We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for coffee” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ojai Coffee Roasting Co.

Ojai Coffee Roasting Co.
337 E Ojai Ave, Ojai, CA 93023-2738
805-646-4478
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 82 Restaurants in Ojai
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Description: Most popular coffee house in town. Great lunches. Cool atmosphere. Nice staff.
Restaurant details
Description: Most popular coffee house in town. Great lunches. Cool atmosphere. Nice staff.
El Paso, Texas
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Good place for coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

This is a Starbuck-like place to grab a cup of coffee and a bit to eat. We were there on a Saturday morning after working out at the gym. There were two ladies who "parked" their horses at the lamp post and were sitting outside sipping their lattes with their feet propped up. It was a great scene. Obviously, a favorite place for the locals.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    14
    9
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Temecula, California
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Good Cup of Coffee”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

The drinks were very good, and the cafe itself was pretty cool. Lots of coffee choices. But our "barista" was grumpy and rude, which made the experience just average.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojai, California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great place to hang out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

Great place to hang out. Always fresh coffee and ......

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Become part of Ojai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

Seems like pretty much everyone in town wanders in here. It's a great place to fuel up on freshly roasted coffee, and meet the locals.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good Coffee, Average Decor, Annoyingly Loud Refrigerator”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

We stopped in for a late afternoon pick-me-up cup of coffee. There were very few other customers in the place when we arrived, so service was prompt. Not particularly friendly, but prompt.

We sat down at one of tables, hoping to chat and enjoy our coffee. But, our conversation was drowned out by a very loud humming sound apparently coming from one (or more) of the refrigerated display cases (?). The unpleasant sound filled the entire room. We waited a while, trying to ignore it, hoping it would shut off. It didn't. The sound was so loud and annoying, we were forced to get up and leave.

Coffee houses are so popular now not just for the coffee, but because they (usually) provide a pleasant place for people to gather and hang out. I know certain coffee houses where it's nearly impossible to find an empty table almost any time of day. My guess is that the loud and unpleasant noise prevalent at Ojai Coffee Roasting Co. explains why the place was virtually empty. The only person who was still sitting at a table when we left was a college-age girl wearing headphones plugged into her laptop.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ojai Coffee Roasting Co. also viewed

 

Been to Ojai Coffee Roasting Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ojai Coffee Roasting Co., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.