We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On The Menu? Killer Burrito... Nuff Said” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Break Cafe

Beach Break Cafe
1802 S Coast Hwy, Oceanside, CA 92054-6433
760-439-6355
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 319 Restaurants in Oceanside
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Lawrence, Kansas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“On The Menu? Killer Burrito... Nuff Said”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

So, I actually didn't order the killer burrito, but my husband did & I ate a few bites... so delicious!! I probably would have eaten more of his, but I ordered the short stack of pancakes... as big around as the plate and each one almost 1/2" thick!! I barely made a dent in them. The boy had french toast and he said it was yummy. Only complaint & it's small... the orange juice wasn't that great, but definitely wasn't a deal breaker. Wait staff, like at all the Oceanside restaurants we patronized, was very friendly & efficient. We ate our meal outside on their heated patio & found it amusing that the servers were wearing shorts. Just not something you see in December in Kansas & it was a fun change :)

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    49
    12
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Roy, Utah
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great local restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We were not familiar with Oceanside. We arrived at the Beach Break Cafe parking lot at 1:59 p.m. not knowing that the restaurant closes at 2. We were entering the side door literally as our hostess was ready to turn the sign over to closed. We suggested we would come back another time. She cheerfully coerced us to come in. We were certainly glad we did. We had a great lunch. The fish tacos are a specialty and are excellent in flavor and size. We came back the next two days for breakfast. The ABC omelette is delicious. My wife experimented with the banana crunch french toast, she had it twice during our stay and we came home with the recipe. This is a family owned gem. Service while laid back is both friendly and prompt. When we are in the San Diego area again we will make the trip to Oceanside to enjoy it again. Prices are very reasonable, serving sizes are ample.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Paula, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Sooo very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This place is awesome for breakfast. Fun to eat here too. The people working were nice and everyone seemed happy. The fish taco's were wonderful with freshly made tortillas and juicy fresh salsa (which we oddly had to pay for though). My husband had great Banana French Toast/very good. So worth the wait to get a table!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Zell & Gary along with the staff is wonderful and the food is great! I could go on and on, you be the judge :):)

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswick, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

First time we visited this restaurant. Normally we go to Mary's and Rubys which are both excellent. We went here due to the reviews we read on TripAdvisor. The reviews are quite accurate. Food is excellent. The coffee cake must be tried. Its well worth the calories so just head to the beach afterwards and do lots of walking

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beach Break Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Beach Break Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Break Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.