We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Western Oceanside California” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Oceanside Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Oceanside Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Oceanside Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1680 Oceanside Boulevard, Oceanside, CA 92054   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Oceanside
Port Angeles, Washington, Usa
1 review
“Best Western Oceanside California”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

plumbing was very sluggish - in both rooms - so sluggish it was worrisome. sinks slow to drain, as well as toilet. Were they on septic?
under construction but that was not an issue
Staff very nice but sometimes not knowledgeable. one did not know what a blow dryer was when asked by new guest if rooms had one....Weekend staff seemed to have better grip on things, oddly enough.
Asked for room numbers when going to breakfast - kind of odd and never asked of this before at BW hotels.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWOceansideInn, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Oceanside Inn, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Sherry,

Thank you for your review and for your honest feedback regarding your stay. I apologize that the sink and toilet in your room drained so slowly. A quick phone call to the Front Desk and we could have easily sent our Engineer to your room to resolve the problem.

I also apologize for the miscommunication among our Front Desk staff. But to confirm, all of our guest rooms come to with the following amenities: hair dryer, microwave, mini-fridge, brand new flat screen TV's, coffee maker, and ironing board with iron.

I understand your confusion when our Breakfast Room Attendant asked you to verify your room number when you entered our breakfast room to enjoy our hot, complimentary breakfast. Unfortunately, our hotel is one of many that must deal with individuals who are not registered guests, walking in from the streets, and sneaking into our breakfast lounge to enjoy the free breakfast which is intended solely for our guests. Thus, in an attempt to solve this problem, we have implemented the policy of asking guests for their room number they come into the breakfast lounge.

I apologize again that your recent stay with us was not up to your satisfaction but I hope you will consider staying with us again so that we may have another opportunity to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,

Jeevani
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    89
    40
    19
    22
See reviews for
110
47
27
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed recently for two nights and found the Best Western comfortable, clean, and convenient. It's not on the beach, but frankly we found on previous visits that the beach-front properties are quite expensive, and not that great unless you're willing to pay $250+/nite for a room - which we are not.

The property is located a short walk to a 7/11-type gas station convenience store, and also a short walk to a nice little grocery store. Our room was equipped with a microwave and a fridge, which made it easy to stock up on snacks and lunches from the grocery store for our stay - thus saving a little money by not having to hit a restaurant for every meal.

We had a ground floor room, which made it super convenient to open the slider and bring our bags in that way - rather than through the interior hallways. The price is reasonable, the staff friendly, the beds are comfortable, and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWOceansideInn, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Oceanside Inn, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Dick&Jane,
Thank you for completing a review about our hotel and for choosing to stay with us during your visit to Oceanside. I am so glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay and that our ideal location and in-room amenities made your stay that much more enjoyable. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Oceanside.

Sincerely,

Jeevani
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, CA
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed here on business and had some high school students with us. Right from the start, I was impressed with the staff. The person who greeted us at the front desk was very helpful and friendly. After being in our rooms for a few minutes, they called each of our rooms to see if everything was ok and if we had any questions or problems. I thought that was a great touch to show that they cared. The rooms were very clean and of good size. It was nice that they had a microwave a refrigerator for our leftovers from our dinner! My biggest complaint is that the beds were not very comfortable, but that could just be because I like a softer bed. It is about a mile from the beach. The pool is not heated so it wasn't really usable for more than a minute or two, but the hot tub is very large and at a good, comfortable temperature for relaxing.

The breakfast was good with the usual waffles and eggs, but everything was stocked well. I also witnessed a customer get upset for no reason and be very rude and I was impressed with how well the employee and then the manager (owner?) handled it. Very professional. I would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWOceansideInn, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Oceanside Inn, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Dear Kingswin,

Thank you for your kind and thoughtful review detailing your experience at our hotel. I am happy to hear that we were able to make a positive first impression with our courtesy call to your room. Our Front Desk Agents make an effort to call each guest in their room at least 15 minutes after they have checked-in to make sure that our guests have settled into their room comfortably and to inquire if there is anything else we can do to make their stay more enjoyable.

"Exceeding expectations" is our customer service goal and my team and I try our best to assist all of our guests to the best of our ability. But as you witnessed in the breakfast room - as you noted in your review - it is sometimes impossible to keep everyone happy. But I was pleased to read that the professionalism and calm demeanor of our Breakfast Room Attendant and General Manager impressed you while they were handling a difficult situation.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to having you stay with us again!

Sincerely,

Jeevani
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

I came from a solid 24 hrs of travelling. Exhausted, all I wanted was a clean bathroom, reasonable wifi and a comfy bed. This Best Western suited me perfectly. Excellent price and fantastic location. The only issue I had with the place was the deteriorating decor. Not a major problem, but it needs improving.

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWOceansideInn, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Oceanside Inn, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Dear Rach,

Thank you for your review. I am happy to hear that we were able to accommodate your request for a clean, comfortable, and quiet room to rest after you've had an exhausting day of traveling.

You are not the first guest to comment upon our out-dated decor and we understand that this is a major topic for many of our guests. And so I very pleased to inform you that we are currently renovating our guest rooms and public areas.

Please consider staying with us again once we have completed our renovations at the end of this summer and let us know what you think of our updated look.

Sincerely,

Jeevani
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Oceanside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Oceanside Inn

Address: 1680 Oceanside Boulevard, Oceanside, CA 92054
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oceanside
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Oceanside
#9 Romantic Hotel in Oceanside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Oceanside Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Oceanside Inn! The golden beach is minutes away from our Oceanside hotel, designed to be family-friendly and a home base for the vacation of a lifetime. Are you planning a trip to LEGOLAND(R)? When guests stay at our Oceanside hotel, the best of the state is in their backyard. With close proximity to the San Diego Zoo(R), San Diego Zoo(R) Safari Park, and SeaWorld(R), adventure awaits. All guest rooms are fully equipped with microwaves and refrigerators, and guests will have access to a laundry room, outdoor pool, hot tub, and a hot breakfast, making our hotel convenient and ideal for families traveling with kids. We're just a leisurely stroll from the beach, downtown Oceanside and the Oceanside Pier. And we are only minutes away from Camp Pendleton, making it easy for families to visit their loved ones stationed there. The Marine Corps attracts government and military officials, and we're proud to serve those who serve. The base hosts a plethora of tournaments for the local community including their World Famous Mud Run(R), paintball tournaments, and Family Days featuring food, entertainment, and games. The beach and pier attracts swimmers and surfers alike, and is often utilized for national surf competitions. The Pier Plaza Amphitheatre hosts musical events and festivals throughout the year. Favorite local events such as the Race Across America, the LifeTime Triathlon, and the IRONMAN 70.3(R) are held annually in Oceanside. Oceanside's weather has been rated by USA Today as the second most ideal climate in the USA, and the fifth most ideal weather in the world. The endless California sunshine and cool ocean breeze entices many travelers to visit the laid-back, surf town that is Oceanside. Let the BEST WESTERN Oceanside Inn be the gateway to an unforgettable vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Oceanside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Oceanside Hotel Oceanside
Oceanside Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Oceanside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.