We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very satisfied” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harbor Inn & Suites Oceanside / San Diego

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Harbor Inn & Suites Oceanside / San Diego to your Saves list
Harbor Inn & Suites Oceanside / San Diego
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1401 N. Coast Hwy., Oceanside, CA 92054 (Formerly Travelodge)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$55 (USD)
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Oceanside
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
“Very satisfied”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We came in late. Tired and another hotel had screwed up our reservation. We were greeted very professional and we were very satisfied and treated very very nice. We would totally recondite this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceansideHarborInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbor Inn & Suites Oceanside / San Diego, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you so much for taking time out of your day to write such a positive review. We love knowing our guests had a pleasant stay with us.

Thank you for mentioning how wonderful out staff is. We take pride in providing Great Customer Service!

Thank you also for mentioning how wonderful our locations is. We are located near so many convenient shops and restaurants at the #OceansideHarbor.

Again, thank you for taking the time. Your opinion is always valued.

Best Wishes,
Krystal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    47
    21
    18
    17
See reviews for
62
39
17
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anza, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

This was our second stay. this time in 115. Clean room. loved that we could ride our bikes to the pier. Look forward to visiting again. Room for our bikes too. Very Helpful and Friendly Office personnel.

Room Tip: Not enough plugs for electronics and Wi-Fi patchy. Would love to have more Pictures of the Suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceansideHarborInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbor Inn & Suites Oceanside / San Diego, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
It was so nice to see you again and thank you so much for taking the time to acknowledge us on TripAdvisor!

Our staff really appreciate the compliment as they work so hard to provide the best customer service around. We love trying to cater to our every guest need and we love repeat guests.
We can’t wait to see you again or bring some family and friends to enjoy our many amenities!

Hope to see you soon!

In the highest regards,
Krystal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galloway, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Clean updated rooms, comfortable beds, friendly manager and staff. Turned my sleep music on and slept like a baby!

Manager went all out to help me with anything I needed. Comes with continental breakfast as well.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceansideHarborInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbor Inn & Suites Oceanside / San Diego, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We love knowing we make our guests happy.

Thank you for pointing out the wonderful service provided by out staff members, all of our staff are held to the highest standards when it comes to customer service.

We try to accommodate all of our guests by providing the best amenities possible and if you can’t find it in our rooms than no doubt our front desk has them.

I hope you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast and amenities like free, fast wifi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Rooms are way too small although it looks as if they were recently renovated. Not military friendly. Paid $180 for one room with two beds. Fridge did not close therefore milk was warm, second day just put one of our luggage against it therefore also block the little space we had. parking is limited and people drinking, talking loud, and smoking on the stairs right in front of our door. Never again, was out of my comfort zone.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceansideHarborInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbor Inn & Suites Oceanside / San Diego, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
I was sorry to hear that you had a disappointing stay with us. We try our absolute best to provide a unique and exceptional accommodation experience to all of our guests.

With respect we disagree that we are military unfriendly. We provide our highest discount which is 12% to retired military, active duty as well as the family of military. As our hotel is located walking distance to the main gate of Camp Pendleton, 90 percent of our guests are military or military family and we take pride in serving our military guests.

On rare occasion, circumstances outside of our control, such as an exceptionally loud or inconsiderate neighbor, do occur. When they arise there are a few mitigating options that we have at the time of incident; such as direct contact with the offending neighbor, complimentary ear-plugs offered at the front desk and the potential for room moves on days when we are not sold out. If these options were not all presented to you at the time of incident, please accept my sincere apologies.

These situations are rare for us as evidenced by the vast majority of reviews found here which comment specifically on how much pride we take in giving the best service and comfortable rooms at our property. I am sorry that this was not the case in your experience.

Best Regards,
Krystal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

Great stay with very friendly desk staff. So nice to see a family run business where multiple generations are willingly and cheerfully working to support it. The room was clean and had just what we needed. The motel is right off the 5, so there's is some traffic noise. We knew that going in, so it didn't bother us. Great stay.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceansideHarborInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbor Inn & Suites Oceanside / San Diego, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Your title is definitely the greatest compliment to our establishment. To be compared to one of the most cherished possessions one has is a heavy pat on our back. We thank you for giving us the opportunity to provide you with such a wonderful stay. We look forward to your next stay at the Harbor Inn & Suites in Oceanside.

Best Wishes,
Krystal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arroyo grande
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

There was horrible road noise since the hotel is right next to the I-5 highway. And the door did not block noise.
The hotel had a Denny's & Del Taco nearby. The hotel is reasonably close to legoland (10 minutes driving).
The beds were comfortable. The AC was not on when we arrived & we didn't use it. However, it seemed dangerous to leave windows open.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceansideHarborInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbor Inn & Suites Oceanside / San Diego, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for your review regarding our hotel. I am sorry that you felt we were loud, We are next to the highway, so next time to come over, please request us the room away form the highway. Our team continues to strive for improvement and most of all we will always look for ways to exceed our guest’s experience. We value you as a loyal guest and look forward to your next visit when in Oceanside, CA.

If there is something particular that you would like to address please feel free to contact me at harborinnoceanside@gmail.com

I do want to thank you for complimenting our most comfortable beds and Harbor Inn & Suites Oceanside location as we are close to Legoland and walking distance to many places like the beach and pier and other shopping areas.

Kind Regards,
Krystal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

My second story room had a problem with the electricity and so the tv, fridge and microwave didn't work. I noticed as soon as I got to the room(2:30 pm) and requested another room and was told they were full. They said they would call an electrician. I left for a wedding and came back several hours later and nothing was fixed. The door would also not lock unless you "lifted" the door up to align the deadbolt. The freeway noise was really bad; it came right through the door cracks. They need to weather strip the door and the problem would be solved. The room itself was okay, a little run down. The bed was comfy tho. The shower was nice. I didn't try the free breakfast but did grab some coffee. They took 20% off for my troubles but really they should have given me the room free. $98 for a horrible nights stay doesn't seem right. The ladies that worked there were very nice, I will say that at least.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceansideHarborInn, Public Relations Manager at Harbor Inn & Suites Oceanside / San Diego, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I’m delighted the Staff was excellent. I am sorry your room accommodation was not as you expected it. We greatly appreciate your feedback as this gives us the avenue to improve on our guest satisfaction.

It is our hope that you allow us to provide the quality service and our newly renovated rooms that we strive for during your next stay in Oceanside. Also, please call us a little ahead of time so that we make sure that you have a room away from the freeway.

Please feel free to contact me at HarborInnOceanside@gmail.com with any questions and/or comments you may have.

Sincerely,
Krystal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbor Inn & Suites Oceanside / San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Inn & Suites Oceanside / San Diego

Address: 1401 N. Coast Hwy., Oceanside, CA 92054 (Formerly Travelodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oceanside
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Oceanside
#2 Best Value Hotel in Oceanside
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Oceanside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Harbor Inn & Suites Oceanside / San Diego 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harbor Inn & Suites is conveniently located Near Legoland, Camp Pendleton's Main and Del Mar gates, Numerous San Diego attractions e.g. San Diego Zoo, Seaworld, Wild Animal Park, Balboa Park, Coronado Bridge and Coronado Island,Birch Aquarium at Scripps, Historic Ships and Maritime Museum San Diego, Seaport Village, Historic Old Town and The Gas Lamp District.We are within walking distance to a 3.5-mile stretch of white sandy beaches e.g. Del Mar Beach, San Onofre Beach and the beautiful Oceanside Harbor Beach. Only minutes away from the longest pier in San Diego County. Centrally located with nearby Quail Botanical gardens, Disneyland, Knott's Berry Farm,Universal Studios, Catalina Island from nearby Newport beach. Close to numerous outlets e.g. Carlsbad Company Stores, Lake Elsinore Outlets etc. Oceanside's beaches offer Worldclass Surfing, Sports Fishing, Deep Sea Fishing, Whale Watching, Sea Life Adventure Tours and Romantic Dinner and Harbor Cruises.Harbor Inn and Suites Oceanside is centrally located for numerous sporting activities e.g. Hot Air Balloon rides, Skydive Elsinore, Water sports on Mission Bay, Scuba Dive, Snorkel and Kayak near the La Jolla Caves whilst watching the Sea Lions come to rest on the shores, 'T' off at one of the numerous championship golf courses near Carlsbad, the 'Golf Capital of the World', Bicycle on nearby Bicycle routes and experience the Skating Park of Oceanside. Minutes from the Historic Mission San Luis Rey and numerous Antique Stores. Visit Southern California's best Wine Country at Temecula Valley for the World Class Wine Tasting. Experience the Vegas Style Indian Casinos a short drive from Oceanside Travelodge e.g. Pala Casino Resort & Spa, Barona Valley Ranch Resort and Casino, Casino Pauma, Cahuilla Casino, Harrha's Rincon Casino and Resort, Viejas Casino, Pechanga Resort & Casino, Ocean's Eleven Casino and much more. One hour drive away is Tijuana, Baja California where you can experience the diversity of culture and traditions of our neighboring Mexico.At Harbor Inn and Suites Oceanside we offer FREE high speed wireless internet FREE incoming faxes and all our rooms have micro-fridges, iron and ironing boards, hair dryers, in-room coffee, 25" Satellite TVs with HBO, ESPN. CNN, FoxSN and BET. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Harbor Inn & Suites Oceanside / San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor Inn And Suites Oceanside / San Diego
Harbor Inn & Suites Oceanside / San Diego Hotel Oceanside
Travelodge Oceanside San Diego
Travel Lodge Oceanside

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbor Inn & Suites Oceanside / San Diego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.