We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place for the price, and ran by great people!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harbor Inn & Suites Oceanside / San Diego

Save Saved
You added Harbor Inn & Suites Oceanside / San Diego to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harbor Inn & Suites Oceanside / San Diego
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1401 N. Coast Hwy., Oceanside, CA 92054 (Formerly Travelodge)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 15% Today!
Ranked #10 of 28 hotels in Oceanside
Mariposa, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A great place for the price, and ran by great people!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

My brother and I checked in without a reservation, but we instantly felt welcome. The owners were more than accommodating to our needs, and they made sure to get us the best room for the best price. My brother and I returned to this Travelodge at the end of our trip, once again without a reservation, and we were welcomed back like family. A bonus for me was also that they have smoking rooms, which is hard to come by in California. It's near the freeway which makes for noise, but we're talking about SoCal, so I wasn't expecting anything to be peaceful nor quiet. On a San Diego budget, this place is as good as it gets, and the owners give you a great experience to take home with you.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    66
    41
    17
    14
    17
See reviews for
53
37
13
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oceanside, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

My wife and I have been with Travelodge for about 4 years, we have spent weekends in different ones from coast to coast over our relationship during our trips and my career in the USMC. I can easily say that this one in Oceanside, California has the best bang for your buck. The internet quality is top notch, the rooms are large and comfortable, beautiful ocean view that I feel like I'm getting for free and well located as to allow us to walk to just about anything we need, beach, chow, and a movie theater right down the road. To conclude my review I will say that Travelodge in Oceanside, California is a great choice if you are looking to get the most for the least.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

This was an impromptu stay for a
New Years Eve 2011.
property supplies the most basic of amenities, expected in a motel room. Our "smoke free" tiny room reaked of stale, old smoke which permeated our clothes. Anyone sensitive to smoke should make sure they are getting a true smoke free room. Freeway noise is inescapable but didn't bother us. Price was right, but simply do not expect much and you will be okay with your stay here. By the way, don't expect much at your "free" breakfast. There was coffee, cereal and some sweet rolls on our morning there. It was free, so.....

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceansideHarborInn, Manager at Harbor Inn & Suites Oceanside / San Diego, responded to this review, March 3, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience while staying with us. Our team continues to strive for improvement and most of all we will always look for ways to exceed our guest’s experience. We value you as a loyal guest and look forward to your next visit when in Oceanside, CA.

Sincerely,
Krystal
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2011

Just pulled in here looking for a place to rest after a long cross country drive. I found the place to be well run, with a friendly and helpful staff. The room was very clean, well maintained, and completely equipped.

The 5 is nearby and a little noisy, but that would be true of any lodging in the area. It is a short walk to the Marina and the beach with lots of good places to eat and hang out.

Overall, a pleasant and relaxing 2 day stay, and a very good value --

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceansideHarborInn, Manager at Harbor Inn & Suites Oceanside / San Diego, responded to this review, March 3, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience while staying with us. Our team continues to strive for improvement and most of all we will always look for ways to exceed our guest’s experience. We value you as a loyal guest and look forward to your next visit when in Oceanside, CA.

Sincerely,
Krystal
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute, Indiana
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2011

Nice location close to the Oceanside Harbor. Very close to freeway which was rather noisy. Denny's restaurant a short block away. No complaints except traffic a bit noisy.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

Really enjoyed our stay here we were going to stay one night but stayed two. the rooms were clean tidy very nice the bathrooms were very nice, the staff and the owners were pleasant and very informative of the local area. Very well run.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceansideHarborInn, Manager at Harbor Inn & Suites Oceanside / San Diego, responded to this review, March 3, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words regarding the Harbor Inn and Suites. I am happy that you were able to enjoy our complimentary breakfasts, and internet.

I also want to thank you for the wonderful referral. We are always pleased when we are able to make a positive impact on our guests.

Sincerely,

Krystal
Sales and Marketing Manager


Sincerely,

Krystal
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boonville, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2010

This is a clean comfortable place to stay, the staff was very helpful whenever we needed anything.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbor Inn & Suites Oceanside / San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Inn & Suites Oceanside / San Diego

Address: 1401 N. Coast Hwy., Oceanside, CA 92054 (Formerly Travelodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oceanside
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Oceanside
#6 Business Hotel in Oceanside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Harbor Inn & Suites Oceanside / San Diego 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harbor Inn & Suites is conveniently located Near Legoland, Camp Pendleton's Main and Del Mar gates, Numerous San Diego attractions e.g. San Diego Zoo, Seaworld, Wild Animal Park, Balboa Park, Coronado Bridge and Coronado Island,Birch Aquarium at Scripps, Historic Ships and Maritime Museum San Diego, Seaport Village, Historic Old Town and The Gas Lamp District.We are within walking distance to a 3.5-mile stretch of white sandy beaches e.g. Del Mar Beach, San Onofre Beach and the beautiful Oceanside Harbor Beach. Only minutes away from the longest pier in San Diego County. Centrally located with nearby Quail Botanical gardens, Disneyland, Knott's Berry Farm,Universal Studios, Catalina Island from nearby Newport beach. Close to numerous outlets e.g. Carlsbad Company Stores, Lake Elsinore Outlets etc. Oceanside's beaches offer Worldclass Surfing, Sports Fishing, Deep Sea Fishing, Whale Watching, Sea Life Adventure Tours and Romantic Dinner and Harbor Cruises.Harbor Inn and Suites Oceanside is centrally located for numerous sporting activities e.g. Hot Air Balloon rides, Skydive Elsinore, Water sports on Mission Bay, Scuba Dive, Snorkel and Kayak near the La Jolla Caves whilst watching the Sea Lions come to rest on the shores, 'T' off at one of the numerous championship golf courses near Carlsbad, the 'Golf Capital of the World', Bicycle on nearby Bicycle routes and experience the Skating Park of Oceanside. Minutes from the Historic Mission San Luis Rey and numerous Antique Stores. Visit Southern California's best Wine Country at Temecula Valley for the World Class Wine Tasting. Experience the Vegas Style Indian Casinos a short drive from Oceanside Travelodge e.g. Pala Casino Resort & Spa, Barona Valley Ranch Resort and Casino, Casino Pauma, Cahuilla Casino, Harrha's Rincon Casino and Resort, Viejas Casino, Pechanga Resort & Casino, Ocean's Eleven Casino and much more. One hour drive away is Tijuana, Baja California where you can experience the diversity of culture and traditions of our neighboring Mexico.At Harbor Inn and Suites Oceanside we offer FREE high speed wireless internet FREE incoming faxes and all our rooms have micro-fridges, iron and ironing boards, hair dryers, in-room coffee, 25" Satellite TVs with HBO, ESPN. CNN, FoxSN and BET. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Harbor Inn & Suites Oceanside / San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor Inn & Suites Oceanside / San Diego Hotel Oceanside
Harbor Inn And Suites Oceanside / San Diego
Travelodge Oceanside San Diego
Travel Lodge Oceanside

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbor Inn & Suites Oceanside / San Diego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.