful, the evenings were astounding, the food was totally not for a weight loss diet, so tasty, hard to resist, especially that it was cooked in a healthy way. The spa was a definite attraction, but i did not have the time. A pleasure to be there even it is just to relax and walk and read books.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golf Course at Ojai Valley Inn and Spa also viewed

 

Been to Golf Course at Ojai Valley Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golf Course at Ojai Valley Inn and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.