We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn San Diego Oceanside

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn San Diego Oceanside to your Saves list
Residence Inn San Diego Oceanside
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3603 Ocean Ranch Blvd, Oceanside, CA 92056   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Oceanside
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“very nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Stayed 5 nights in July on family vacation.

Hotel is about 10 minutes to Oceanside beaches, about 30-40 min. to San Diego's Mission Bay area (in light traffic). It seems like a newer hotel with modern decor and accents. The room kitchenette appliances are stainless steel and countertops have a granite finish with ceramic glass stove top. It looks sharp! The bed was king sized and quite comfortable, incl. good pillows.

Spacious washroom & vanity, bedroom closet has a good shelf configuration. A/C was concealed in its own closet and controlled by thermostat. Worked well and pretty quiet.

Meal table seats only 2 people. Sofabed is modern and fairly comfortable. There was a reclining chaise with ottoman, too.
We stayed in a suite that was handicap accessible, so there was no bathtub. The washroom was separate from the sink/vanity room and had a shower and toilet. The shower had a sloped floor drain with curtain, seat and 2 shower heads (one fixed, one hand held). The water was not contained in the shower area behind the curtain, leaving the whole bathroom floor wet. So floor drain design wasn't good.

Also, you have to pass through the vanity room to get to both the bedroom and washroom. It is a poor passage layout because there are 3 large doors in small area all opening toward the others which causes the doors to bang together (it became a joke).

Hotel staff was very friendly, personable, and professional. The lounge area is comfortable and is equipped with 2 online computers and a printer (all free to use). The patio is nice and includes a large BBQ, tables, chairs, umbrellas and a gas fire pit. The pool was refreshing and was salt filtered (no chlorine). The deepest end was only 5 ft. The deck had many chairs and loungers and a few tables. There was also a hot tub.

Free hot breakfasts were very good and menu changed daily. Mon - Wed from 6-7:30pm a reception was offered free to guests which included tasty foods (different meal each day) and a variety of beverages including coffee, wine, beer, and sodas.

Free WiFi is available in lobby and rooms. However, signal was only OK and they had some problems. IT was troubleshooting and fixing it.

There is plenty of free parking. It is located about 5 minutes drive from shopping areas and movie theatres. There are also a bar, pizza place, and a few small businesses directly across from the hotel.

BTW, There is a treasure hunt for the kids that takes them throughout the hotel. Nice touch!

Our stay was pleasant and we paid using Marriott points program. If in this area again I would gladly stay here.

Room Tip: Do not take a handicap accessible room unless you need one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    41
    13
    7
    2
See reviews for
71
22
7
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We recently returned from a wonderful stay at Residence Inn in Oceanside. Our room was exactly what we needed while traveling with two small children. It was extremely spacious, clean, quiet, comfortable and had a kitchen with a full size refrigerator. We brought our own snacks and food, but there are nearby grocery stores or the hotel can pick up food for you at no extra charge for the service. There is a free breakfast each morning with a good selection (yogurts, cereal, oatmeal, waffles, and hot meal offerings). The food wasn't fantastic, but it was decent. We ate it all three mornings we were there.

Pros of the hotel - the staff was very friendly and helpful, free breakfast, people really seemed to enjoy the pool area (though we didn't utilize it), great rooms

Cons - The location isn't exactly ideal (a bit far from the beach and other attractions,) but if you don't mind a little drive, it's not an issue. The fitness center had large windows facing the pool area as well as the first floor hallway, which means no privacy. For some, that may be desirable, but for me, it was enough reason to stay away from the fitness center altogether.

Overall, my family really enjoyed this hotel. It was more than we expected, especially on a crowded holiday weekend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McDonough, Georgia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Wonderful right from check in....free breakfast daily and happy hour Mon-Wed with free beer, wine and a dinner selection. Centrally located in Oceanside, approx 10 minute drive to beach, pier and downtown. A nice find....they give Paul Mitchell products in the bathroom!
We went to the pier for dinner a couple nights and to Harrah's casino another. Really enjoyed this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Let me start by saying that the hotel was a little pricey but considering the location it is to be expected. I rented at a government rate so that help. I was there with small children and hotel was close to perfect for families with kids. Hotel is located close to Oceanside and San Diego. I visited Legoland, Oceanside beaches, outlets and Downtown San Diego. The location of hotel was perfect for this. Hotel rooms where great the kitchen and dinning room table made feel like home. We loved the large selection of breakfast buffet every morning. The mini mart next to lobby was practical. The laundry self service was a savior!(only $1.25 per machine and a $1 detergent.) Even-though the hotel was extremely busy, i was there fourth of July weekend, the staff was very friendly. We would definitively return, hopefully get a better rate :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I was in the room they gave me for a total of 19 minutes. That's right 19 minutes and then I checked out. It was that bad. Upon walking in we were greeted by unruly children running around unsupervised (I had my 4 and 7 year old kids with me, so I am not a child hater either). I then checked in to find that I was given a handicap accessible room right next to the elevator. Now mind you I am a Marriott Rewards silver elite member and was using free nights for the room. I even called at 5:30 to let the hotel know I would be arriving around 8pm just to give them a heads up that I would arrive a little late. For that courtesy they saved me one of the least desirable rooms. Also, the condition of the room they gave me was awful. Shower needed serious caulking, and big stains on the rugs and the sofa. My wife and I decided were were not comfortable having our kids stay there so we left. If you decide to take a chance on this place just remember you've been warned!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua B, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Oceanside, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for your review. We deeply regret that you had such a poor experience and were with us for such a short time. I have already addressed this issues with the team in our bi-weekly Continuous Improvement Meetings and have followed up with the team on additional training. Although, we didn’t have an opportunity to address the issues while you were here, I would like the opportunity to resolve the issues with you directly. Please contact me at your convenience at 760-547-5820. Thank you so much for bringing this matter to our attention and I look forward to speaking with you.

Best Regards,
Josh Brandon, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The staff were accommodating and friendly, a little pricey but we used reward points. Room was AWESOME. Comfortable, great free breakfast (eggs, bagels, sausage, biscuits and gravy, cereal, make your own waffle with fruit and whipped cream, etc), great attention to detail. Will come clean your room everyday if you want them to. HIGHLY RECOMMEND! Never slept so well.

Room Tip: Pool, spa, gym on this property. They have a large patio with a large BBQ grill that you can use...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

I've stayed here several times while working at Camp Pendleton. Great staff, nice spacious rooms, close to base and multiple restaurants in the parking lot. This Residence Inn is by far my favorite and I'll definitely stay here each and every time I come to Oceanside!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn San Diego Oceanside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego Oceanside

Address: 3603 Ocean Ranch Blvd, Oceanside, CA 92056
Location: United States > California > Oceanside
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Oceanside
#6 Green Hotel in Oceanside
#7 Family Hotel in Oceanside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego Oceanside 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Marriott so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego Oceanside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Diego Oceanside Hotel Oceanside
Residence Inn Oceanside
Oceanside Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn San Diego Oceanside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.