We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always nice to come back to” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harbor Inn & Suites Oceanside / San Diego

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Harbor Inn & Suites Oceanside / San Diego to your Saves list
Harbor Inn & Suites Oceanside / San Diego
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1401 N. Coast Hwy., Oceanside, CA 92054 (Formerly Travelodge)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
BOOK NOW AND SAVE!
Ranked #14 of 28 Hotels in Oceanside
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Newfield, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Always nice to come back to”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Stayed 3 nights. Rooms have new furniture! Had some priblems with motion sensor in room to turn off light (inventive), This was immediately tended to. Staff treats you courteously, friendly, and you feel at home rather quickly. You are a walk away, or short drive from beach. A small harbor with offered fishing expeditions and rental slips are in walking distance. Restaurants, family style and up are also close by, as well as in harbor. A great little hotel to relax behind much more expensive ones that may have ocean view. However, this is the one we come back to, budget friendly, friendly service. Will be back next year!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceansideHarborInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbor Inn & Suites Oceanside / San Diego, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
We appreciate the review you have posted for our hotel. Our staff is dedicated to make your stay perfect in every way, and we will continue to do so for all guests. Our location is great as you're correct we are only 10 minutes from all of the major attractions. Thank you again for sharing your experience. We are so appreciative of all of the time you took to post this for us, you are a truly valued guest of ours. We can't wait for the next time you are in Oceanside, you were such a delight.

Thank you
Sincerely,
Krystal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    49
    27
    21
    19
See reviews for
68
41
18
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We were here from Kansas...our daughter was having surgery in the area...our insurance co set us up in a horrible hotel...so I went out searching the area and found Harbor Inn and Suites...its fantastic! Close to the water...newly remodeled rooms...very nice compassionate staff...we stayed in a 2 room suite for well under $100 a night...we are here often...our orthopedic surgeon is here...and we will always return...we loved it...:))

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceansideHarborInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbor Inn & Suites Oceanside / San Diego, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for your extensive review of your visit to Harbor Inn & Suites. The details you provided will help future guests who are considering their own visit to Oceanside. We are happy you liked the great location and found the staff very friendly. We look forward to welcoming you back and sharing happiness on your next visit to Harbor Inn & Suites. Thank you again for your feedback.

Sincerely,
Krystal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Booked the Harbor Inn as it was the least expensive offering for the night. You get what you pay for. Lot of traffic noise as the hotel is right off the 5. They must cater to the beach crowd as the floors are tile. All in all, very average, but if I were in a pinch in Oceanside, I'd have no problem staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceansideHarborInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbor Inn & Suites Oceanside / San Diego, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your compliments regarding the Harbor Inn and Suites. It means so much when our guests compliment our customer service. Sorry about the inconvinience regarding the noise, since we are located right off of highway, I would recommend you to ask for a room away from the highway. I am so pleased that your experience with all of our staff was pleasurable.

Thank you again!
Sincerely,
Krystal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foster City, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Pros:
They started renovation and some parts are updated, still there is a room for improvement.
No carpets on the floors
Location

Cons:
Air conditioner was dusty
Old appliances, CRT TV.

Would recommend to others, once renovation is finished later this year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceansideHarborInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbor Inn & Suites Oceanside / San Diego, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Value is extremely important to us at the Harbor Inn & Suites, we accommodate our guests at budget friendly prices while providing an array of complimentary amenities and stellar service. Thank you for your review, we appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Utah
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

First, it must be stated that the service was great. Very friendly and helpful. Unfortunately, there was quite a lot with which to be helpful. The safe was locked open when we arrived, which they promptly came and fixed. Then the toilet wouldn't flush, which they fixed. But then the toilet wouldn't stop running (chain too short), which they fixed the next morning (kind of a long night). Then the chain was too long, so you had to hold the handle down for quite a while to get it to flush. Well, you get the idea. The breakfast was VERY simple - some cereal and toast, juice and maybe a piece of fruit of a packaged pastry. It was obvious that they have been working very hard to update this hotel, and the flooing was nice and the decorations were o.k. But then, there were parts, such as a big gap in the wall by the shower, that just hadn't quite been finished yet. So, would I stay here again? Probably - the price was good and the people were great. But I do hope that they get some of the "bugs" worked out.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceansideHarborInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbor Inn & Suites Oceanside / San Diego, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience while staying with us. Our team continues to strive for improvement and most of all we will always look for ways to exceed our guest’s experience. We value you as a loyal guest and look forward to your next visit when in Oceanside, CA.

Sincerely,
Krystal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Decent hotel with friendly helpful staff. My only one complaint was the proximity to the freeway and the constant noise. The breakfast was minimal, but it sufficed. The hotel was remodeled and was comfortable!

Room Tip: Our room had two beds and a pullout sleeper, this is perfect for our family of 6!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceansideHarborInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbor Inn & Suites Oceanside / San Diego, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience while staying with us. Our team continues to strive for improvement and most of all we will always look for ways to exceed our guest’s experience. Please request a room away from the freeway on your next visit to the Harbor Inn & Suites. We value you as a loyal guest and look forward to your next visit when in Oceanside, CA.

Sincerely,
Krystal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Verne, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

After reading the reviews I was wondering how bad this place really was, but we were pleasantly surprised. Yes, its right next to the freeway but the noise wasn't bothersome...you got used to it :-)
Room was clean, recently redecorated and very comfortable. Only saw the staff when we checked in and checked out but they were very courteous & accommodating... Even gave us a ground floor room with a tiny parking area right outside our window where we could park our motorcycle. We will definitely stay here again when in Oceanside,

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceansideHarborInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbor Inn & Suites Oceanside / San Diego, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for your sweet comments, we sincerely appreciate you taking the time to post a review for our hotel. It is very important to us as a hotel to exceed your expectations, and provide you with the best stay possible. Based on your comments, it is safe to say that we were able to meet that goal of ours. We are grateful for your comments, and look forward to serving you in the future!

Thank you again!,
Sincerely,
Krystal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbor Inn & Suites Oceanside / San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Inn & Suites Oceanside / San Diego

Address: 1401 N. Coast Hwy., Oceanside, CA 92054 (Formerly Travelodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oceanside
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Oceanside
#5 Business Hotel in Oceanside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Harbor Inn & Suites Oceanside / San Diego 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harbor Inn & Suites is conveniently located Near Legoland, Camp Pendleton's Main and Del Mar gates, Numerous San Diego attractions e.g. San Diego Zoo, Seaworld, Wild Animal Park, Balboa Park, Coronado Bridge and Coronado Island,Birch Aquarium at Scripps, Historic Ships and Maritime Museum San Diego, Seaport Village, Historic Old Town and The Gas Lamp District.We are within walking distance to a 3.5-mile stretch of white sandy beaches e.g. Del Mar Beach, San Onofre Beach and the beautiful Oceanside Harbor Beach. Only minutes away from the longest pier in San Diego County. Centrally located with nearby Quail Botanical gardens, Disneyland, Knott's Berry Farm,Universal Studios, Catalina Island from nearby Newport beach. Close to numerous outlets e.g. Carlsbad Company Stores, Lake Elsinore Outlets etc. Oceanside's beaches offer Worldclass Surfing, Sports Fishing, Deep Sea Fishing, Whale Watching, Sea Life Adventure Tours and Romantic Dinner and Harbor Cruises.Harbor Inn and Suites Oceanside is centrally located for numerous sporting activities e.g. Hot Air Balloon rides, Skydive Elsinore, Water sports on Mission Bay, Scuba Dive, Snorkel and Kayak near the La Jolla Caves whilst watching the Sea Lions come to rest on the shores, 'T' off at one of the numerous championship golf courses near Carlsbad, the 'Golf Capital of the World', Bicycle on nearby Bicycle routes and experience the Skating Park of Oceanside. Minutes from the Historic Mission San Luis Rey and numerous Antique Stores. Visit Southern California's best Wine Country at Temecula Valley for the World Class Wine Tasting. Experience the Vegas Style Indian Casinos a short drive from Oceanside Travelodge e.g. Pala Casino Resort & Spa, Barona Valley Ranch Resort and Casino, Casino Pauma, Cahuilla Casino, Harrha's Rincon Casino and Resort, Viejas Casino, Pechanga Resort & Casino, Ocean's Eleven Casino and much more. One hour drive away is Tijuana, Baja California where you can experience the diversity of culture and traditions of our neighboring Mexico.At Harbor Inn and Suites Oceanside we offer FREE high speed wireless internet FREE incoming faxes and all our rooms have micro-fridges, iron and ironing boards, hair dryers, in-room coffee, 25" Satellite TVs with HBO, ESPN. CNN, FoxSN and BET. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Harbor Inn & Suites Oceanside / San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor Inn & Suites Oceanside / San Diego Hotel Oceanside
Harbor Inn And Suites Oceanside / San Diego
Travelodge Oceanside San Diego
Travel Lodge Oceanside

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbor Inn & Suites Oceanside / San Diego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.