We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harbor Inn & Suites Oceanside / San Diego

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Harbor Inn & Suites Oceanside / San Diego to your Saves list
Harbor Inn & Suites Oceanside / San Diego
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1401 N. Coast Hwy., Oceanside, CA 92054 (Formerly Travelodge)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$55 (USD)
Ranked #11 of 28 Hotels in Oceanside
Beaumont, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Unique”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Charming caring family, running a small boutique type property. Older hotel, very clean, very friendly close to the beach. Unique custom finishes in very attractive bathrooms with granite surfaces. An unexpected nice surprise in an area where we expected a run down beach hotel. Remodeling and upkeep obviously being done discreetly without noise. Will stay here every time we are in the area!

Room Tip: Stay in the back, quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceansideHarborInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbor Inn & Suites Oceanside / San Diego, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for your extensive review of your visit to Harbor Inn & Suites. The details you provided will help future guests who are considering their own visit to Oceanside. We are happy you liked the great location and found the staff very friendly. We look forward to welcoming you back and sharing happiness on your next visit to Harbor Inn & Suites. Thank you again for your feedback.

Sincerely,
Krystal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    47
    20
    18
    17
See reviews for
61
39
17
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

I stayed 2 nights at the Harbor Inn. The rooms are completely remodeled and very clean. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Its just up the road from Oceanside Harbor and beach. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceansideHarborInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbor Inn & Suites Oceanside / San Diego, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
I am so happy that you enjoyed your trip to Oceanside and the Harbor Inn and Suites. We are happy that the suites were large enough for you and that you able to enjoy a good night sleep.

The hotel appreciates your comments on our location and accessibility to both public transportation and shopping. At the Harbor Inn & Suites, we strive to make your visit to Oceanside as enjoyable as possible, by providing you with clean rooms, great service, all at budget friendly prices, and after reading your comments it seems we were able to hit all three of those marks! Thank you for choosing the Harbor Inn & Suites, we look forward to your next stay.

Sincerely,

Krystal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Great people and location. The property is close to the harbor and beaches. The entire staff were very nice and helpful. We will definitely stay here next time we are in the area. The rooms are all nice and clean.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceansideHarborInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbor Inn & Suites Oceanside / San Diego, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
First off, we would like to thank you for this phenomenal review! Our whole staff strives to meet all of your expectations from customer service, to the cleanliness of our rooms, and we are proud to hear that we met those expectations. We also appreciate the fantastic tip to our future guests to book directly with us. Harbor Inn & Suites awaits your next trip to Oceanside!

Sincerely,
Krystal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed our stay but really used room just to sleep in. Breakfast was rather limited. Krystal at front desk was very friendly and accommodating. Suggestion would be to add maps of the area to brochure booth. I would recommend hotel to others and encourage them to book directly and not go through online deals as rooms might be cheaper. Great location for commuting to LA or San Diego.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceansideHarborInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbor Inn & Suites Oceanside / San Diego, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for your sweet comments, we sincerely appreciate you taking the time to post a review for our hotel. It is very important to us as a hotel to exceed your expectations, and provide you with the best stay possible. Based on your comments, it is safe to say that we were able to meet that goal of ours. We are grateful for your comments, and look forward to serving you in the future! Thank you for your kind words for me. I miss you two in the morning :) Hope to see you two soon!!!

Best wishes from the bottom of my heart,
Krystal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drayton, Langport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

First impressions are of a tired, run-down building with a fresh coat of paint. As we opened the door to our room, the smell hit us, musty, stale and old, probably emanating from the geriatric carpet. The facilities were tatty, the room was dark and gloomy and the WC rocked loudly and worryingly when I sat on it. Worst of all, the incessant roar of the traffic made even conversation difficult. We went straight to reception to cancel the booking.

Krystal at reception could not have been more helpful, and immediately found us another, much nicer room, saying she had been worried that we would not like the other room. Why did she give it to us, one wonders? The new room did not smell and was quieter, though the fittings were still tatty and tired-looking.

This was undoubtedly the worst "breakfast" We have ever experienced: pre-packaged, stale-looking Danish pastries, high-sugar cereals and cheap spreads for toast, all laid out in the tiny reception area. The coffee was good and fresh fruit was available, which was nice, though..

All in all, this place is shockingly expensive for very poor quality.

Room Tip: If you really HAVE to stay here, have a room away from the road. Better still, go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceansideHarborInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbor Inn & Suites Oceanside / San Diego, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Hello Ms. Penny W.

The first room which was given to you was near the freeway, as it was our last room with a king bed that was available when you booked, hence was louder but please be assured that the room had a completely new carpet and new tiled flooring in the bathroom with granite surrounding, new tub and faucets. Moreover, our furniture is custom made w/ granite tops. Everything that I mention above is barely three months old.

The second room that you complemented as "fabulous" when moved to, was available only because of one cancellation we had after you checked in. Thank you for noticing the difference. Everything in this new is also replaced three months ago when we did our renovations; besides the difference of being tile flooring and being a little away from the freeway.

Our facility is a two star rated, lower economy independent hotel in the segment of hospitality industry, with a small lobby, we are only allowed to serve limited continental breakfast. The cereal that you commented as "high sugar" were chosen bearing in mind the J. D. Power's study done in Wyndham Group.(our property was formerly known as Travelodge, two years ago) We have kept the recommended cereal since we became independent. Please be assured that the prepackaged pastries are bought from Costco, and are never stale since they are consumed w/i two-three days and has a life of two weeks after purchase.

As far as the price of your accommodation is concerned, it varies widely throughout the year and unfortunately for you, the weekend of your stay was the busiest of the entire year.( with comic con convention, Del mar horse race, military graduation, & leisure travelers). Our price was still competitive in the market for two star properties.

If you still have any further questions, please feel free to contact me at HarborInnOceanside@gmail.com.

Sincerely,
Krystal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

This place was Great, it had the best most comfortable mattresses, the coziest little rooftop balcony to enjoy the beautiful ocean night air, and nearby to so many restaurants and shops Not to mention Legoland where we had come to visit. It was more than comfortable and very reasonable. We'd definitely come back to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceansideHarborInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbor Inn & Suites Oceanside / San Diego, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay, it is our number one priority to provide you with the best service possible, and thank you for attesting to the fact that our staff was attentive to all of your needs. At the Harbor Inn & Suites, we strive to make your visit to Oceanside as enjoyable as possible, by providing you with clean rooms, great service, all at budget friendly prices, and after reading your comments it seems we were able to hit all three of those marks! Thank you for choosing the Harbor Inn & Suites, we look forward to your next stay.

Thank you
Krystal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We wish we could have stayed one more day, the stay at the Harbor Inn was that good. From the smiles and humor of the desk clerk to the cleanliness of the room, our stay was memorable. It is convenient to all that we wish to do nearby and close to freeway access. More intimate and charming than any national chain motel could ever wish for. We look forward to our next stay.

Room Tip: I would say that every room is a good room, whether up or downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceansideHarborInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbor Inn & Suites Oceanside / San Diego, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for your feedback about your stay this July. Our location off the I-5 does make it very convenient for getting around North County and Greater San Diego. Thank you for taking the time to let people know. We are glad your room was comfy and we do our very best to make sure that each one of our guests are treated with the best customer service, and are accommodated in the clean and comfortable rooms. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Oceanside/San Diego!
Sincerely,
Krystal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbor Inn & Suites Oceanside / San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Inn & Suites Oceanside / San Diego

Address: 1401 N. Coast Hwy., Oceanside, CA 92054 (Formerly Travelodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oceanside
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Oceanside
#2 Best Value Hotel in Oceanside
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Oceanside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Harbor Inn & Suites Oceanside / San Diego 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harbor Inn & Suites is conveniently located Near Legoland, Camp Pendleton's Main and Del Mar gates, Numerous San Diego attractions e.g. San Diego Zoo, Seaworld, Wild Animal Park, Balboa Park, Coronado Bridge and Coronado Island,Birch Aquarium at Scripps, Historic Ships and Maritime Museum San Diego, Seaport Village, Historic Old Town and The Gas Lamp District.We are within walking distance to a 3.5-mile stretch of white sandy beaches e.g. Del Mar Beach, San Onofre Beach and the beautiful Oceanside Harbor Beach. Only minutes away from the longest pier in San Diego County. Centrally located with nearby Quail Botanical gardens, Disneyland, Knott's Berry Farm,Universal Studios, Catalina Island from nearby Newport beach. Close to numerous outlets e.g. Carlsbad Company Stores, Lake Elsinore Outlets etc. Oceanside's beaches offer Worldclass Surfing, Sports Fishing, Deep Sea Fishing, Whale Watching, Sea Life Adventure Tours and Romantic Dinner and Harbor Cruises.Harbor Inn and Suites Oceanside is centrally located for numerous sporting activities e.g. Hot Air Balloon rides, Skydive Elsinore, Water sports on Mission Bay, Scuba Dive, Snorkel and Kayak near the La Jolla Caves whilst watching the Sea Lions come to rest on the shores, 'T' off at one of the numerous championship golf courses near Carlsbad, the 'Golf Capital of the World', Bicycle on nearby Bicycle routes and experience the Skating Park of Oceanside. Minutes from the Historic Mission San Luis Rey and numerous Antique Stores. Visit Southern California's best Wine Country at Temecula Valley for the World Class Wine Tasting. Experience the Vegas Style Indian Casinos a short drive from Oceanside Travelodge e.g. Pala Casino Resort & Spa, Barona Valley Ranch Resort and Casino, Casino Pauma, Cahuilla Casino, Harrha's Rincon Casino and Resort, Viejas Casino, Pechanga Resort & Casino, Ocean's Eleven Casino and much more. One hour drive away is Tijuana, Baja California where you can experience the diversity of culture and traditions of our neighboring Mexico.At Harbor Inn and Suites Oceanside we offer FREE high speed wireless internet FREE incoming faxes and all our rooms have micro-fridges, iron and ironing boards, hair dryers, in-room coffee, 25" Satellite TVs with HBO, ESPN. CNN, FoxSN and BET. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Harbor Inn & Suites Oceanside / San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor Inn And Suites Oceanside / San Diego
Harbor Inn & Suites Oceanside / San Diego Hotel Oceanside
Travelodge Oceanside San Diego
Travel Lodge Oceanside

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbor Inn & Suites Oceanside / San Diego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.