We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful / great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oceanside Marina Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Oceanside Marina Suites to your Saves list
Oceanside Marina Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2008 Harbor Drive North, Oceanside, CA 92054   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Oceanside
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful / great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

This was our second visit. We came here to visit with our grandson who is in the Marines at Camp Pendleton. Our first stay was on the harber side. The rooms on that side were quite outdated and a bit tired BUT clean. That didn't keep us from coming back. Our next visit was on the ocean side in the newly renovated rooms. We could not have been happier. The renovation is great. The rooms are beautiful and very modern and clean. The views, balconies and grounds are wonderful The staff is helpful and extremely friendly. The breakfast could have a bit more to choose from. We will definately be returning. Great job everyone!

Room Tip: Choose one of the rooms on the ocean or ocean/harbor side that have been renovated you will love it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelsManagementTeam, General Manager at Oceanside Marina Suites, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at the Oceanside Marina Suites. We value your feedback and are grateful for the honest assessment of your stay. It gives us an opportunity to continue to work towards what we hope to provide to all of our guests: an enjoyable stay in an amazing location with a great value.

Sincerely,
Deena Culver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    83
    36
    31
    39
See reviews for
115
91
12
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Bernardino, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Be careful of the room you are given. We booked a one bedroom suite for the weekend. We arrived at the hotel after sunset and we're given room 111 in the wing near the office with a marina view. First, the pro's for this room, it did have a nice marina view, large space (about 800 sq. ft.), a nice full kitchen with a new dishwasher, and a very comfortable bed. For the con's, the room was a handicap room (which we did not request), the carpet was frayed in several spots with severe staining. The shower was about half the size of the bathroom with a roll in shower. The shower head was on a slide that adjusted from one foot to three feet off the ground. In order to use it you had to hold it in your hand since the adjustment would only go from your feet to your waist. The room only had one TV in the suite. It was a 20" located in the living room. To use the TV you plugged it into the wall to turn it on, and unplug it to turn it off. No remote was in the room. The room had a fireplace but the pilot was not lit so it did not work. The living room had a sofa sleeper that was very worn and uncomfortable to sit on. I pulled it out to look for the remote and found all the springs that hook the bed to the footboard of the couch broken or just hanging off. We called the front desk to ask about the remote and were told they would get right on it. About 25 minutes later we received a call back asking what we needed, the forgot to right down what we called about! About five minutes later she showed up with an extra pillow and blanket that we also asked for (since the bed came with only two small pillows and no bedspread) but no remote. She looked around the room for the remote and could not find it and also checked out the fireplace. She asked how late we would be up so that she could put in a request with maintanence for the remote but we told her to forget it tonight we were tired and ready for bed. Some other problems with the room that we found...the hair dryer only had a low heat that worked, burned out light in the ceiling fan, heater looked like it was falling off the wall. In the morning we did get a remote delivered but at this point we were ready to address the rest of the problems with the suite and my wife headed to the front desk. We were offered the two bedroom suite nextdoor for a $50 fee or a room on the next level for the same price. We took the suite upstairs, packed our room and headed up the stairs (no elevator). This room #216 was much better. It had two TV's with remotes, the fireplace worked, it had a dressor which the other room did not and a bedspread. This room also had a few problems but they were minor compared to the first room. The telephone cord was broken, so the only phone in the room did not work, the heavy sliding glass door to the balcony did not close properly, you had to lift the door off the track to line up the latch on the floor to securely lock it. Other hotel issue was the lighting in the carports, it was dark by 6pm but the lights were not on until 8pm.
The overall outside of the buildings looked very good and the views from the other side of the building was great. If you stay here stay away from the marina side, the rooms on the other side had the views and also had remodeled rooms!
The staff that we met were new and needed more training.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room that has recently been remodeled when you book your room and only get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelsManagementTeam, General Manager at Oceanside Marina Suites, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

We sincerely apologize for any issues that did not make your stay as comfortable as it should have been. We value all feedback from our guests as it gives us the opportunity to immediately rectify anything that needs attention. We were able to respond right away and everything has been corrected. We hope that you will come stay with us again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Deena Culver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Hollywood, CA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I love this place. We've been coming here for over 10 years. Rooms are nice and have a kitchen. Great for family and friends. The only thing stopping me from giving the 5 stars is the breakfast. They can do a lot better.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelsManagementTeam, General Manager at Oceanside Marina Suites, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay at the Oceanside Marina Suites.
We appreciate our guest feedback and will take recommendations in to consideration. We hope to have you back again soon.

Sincerely,
Deena Culver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We took our family here and loved it. It was quite and a very nice change. We loved the views, and the balconies. The rooms have been remodeled and they are beautiful. We will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
radelowgittins, General Manager at Oceanside Marina Suites, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your five-star review and we are glad that you chose to stay with us. Our rooms are all unique, in design and aesthetic and we are constantly renovating and upgrading different aspects of the guest rooms as well as the hotel in general.

Thanks again for sharing your experience.

Sincerely,
Deena Culver
General Manager
Oceanside Marina Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for a Family Reunion the end of Sept. On one side you face the ocean and on the other you can see all the gorgeous boats. We were blessed with great weather . We had the oceanside to enjoy from our balcony. Beautiful grounds with bar-b-ques, pool and hot tub. I understand a reunion may be held here next year so I hope we can attend. I would definitely recommend for a wonderful get-a-way.
The only downer was there didn't appear to be an elevator and we were on the 2nd or 3rd floor depending on how many steps you were using. At least it was good exercise.

Room Tip: We love the ocean and were on that side just above the office so our room was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
radelowgittins, General Manager at Oceanside Marina Suites, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your positive review of our hotel. We enjoy hosting many family reunions, holiday get-togethers and family vacations for our guests and are glad that your family was able to enjoy the many amenities the hotel has to offer.

The lack of an elevator from the first to the second floor can sometimes be an inconvenience for our guests but we are glad you had such a great attitude about it. Your feedback is much appreciated, as well as your tips for potential future guests.

Kind regards,

Deena Culver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Stayed here w/ my family and my sisters family during 4th of July and I have to say we had a really great time. The staff was AMAZING! The rooms were very clean and neat. We had a prob w/ the ceiling fans one night and West came and fixed it right away. Im just very impressed with this place. And will stay here again on our next visit to the States

Room Tip: if you after a modern room ask for there newer rooms..very clean and neat. it was very impressive!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
radelowgittins, General Manager at Oceanside Marina Suites, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the five-star review and we are so proud to have provided you with an enjoyable stay at the hotel. The staff works very hard so our guests have a memorable stay and it is a joy for them when our guests post heartfelt and constructive reviews.
We all look forward to your return visit.

Sincerely,
Deena Culver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
near London , UK
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We were looking for a spot to stay and chanced upon this. Yes it's a little tired and rough around the edges but the staff are warm and friendly and the views are awesome. The rooms are large and beds very comfy....we loved our brief stay!

Room Tip: Ocean view or marina view both lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oceanside Marina Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanside Marina Suites

Address: 2008 Harbor Drive North, Oceanside, CA 92054
Location: United States > California > Oceanside
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Oceanside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Oceanside Marina Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oceanside Marina Suites is located on a private peninsula in the Oceanside Harbor. Surrounded by water on three sides our resort offers a host of amenities in a serene natural environment. Relax by the pool or your own private patio; stroll along the adjacent marina or shop and eat at the Marina Village. Our Boutique styled hotel is newly remodeled.We have large one & two bedroom suites with fireplaces and fully equipped kitchens, as well as regular standard rooms. Some suites offer an in-room spa for your private enjoyment. Our heated pool, spa ,sauna and Cabana Room are conveniently located on our spacious grounds. Relax in the gazebo and watch the boats navigate in and out of the harbor. Or, if you prefer, grill a steak at our pool side barbecue. Each morning savor our complimentary continental breakfast served by the pool.Located just 10 minutes from Legoland, you'll be away from the crowded San Diego Harbor and beaches. So, for an unbelievable waterfront vacation, come to the Oceanside Marina Suites. You'll be amazed at what a night or two will do for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Oceanside Marina Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanside Marina Hotel Oceanside

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oceanside Marina Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.