We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Knead

Knead
469 E Ojai Ave, Ojai, CA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 80 restaurants in Ojai
Cuisines: Bakery
Restaurant details
Bako
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Back again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We ran across this great bakery last year and had it on our list of "must go to's" when we returned for our annual vacay. They have some of the tastiest, freshest pastries and breads ever ! !

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    27
    14
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Meh....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

All the rave reviews got my hopes up big time. I was expecting a big bakery Porto's style but this was a hidden hole in the wall. I had lunch there (house sandwich) which was good, did not care for their mint iced tea and had a strawberry cupcake which was dry. All in all, nothing very special.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Olivos, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Seek it out.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

Really sweet, little local bakery. But I am always frustrated that they don't open until 8a.m.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A Must in Ojai.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

This little bakery cafe is my favorite spot in Ojai. It is family owned and operated, artisanal bakery with the most delicious baked goods and lite foods in town. The quiche is divine and the flatbreads are the best ever. It's a little place (with warm ambience) , but they also have outdoor seating.. A perfect place to stop after a morning bike ride or walk.The DELICIOUS food is baked and prepared by people who clearly take pride and joy in their work. The atmosphere, the friendliness, and the quality of the food all reflect this. I HIGHLY recommend a trip to Knead. It's a must on your next visit to Ojai.






















Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best croissants!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Stopped in quick to check out bakery items. Very pricey and not much room if you want to sit and relax for lunch, but those were the best croissants I've ever had. Got an almond croissant and a Nutella croissant!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Knead also viewed

 

Been to Knead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Knead, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.