We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great family resort!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Southern California Beach Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Southern California Beach Club to your Saves list
Southern California Beach Club
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   121 South Pacific St, Oceanside, CA 92054   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Oceanside
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
tucson
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A great family resort!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This is our very favorite resort for our family. we love the off season as much as the warm summers. The staff at the Beach Club are exceptional! The front desk manager always makes us feel most welcome and comfortable. We just had a 4 week vacation there and I could have spent much more time without being bored. There is always something to do in the area if you choose. The sea, beach, wonderful weather just add to the enjoyment. The manager has upgraded all of the units and is constantly making improvements. We have been enjoying the SCBC for over 20 years and have many of our extended family doing the same.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jdaronco, General Manager at Southern California Beach Club, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Barbara N,

Thank you for taking the time to share your vacation experience on Trip Advisor! We are always so happy to see you arrive and are thrilled that you continue to have a great vacation experience. We also hate to see you leave...let's see if you can stay longer on your next visit!
Until then, we look forward to serving you on your next vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    18
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
44
35
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here over Memorial Day weekend. This hotel has an amazing location right on the water. However you want to make sure you get an ocean view or it kind of downgrades the hotel. We stayed in a room that faced other rooms so it was kind of loud and nothing to look at. The rooms are big and enough to fit a family. Our room came with two queens and a set of bunk beds. Would recommend this hotel just make sure to get ocean view.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jdaronco, General Manager at Southern California Beach Club, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Amysz15,

We are so sorry that we couldn't get an ocean view room for you. During our busy season (Memorial Day through Labor Day), we are highly occupied and the chances of getting the ocean view is very slim. We hope that you can visit us again, to enjoy the beach, listen to the ocean and we will do our best to get an ocean view next time. Feel free to contact me directly!

Julie DaRonco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Whittier, California, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

I have been going to the Southern Ca. Beach Club for more than 25 years and I would never go anywhere else when it comes to a vacation at the beach! There's the pier, shops, theather, and restraunts walking distants. The view is fabulous! Best of all, the staff will go out of their way to accommodate you any way they can!
Y1858R

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jdaronco, General Manager at Southern California Beach Club, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Hi Yonna R,
Thank you for reviewing your stay at Southern California Beach Club. We're so honored to continue welcoming you back year after year for another great stay. It seems you're very familiar with the area and know exactly what's going on and what to attend. It's our job to make sure our guests are having a successful stay. We look forward to welcoming you back for another 25 years to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Our family just spent a week vacationing at this hotel right next to beach, and we had a great time. The view was spectacular. The hotel had everything we needed to enjoy the beach. There are so many places to eat within a short car drive, it was tough deciding where to go, but Ruby's Diner at the end of the pier was a nice walk for tasty burgers and malts. And there's a Ralph's grocery store not far either, so we could pick up food for less expensive options. The park next door was a good place to go throw a football around with my two boys. It was an hour to Knotts Berry Farm and less than that to the Zoo. My only regret is that we couldn't spend more time there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jdaronco, Manager at Southern California Beach Club, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Terry S,
Thank you for the wonderful review! We are so glad that you and your family had a great vacation. We hope to see you again soon, so you can spend more time with us and the beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Our family vacation to the Southern California Beach Club exceeded our expectations. The location was great. It is located right by the lifeguard tower and sandy beach next to the pier. I mention sandy beach because farther down the road it is gets very rocky. The Southern California Beach Club sits right off the beach with a small access road where many bike, jog, skate etc. We did not take advantage of this but they had and assortment of beach toys that could be checked out instead of having to buy from a store in town.

We stayed in the very spacious two bedroom suite. The two bedrooms were upstairs with a full bathroom and the down stairs had the living room, kitchen, dining and a half bath/powder room.The main floor and bathroom upstairs was tile floor that had a hardwood floor look to it. This look gives the unit a warm cozy feeling. This unit was equivalent to staying in a nice two bedroom apartment. Everything was clean. I have no complaints about cleanliness at the Southern California Beach Club. The grounds were kept clean and the unit was impeccable. Upon glancing at the reviews to the right, I feel I should add that we were not timeshare participants and we received an ocean view.

The entire staff from the front desk, maids, security etc. went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. I was very impressed with all of the employees we met on our stay. I will highly recommend the Southern California Beach Club to family and friends, and we will make a return trip in the near future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jdaronco, General Manager at Southern California Beach Club, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Andrea W,

So glad to hear that you had a great stay at our resort. We thank you for the great recommendation and hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We recently stayed at Southern California Beach Club and enjoyed the location and our suite. We had a recently renovated condo and it was very nice. There was no ocean view because we were told most of those went to the timeshare participants. Nice beach chairs, bicycles and towels for the beach. One of the things that no one tells you is that there is no air conditioning in any of the units but most days you don't need it. Also, the booking company we used also did not explain whether the resort fee was included in the quoted price or not. The parking is convenient and is located under the building. However, the spaces are small and do not accommodate large vehicles very well. The room we stayed in on the 3rd floor did not have great cell reception. I had to stand on the patio to talk.

Room Tip: Ask about the cell phone reception in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jdaronco, General Manager at Southern California Beach Club, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
LadyLipstick,

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Beach Club! I apologize that the booking company did not relay the information about resort fees or the lack of air conditioning. I have started the process to ensure that all future guests are completely informed before they arrive. We are also reaching out to companies to improve our cell reception.
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menifee, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great location, great hotel. Right on the beach. We stayed in the 1 bedroom condo and we were beyond happy with the space. Lots of room, nice indoor courtyard area with tables and chairs (not all floors have this) Nice kitchen, we cooked both nights. They also have a b.b.q. area but did not use it. The bathroom is separated into 2 areas, shower and toilet in one part and LARGE sink area in the other. Bed was very comfortable. We did not get very good phone reception so had to go outside to make any phone calls. Everything is provided for the beach (chairs, towels, kids toys, umbrellas, bikes) no need to bring all those things. Only down side was the front desk reception felt a little unfriendly but once we started talking it seemed a little better, they went out of the way to give us a good room and they were very accommodating. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay on the floor with the indoor courtyard (b.b.q. area)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jdaronco, General Manager at Southern California Beach Club, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Lori Kearns,

We are so glad that you had a good vacation and our resort provided the things you needed for a good stay. We will certainly work on our welcome at check in and ensure all our staff are reminded to make YOU the first priority.
We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Southern California Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern California Beach Club

Address: 121 South Pacific St, Oceanside, CA 92054
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oceanside
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Oceanside
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Oceanside
#2 Family Hotel in Oceanside
#2 Romantic Hotel in Oceanside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Southern California Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern California Beach Club combines casual and chic California style. Located next to the Oceanside Pier, guest can take pleasure in amazing sunsets seen from the resorts rooftop whirlpool. This beachside resort is one of the hot spots in Southern California. It's location near the Pacific Ocean gives each guest the relaxation they need in a vacation. Resort. Stay in a studio, one or two bedroom condos for a relaxing experience. Each of the rooms include mini kitchens, sofa sleeper, dishwasher, hair dryer, microwave, one bathrooms, and a private patio/balcony. This resort does not have air conditioning however rooms are equipped with ceiling fans in the bedroom and kitchen. Southern California Beach Club is also a non-smoking resort. Please note the minimum age to check in is 21, must have valid ID and credit card to check in. A nightly taxable USD 17.00 Resort fee will be collected upon check out. This fee includes parking, unlimited wi-fi internet, and the HBO channel. -Quiet Hours- from 10pm-9am. From May 4, 2015 to May 22, 2015, Southern California Beach Club is undergoing some minor renovations. We understand that renovations are sometimes an inconvenience. During this time you may notice some construction noise but there's still plenty of room for fun and relaxation both at the resort and nearby. If you have any questions or concerns, please contact the resort directly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Southern California Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern California Beach Club Hotel Oceanside
Southern Ca Beach Hotel
Southern California Beach Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southern California Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.