We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Tranquility"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pepper Tree Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ojai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pepper Tree Retreat
Save Saved
You added Pepper Tree Retreat to your Saves list
1130 McAndrew Road, Ojai, CA 93023   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Ojai B&B and Inns
Anaheim, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“"Tranquility"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

If you are a nature lover and looking for tranquility, peace of mind and you want to unwind and recharge spiritually, "This is the Place". Its isolation from the commercial area makes it unique and special. Unless you are already familiar with J.Krishnamurti's (Spiritual Master) philosophy, you will most likely find great materials in the library for "Head and Heart".

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    116
    25
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
52
34
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

No TV, gorgeous property, peaceful, clean rooms. Affordable!! You have to drive to town, but you get the wonderful scents of orange blossoms and eucalyptus!! A very good breakfast selection. Nice common room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Pepper Tree is an excellent place to go to slow down the pace of life and to "get away from it all". The location is wonderful - a bit outside of the town of Ojai but easily accessible. The grounds are lovely and there are no TVs in the rooms. Mine had a huge bathtub and a sunroom which had glorious view out of all of the windows. I went to a local gym on a day pass so I did get in some fitness, too. The staff is friendly and helpful and unbotrusive. I felt refreshed after my two night stay! I would highly recommend Pepper Tree if you are loooking for peace and quiet. Less than two hours from my home in Rancho Palos Verdes.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hills- Los Angeles, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

A lovely, relaxing place. One is surrounded by towering trees and charming garden areas. In the stillness can gather one's thoughts. A most beautiful library.You can wander the grounds and sit to contemplate in many different areas. One can feel at peace.

Room Tip: The Lennon room -- feel like you are in the trees.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I agree with many of the reviews written here. It's a very peaceful, relaxing. The fact it was remote was a real plus for us. The staff was great - warm, welcoming, and informative. When you stay here, you're staying in a home, so it's not going to have many of the amenities you would have in a hotel or more conventional B&B. So if you go in with the right expectations, you'll be satisfied. We stay in the main house right off the lobby. It was a bit noisy during the day with folks coming and going – but not too bad. It was very quiet at night. In fact, it was fully occupied and we didn't see many people. I like having the living room and wonderful patio steps away. The bed was super comfortable, but pillows were a bit hard. Glad we brought our own (we usually do.) Breakfast was good – simple and healthy. Coffee and tea were available all the time. You don’t miss having TV, but thankfully they have internet. We loved walking in the groves, picking oranges and enjoying fruit the way it should taste. I’m giving it 4 dots/stars because of the location, staff and feeling. I’m not comparing it to the more plush digs you’ll find.

Room Tip: Avoid the room off the entrance if you want quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Wonderful, welcoming people and beautiful, peaceful lodging...how could we want for more? It was relaxing perfection, and very conducive to creativity, which was exactly what I needed. I recommend this place to anyone wanting to absorb the spirit and tranquility of Ojai and nature. This retreat is worked into its surroundings instead of taking over. Enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willemstad, Curacao
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

This has been two days of pure stress relief for me and my family. We have had such a wonderful and peaceful time away from the rigors of day to day life...Ojai town is also uniquely rich in culture and has a tremendous selection of culinary treats...my choice for a return trip as and when I can do so...thanks to the retreat team...Anat/Norma/ Micheal and others.

Room Tip: Low season time may be better...rooms with kitchen are really good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pepper Tree Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pepper Tree Retreat

Address: 1130 McAndrew Road, Ojai, CA 93023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ojai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Ojai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Pepper Tree Retreat Hotel Ojai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pepper Tree Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.