We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very basic...but ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Oceanside

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 Oceanside to your Saves list
Motel 6 Oceanside
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3708 Plaza Drive, Oceanside, CA 92056   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 28 Hotels in Oceanside
Dusseldorf, Germany
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Very basic...but ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

The Motel 6 is located directly by the exit of Highway 76, so it is really easy to get to. The downside: It is very noisy, especially in the rooms facing the highway. My room was on the 3rd floor...kinda quiet..but it was very, very basic. Very little furniture, just the tv, plain walls, not a single decorative item...not even a picture. There was no coffee-maker, no hairdryer, not even soap in the bathroom. The room was just big enough for a solo traveller. If a couple were to stay there, it would get crowded. The room was very clean, though. The carpet had actually been steam-cleaned the day I checked in. Wireless internet was available at a charge of 2,99$ per day. Staff was very friendly. Various fast food restaurants are just across the street. So for a one-night stay this place is just fine.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    5
    12
    3
    6
See reviews for
13
6
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Not just "often" but over many years. This property has its ups and downs but I believe is now on an "up." The staff were uniformly friendly, and the property seemed safer than it had in the past. The location is terrific, just off Hwy 78 and easily seen from the road, though this means extra room noise. The price is fine for the area, and there is coffee (nothing else) in the lobby from 7 AM. Easy walking distance to fast food, and no more than five minutes' drive to lots and lots of shops. Typical Motel 6.

Here are some things I didn't like too much: most places now have free WiFi, but Motel 6 still charges $2.99 a day. The bandwidth is limited and when things get too congested, the signal drops, after which you lose your website and are redirected to Motel 6 home page. What's up with that? Cheaper motels than this offer free WiFi, also considering that this "no frills" chain doesn't have things like shampoo available. Water in the bathroom tap came out in a needle spray so restricted that it is actually hard to wash hands. The shower however was "OK."

I will keep staying there as long as they stay open and don't start raising prices too much. It's really a decent value.

Room Tip: To minimize noise, try for the corridor linking the one side facing the surface road and the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed in Oceanside for 2 days at the Motel 6, and we had a terrible stay. This hotel was inhabited by shady, noisy residents who had decided to live there. I actually got scammed into giving someone money at a gas station, just to find them staying down the street at our hotel! The walls were thin and we were kept up all night by the noise. The shower was awkward, the toilet seat was peeling, and the doors would not close without slamming them. The hotel is at a convenient location, it does have laundry facilities which came in handy on our trip, and it is pet-friendly. My girlfriend used to live in the area, and she recommends the Motel 6 in downtown Carlsbad if you want a good deal.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

It is pretty much a standard Motel 6, no frills but really close to the beach. The price was right, it met our needs which was a place to sleep and do laundry. The rooms are clean including the bathroom. Check in was easy in and out. There are a lot of military/ military family there, so it feels pretty safe. Pretty quiet, we were on the third floor but when you closed the window it did block all outside noise. Close to the freeway if all you require is a safe quiet clean place to sleep this fits the bill. I don't think I would plan a vacation stay here, but it is good for a weary driver.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Mirage, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

I stayed with my family for a quick beach trip. The room was very clean and when we needed extra towels the hotel was very accommodating. The pool was very clean. The location is terrific if you are unfamiliar with the area. Easy on and off the freeway with lots of local dining so you don't have to travel far. Best plus was the room was extremely affordable for a family.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnesville, Minnesota
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

pros:
friendly staff
walking distance to many restaurants and stores exmpl. Wendy's,Starbucks,7 Eleven,ect.
plenty of places for dog to go do his bathroom duties
I could hook up my DVD player and Xbox 360 for some other entertainment besides flipping channels for something to see on TV besides reruns and idiotic reality shows.

cons:
having the both of us show IDs? what is up with that? and then photo copying it?
security around the place,its a good thing but,then police circling the place like sharks as well.
$60 was not a bad price,but also having to pay for internet too and it was not that great.
little league team kids running up and down breeze way making too much noise.

would I stay here again? only on the weekdays when its cheaper,this place definately is NOT worth 99 dollars a night,not by a long shot.
did I feel safe staying here? yes
would I be leaving anything of valuable laying around in sight? NO!!! (common sense)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

First of all the last 2 reviews were for the wrong property...they stayed at the downtown location, so don't be fooled by the nice reviews. This property is not walking distance to the beach it's about 7 miles away.

Anyway, we stayed at this Motel 6 mainly because it was close to my Sisters home and we were there for a wedding and were only using this room to sleep, which I'm happy about! The check in cleark was nice and gave us all info needed but that was the only good point. We entered our room and boy was it tiny, I knew the beds were full size beds and not queen so I expected them to be small but the room itself was as small as my walk in closet! No bathtub only a stand up shower, which makes giving a 6 yr old a bath a bit difficult! The floors looked like they have never been cleaned, when we pulled back our sheets a huge spider crawled out of the bed. The next morning when going to the lobby for coffee, the pots were empty, none was brewing and the clerk was in the back talking on her phone and never came to the front to ask what we wanted....COFFEE hello! We walked across the street and bought coffee. Then later we went to the desk to ask them if we could have a do not disturb sign for the door, we didnt want service or anyone in our room, we were told they don't have them and said we could write it on a piece of paper with a sharpe and tape it on the door?? We told her no service please, and when we returned to our room it had been serviced. They also did not provide shampoo, guess it's a good thing I brought my own but some in my party did not.

You really get what you pay for at this motel...which isn't much.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 Oceanside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Oceanside

Address: 3708 Plaza Drive, Oceanside, CA 92056
Location: United States > California > Oceanside
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 28 Hotels in Oceanside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Oceanside 2*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property has 136 rooms is three stories and has one elevator. We have a pool and guest laundry facility on property. Our property is WI-Fi capable for a fee. We do have a strict 21 and over check in age policy and all adults 18 and over must provide ID. Staff is friendly, rooms are clean and we provide off-duty/retired police officers as night security. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Motel 6 Oceanside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Oceanside Hotel Oceanside
Motel Six Oceanside
Oceanside Motel Six
Oceanside Motel 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Oceanside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.