We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oceanside Marina Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Oceanside Marina Suites to your Saves list
Oceanside Marina Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2008 Harbor Drive North, Oceanside, CA 92054   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Oceanside
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Love the location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We go back to Oceanside Marina every year for a few days. We always try to get a 2-bedroom unit so we can have the ocean view!! Got our corner unit again this year. Love waking up to the morning fog,sea lions and pelicans right outside our balcony. The property is an older one but in pretty good condition. The outside BBQs could use some upgrading, along with some of the walkways and rocking chairs next to the water, but it is a serene setting and we'll continue to go back year after yea. We love the 2 mile walk around the harbor every morning, the fishing boats and all the great restaurants within walking distance. We already have our vacation booked for next year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
radelowgittins, General Manager at Oceanside Marina Suites, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review. We were pleased we were able to accommodate you in your favorite room with the ocean on your doorstep. We appreciate the constructive feedback and are constantly upgrading features of the resort to provide that serene setting that welcomes guests year after year. We are happy to see you have already re-booked for next year and look forward to seeing you then.

Sincerely,
Adam M. Della Rocca
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    83
    36
    31
    39
See reviews for
115
91
12
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Palm Desert, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We were looking for a coastal hotel with great views. This hotel delivers, yes it is a little older, but clean and nicely deocorated. Rooms have one of two views, Ocean or Harbor. We had the harbor, which at first I was disappointed, but then I changed my mind, the harbor view is peaceful and had lots of activities to watch. People kayaking, paddleboarding, sailing. The ocean view rooms were fabulous, but the pool activity took away from the views, (coming from a couple who wanted an R & R weekend), we were happy with the quiet Harbor view. There was seating around the property, so you could get out at sunset and find a nice place to enjoy the sunset, which was beautiful.
The pool area has a complementary breakfast area, a grilling area, padded chaise lounges, things we did not take advantage of on our short stay, but we loved the idea.
Close to restaurants, a nice stroll along the harbor will get you to two restaurants, by car you are 4 minutes from the major nightlife restaurants on the same street. (No bar service at hotel, not a problem when there is a restaurant/bar within walking distance with great views of harbor also.)
I give this hotel a thumbs up for a 3 Star Hotel (when people complain it sounds like they expect 5 stars for the price of 3, get real) and we will book this again.

Room Tip: East facing Harbor View Rooms are peaceful and cool in afternoon West facing Ocean View Rooms are w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
radelowgittins, General Manager at Oceanside Marina Suites, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thanks for sharing your thoughts and your pictures. Your review will help other travelers get a more comprehensive picture of the guest experience when planning their future trips. We certainly you will return soon.

Thanks again,
Adam M. Della Rocca
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newington, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Entered the 1970s decor lobby and was hit by the odor of cigars-- unsure of origin. Desk staff was kind and accommodating. The room ... ehhhhh not so great. Old, somewhat clean old furnishings, weird odor in room w dirty rugs was our first observation. In desperate need of updating. We has reserved a 1 bedroom suite that we thought has 2 double beds but it had a king. My adult daughter and i actually ended up switching rooms with my friend who had a double room and was travelling solo...and her room wasn't much better. It's ok for an overnight but I am glad that's all it was. I have attached some photos of rusty shower rod, dirty exhaust fan thatwas noisy , mismatched bedding and poorly placed uadjustable big screen tv. Lighting in bath was horrible for taking a shower and switch on wall was smashed. Pool looked ok --- grounds nicely kept -- scenic area --- but totally disappointed with interior of hotel....and when u drive up it looks rundown. Also in room coffee was horrible !! Nice staff on checkout ...was even handed Travelocity review card! :-/

Room Tip: No fitness center no restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
radelowgittins, General Manager at Oceanside Marina Suites, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Guest:

It is always disappointing to read a review from guests that are not satisfied with their stay. Fortunately, you did bring to my attention some items that are easily reconcilable. The Engineering Department has corrected many of the issues that you did point out in your room. We have instituted a corrective maintenance program that is addressing similar areas of concern throughout the hotel and have had fantastic results with repeat guests even commenting on the differences. Once again, thank you for bringing to my attention these items, so we can make sure our guests continue to have positive experiences.

Kind regards,

Adam M. Della Rocca
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This was a long awaited mini vacation only for it to be a waste of time and money (lots of it $200) a night! As we first drove up to the hotel check in, we saw two old mattress leaning against parking area wall, the fan and light didn't work in of the one room, king size bed looks like a queen if not smaller and very nosie. Will I go back...I don't think so, even if it were free.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
radelowgittins, General Manager at Oceanside Marina Suites, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Guest,
I am sorry that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us at the Oceanside Marina Suites. The standards that you described are below the high standards we set for ourselves. The Engineering Department works hard to make sure that all the features in the room are working properly prior to guests’ arrivals. I am sorry that something malfunctioned during your stay and we would have done our best to resolve it or transfer your room. We constantly are upgrading our rooms in an effort to ensure our guests are comfortable. The mattresses you saw were from two rooms who had new mattresses installed earlier that day. They were waiting to be picked up by our trash vendor. Once again, I am sorry you didn’t enjoy your stay and hope you will reconsider staying with us again.

Sincerely,
Adam M. Della Rocca
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for a long weekend. The first room we had was very outdated. The built in micro wave was out so they just put another on the counter. Bathroom dingi and needed painting. We moved to another room after we complained. It was better but still outdated. The staff was friendly and the local is good but it is still second class. It has the potential to be really cool. Just update the place.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
radelowgittins, General Manager at Oceanside Marina Suites, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your recent experience. We are diligently working to attain that status you talk about. The hotel has ongoing room renovation as well as the exterior. The response from our repeat guests has been phenomenal. We hope to have you back so you can see the excellent changes.

Sincerely,
Adam M. Della Rocca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

From the moment that I set foot at the location I was blown away. The view from the pool and back courtyard/cabana overlooks the ocean inlet and opposite side has a beautiful view of the marina. The room was huge..similar to a timeshare with a fireplace. The balcony overlooked the marina with a perfect spot to eat breakfast. The bedroom was massive with a very comfortable bed. No A/C as it is on the peninsula of the marina but the sea breeze kept everything pleasant. Morning breakfast staff was very nice and went out of their way to accomodate. Hotel staff also went out of their way to accomodate with their business computers and internet. I will certainly return on my next business trip and keep this hotel in mind on personal travel as well.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
radelowgittins, General Manager at Oceanside Marina Suites, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Guest:
I am humbled by the kind compliments for our staff. On a daily basis, I witness members of our team go above and beyond to make sure our guests are comfortable. They are motivated by the compliments of our guests and seeing the smiles on the faces of happy guests. Thanks for sharing your experience with us and we look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards,
Adam M. Della Rocca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We are long time locals and stay here for special events a few times a year. Spent our special anniversay there this weekend. Stephanie at the front desk was extremely helpful and and pleasant to work with. ALl the staff are courteous and nice. Awesome rooms, have recommended this hotel to friends and family over the years, and now everyone stays there!
The pool is great, bring your own food, grilling area is great and clean!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
radelowgittins, General Manager at Oceanside Marina Suites, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Guest:
Happy Anniversary and thank you for choosing to spend your special day at the Oceanside Marina Suites. We appreciate the kind compliments about our staff. Steph and the rest of the team work incredibly hard to make sure all our guests enjoy their stay. We appreciate your kind remarks and look forward to seeing you again.

Thanks again,

Adam M. Della Rocca
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oceanside Marina Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanside Marina Suites

Address: 2008 Harbor Drive North, Oceanside, CA 92054
Location: United States > California > Oceanside
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Oceanside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Oceanside Marina Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oceanside Marina Suites is located on a private peninsula in the Oceanside Harbor. Surrounded by water on three sides our resort offers a host of amenities in a serene natural environment. Relax by the pool or your own private patio; stroll along the adjacent marina or shop and eat at the Marina Village. Our Boutique styled hotel is newly remodeled.We have large one & two bedroom suites with fireplaces and fully equipped kitchens, as well as regular standard rooms. Some suites offer an in-room spa for your private enjoyment. Our heated pool, spa ,sauna and Cabana Room are conveniently located on our spacious grounds. Relax in the gazebo and watch the boats navigate in and out of the harbor. Or, if you prefer, grill a steak at our pool side barbecue. Each morning savor our complimentary continental breakfast served by the pool.Located just 10 minutes from Legoland, you'll be away from the crowded San Diego Harbor and beaches. So, for an unbelievable waterfront vacation, come to the Oceanside Marina Suites. You'll be amazed at what a night or two will do for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Oceanside Marina Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanside Marina Hotel Oceanside

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oceanside Marina Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.