We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only budget hotel near beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dolphin Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Dolphin Hotel to your Saves list
Dolphin Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   133 S Coast Hwy, Oceanside, CA 92054   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Oceanside
Albama
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Only budget hotel near beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

The best part about this hotel is its location. It was the only budget hotel within walking distance to the beach that we could see. Our room didn't have a carpet but tile floors. Carpet would have been nice.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhotel12, Manager at Dolphin Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2014
Your review is greatly appreciated. I always enjoy hearing from guests about their stay. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Oceanside! Best Wishes, Dolphin Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    13
    4
    1
    11
See reviews for
7
10
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wilkesboro, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

My experience with this hotel is all positive. The people that run it are very attentive to your needs and really care about how you are doing. The location is great....very close to the beach, nice restaurants, grocery stores and shopping. I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

Room Tip: Excellent ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2011 via mobile

My experience was absolutely terrible. The front desk was nice, but when we got up to the room our sheets were covered with stains and dust, also as we walked into the restroom there was mold in the shower, and pubic hair and urine stains on the toilet seat, the sink was not clean and the soap was used. Also not only did they charge me for the one nights stay, three days later I had an additional 47 dollar charge to my credit card that I did not approve. and not only when I called to ask about the charge was she rude, she was not responsive at all and not willing to fix the situation. I have never had such a terrible experience.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2010

Some of the previous posters are correct, the hotel does seem to be in a bad area. But, it is close to the center of activitiy in Oceanside, so it is convenient. The rooms are funky, but they do have cable tv and wireless internet connections. The price is low. The sheets were not ironed. There are rooms that people can smoke in. Lots of military people stay at the hotel. The woman at the front desk was helpful, but, it is true they do not refund your money.

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — bed
  • Stayed March 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

We upgraded our room to ocean view. Well worth it. The atmosphere is wonderful. Very clean, nicely decorated. Restaurant has a wonderful wrap around outdoor patio. We didn't eat any meals in the restaurant, but we did drop by for happy hour one night.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ihatepeggy
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2009

I read reviews of this place and decided to take a chance. First, there's no parking as they have no lot and the city doesn't allow parking from 5am - 6am any where near the hotel. Not even handicapped. The rooms smell. Whatever picture they used wasn't what we saw. Ceiling fan didn't work, 2 of 3 lights (1 not there) did, AC had a box with no electricity to it, windows wouldn't stay up and one that did didn't have a screen. Shower curtain moldy and the shower stall had a huge crack. We walked in later in the evening and evidently someone else was showering and water was pouring onto the the front desk! Sheets were nasty on both beds and we asked to have them changed, they gave us a sheet and a dust ruffle with about 50 holes in it! Trash bag with someones lunch left overs was between the bed and the nightstand. We paid for 2 nights and left after 1 and they wouldn't give the money back for the 2nd night. What a NASTY hotel this was. Don't stay here. But you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2009

This is value hotel. It's in an old building with a dilapitated lobby, but you could tell my room was recently upgraded. I'm used to staying at $150+ hotels and this was not close to being one of them. Small room, but we did get a lot of value for the money. I was traveling with a budget minded friend, and we were able to get a pretty decent room for only $60 including tax. Much nicer accomodation than at a Motel 6.

Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dolphin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Hotel

Address: 133 S Coast Hwy, Oceanside, CA 92054
Location: United States > California > Oceanside
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Oceanside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Dolphin Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome! We are a 25 room economy hotel conveniently located in downtown Oceanside, California. We offer deep discount daily and weekly rates. The hotel is ideally located 4 blocks from the beach and 2 blocks from the Oceanside train/bus transit center, which offers mass transportation to all areas throughout the county. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Dolphin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Hotel Oceanside

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolphin Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.