We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pepper Tree Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ojai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pepper Tree Retreat
Save
You added Pepper Tree Retreat to your Saves list
1130 McAndrew Road, Ojai, CA 93023   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Ojai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A wonderful time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We had a wonderful stay in the Peppertree Retreat. Coming to the pine cottage from SF was a real treat and the hosts did their utmost to make us feel at home. We enjoyed the tranquility of the place and our spacious room with kitchenette! Ojai valley offers a lot of leisure time opportunities!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    27
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
18
60
43
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Paso Robles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

My wife and I traveled to Ojai to meet up with her family - a mini reunion. Pepper Tree was the perfect location. Lovely grounds with several gathering places (both indoor and out) where we could sit and chat. It was as if we were at a friend's country home, quite, low key, relaxing. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. We will return soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

My mother and I were looking for a weekend in Ojai. We found Pepper Tree Retreat on Trip Advisor. What we loved: The Peace and Quiet. The rooms. The Property. The Krishnamurti aura is nothing but peaceful and embracing. We knew nothing about Krishnamurti, but felt welcomed anyway! The experience is like staying at someone's farm house. The rooms are bright, lots of windows, birds chirping outside and a sense of calm everywhere. Downtown Ojai is a 10 minute drive, and the distance is nothing. I look forward to returning with my husband. I recommend it highly for those who want to chill, read, hike, and fall into a aura of beauty and peace....

Room Tip: Chaplin room perfect for two people/two beds in adjoining rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

The Peppertree Retreat is so welcoming that it feels like home, in fact, I wish I lived there on a long-term basis!
If you want to sleep in though, do not stay in the Aldous Huxley room.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor or in the separate building are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Forget the beach. If you want to completely unwind and relax, come here. It has a very calming effect on you. I highly recommend it to anyone who wants to relax.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

This is a historic, beautiful, restful, positively energetic place to stay. It is not a fancy hotel with a pool or people waiting on you, but if you desire some peace a quiet, you can do no better. Always my first choice in Ojai. Way better than the fancy spa place everyone raves about.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

A Quiet Place for the Body and Spirit

This is not the Ritz Hotel but if you want to leave your other concerns at home and you are looking for a quiet place to rejuvenate and restore your body and spirit, this is it! My husband Rob and I chose PepperTree Retreat during the recent Memorial Day Weekend to feel the natural beauty of nature, to awaken to the singing of the birds and hear the humming of the bees, and seek the meditative and reflective solitude that we seldom find anywhere nowadays! The location is away from the endless blabbering of people, away from the sound of motors running, and in quiet solitude, you hear yourself and your inner being that has been wanting and waiting to talk to you. There are many rooms to choose from and after this first visit, we know exactly what accommodations we will get the second time around. What we really like most is the architectural beauty, peace and quiet atmosphere of the Krisnamurti Library and the Meditation Room. Located in the old cottage where the philosopher himself had lived during his lifetime, the old quarters were joined to a new wing and the renovation was just perfect. J. Krishnamurti died in 2006 but his spirit lives on! And, if I may add, our stay in Ojai was further enriched when we discovered the gourmet garden dining at The Ranch House. Likewise, the in-house massage from Anat was just wonderful. My first visit to Ojai Valley was in the eighties and this is my 4th visit (the first for Rob), and Ojai has not lost its charm and the natural beauty of the mountains and the hills, the orange groves and the 'pink' moments at sunset are all to be treasured. We hope to revisit in the Spring of 2013 and smell the lovely orange blossoms, jasmines and the flowers that abound!

Room Tip: Book way in advance and visit their website in order to choose a good spacious room. We would have l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pepper Tree Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pepper Tree Retreat

Address: 1130 McAndrew Road, Ojai, CA 93023
Location: United States > California > Ojai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ojai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Pepper Tree Retreat Hotel Ojai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pepper Tree Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.