We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh and tasty food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Farmer & Cook

Farmer & Cook
339 West El Roblar Drive, Ojai, CA
805-640-9608
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 83 Restaurants in Ojai
Cuisines: Organic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: A cafe-market-bakery-salad bar serving Mexican food using organic chiles, tomatoes and tomatillos grown at the farm. The tortillas are handmade and the sangria is topped with local Ojai citrus. Quite a few vegan, raw and gluten-free offerings; everything else is vegetarian. Lovely outdoor patio with a striped green awning and a view of the mountains.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Fresh and tasty food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I love this place, this is my second visit and we enjoyed a great breakfast here and got some food to go, everything was fresh and healthy too; this is a must everytime we visit Ojai.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    17
    11
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ojai
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not pleasant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

This place is dirty, scruffy, and not inviting. Maybe take out is OK, but I wouldn't go back.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojai, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Flashback to the charms of the 70s!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

This place is one of my Ojai favorites! Fresh local produce raised but the Farmer; great, natural baked goods, Mexican food, and soups by the Cook, plus some natural food stood staples. All in a charming setting!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fresh & Organic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We loved the soups + there were great options for a more harty appetite - great service - staff very helpful

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Tasty vegan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Surprisingly tasty and affordable place to eat. The flavours were enhanced not hidden allowing the ingredients to come through in all their organic (mostly) glory.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Farmer & Cook also viewed

 

Been to Farmer & Cook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Farmer & Cook, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.