We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, serene stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pepper Tree Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ojai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pepper Tree Retreat
1130 McAndrew Road, Ojai, CA 93023   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Ojai B&B and Inns
Sebastopol
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Lovely, serene stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Have stayed a total of three nights on two separate occasions. Very peaceful, beautiful walks in the surrounding area. Great breakfast, wonderful other guests. Great place for lovers, very romantic... Definitely four star!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    113
    23
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
51
34
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

My adult son and I spent a weekend at Pepper Tree and loved being there. The staff is very polite and very helpful. The breakfasts were delightful. I have already recommended Pepper Tree to friends here in Michigan. We plan to return, perhaps in the spring.

Room Tip: If you like windows, pick the rooms we had on the first floor-- the Annie Besant suite. Very cool. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Spent a week here to "land" and wind down after flying in to LA from Europe. Thoroughly enjoyed the peaceful atmosphere, lovely garden areas, intense fragrance of nature (especially Eucalyptus was like a very natural sensory spa treatment). With a wide selection of Krishnamurti DVDs and books available for guests I felt no need to go "downtown" the first days, except to find a meal. Pepper Tree serves only breakfast - yet it is yummy and sustains one well into the day. Plenty of fresh fruit, cereals, joghurt, a great selection of breads and different kinds of milk for those who don't use regular milk. Last but not least - the team around Norma and Michael are exceptionally friendly and helpful in every way. Thank you for helping to make this a wonderful retreat time for body and soul. I would highly recommend it to friends and would certainly love to come back myself one day! Gisela

Room Tip: Bohm room upstairs (twin beds) is like being in a tree house :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

If you are a nature lover and looking for tranquility, peace of mind and you want to unwind and recharge spiritually, "This is the Place". Its isolation from the commercial area makes it unique and special. Unless you are already familiar with J.Krishnamurti's (Spiritual Master) philosophy, you will most likely find great materials in the library for "Head and Heart".

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

No TV, gorgeous property, peaceful, clean rooms. Affordable!! You have to drive to town, but you get the wonderful scents of orange blossoms and eucalyptus!! A very good breakfast selection. Nice common room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Pepper Tree is an excellent place to go to slow down the pace of life and to "get away from it all". The location is wonderful - a bit outside of the town of Ojai but easily accessible. The grounds are lovely and there are no TVs in the rooms. Mine had a huge bathtub and a sunroom which had glorious view out of all of the windows. I went to a local gym on a day pass so I did get in some fitness, too. The staff is friendly and helpful and unbotrusive. I felt refreshed after my two night stay! I would highly recommend Pepper Tree if you are loooking for peace and quiet. Less than two hours from my home in Rancho Palos Verdes.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hills- Los Angeles, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

A lovely, relaxing place. One is surrounded by towering trees and charming garden areas. In the stillness can gather one's thoughts. A most beautiful library.You can wander the grounds and sit to contemplate in many different areas. One can feel at peace.

Room Tip: The Lennon room -- feel like you are in the trees.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pepper Tree Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pepper Tree Retreat

Address: 1130 McAndrew Road, Ojai, CA 93023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ojai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Ojai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Pepper Tree Retreat Hotel Ojai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pepper Tree Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Pepper Tree Retreat to your Saves list