We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great getaway!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Southern California Beach Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Southern California Beach Club to your Saves list
Southern California Beach Club
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   121 South Pacific St, Oceanside, CA 92054   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Oceanside
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lakeport, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great getaway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Staff here were amazing! Great location right on the beach and close to pier. Many amenities, just needs a pool! Beach toys, bikes, towels, chairs all available for use. Separate wifi for each room. Would stay here again anytime!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jdaronco, Manager at Southern California Beach Club, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Wendy,

Thank you for the great comments! We wish we had room for a pool too! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    14
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
37
30
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fremont, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We too were fortunate enough to get a one-bedroom suite on the 2nd floor, right across from the beach...overall, I would consider it a little above average. Clean, comfortable bed..plenty of room for four if you dont mind sleeping on an uncomfortable sofa bed.(just one night!) Good resturants in the area and a great place to surf/bogie board. Just walk out the gate to the beach. Underground parking which was difficult with 4 wheel drive pickup but passes available to park on street. The property was just up-dated,but could use more tlc.
Noisy on the weekend as you are right on the strand, but weekdays, the only noise is the surf! Overall, good stay and would go back!

Room Tip: Bikes, beach chairs, buckets/shovels available.. Rooms on street level can be very noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jdaronco, General Manager at Southern California Beach Club, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Hi sallyO42,
Thank you for reviewing Southern California Beach Club. We're thrilled you had a great time and hope you had fun visiting the local shops. We hope to welcome you back for another wonderful stay in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placentia, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We were fortunate to get an ocean view studio. The view was wonderful. I loved hearing the crashing of the ocean waves. As in previous posts there are no guarantees for an ocean view but I did request one. There were a few surprises. The room has no central A/C or heat. They provided us with a portable heater which worked fine. The "Strand" is a one way road for cars, people and bikes. I thought it was just for people and bikes. My husband is 6'3" and bumped his head a couple times on the ceiling fan. The room is the size of a hotel room but there is a nice patio. We also borrowed some beach cruisers (bikes) and rode up the San Luis Rey River bike trail. We came in on the Metrolink train and it was a 5-10 min walk to the complex. We had a delightful weekend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jdaronco, General Manager at Southern California Beach Club, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
JP
Thank you for staying with us! We are pleased that you had a great getaway. We hope to see you again soon, and look forward to providing an even better vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I cannot believe how rudely we were treated by the staff at the front desk. They chased us down to complain to us about our parking, but did not try to help us when the dvd player stopped working with one of our own discs inside of it. They hot tub was not working and they did not care abput that either. This was my fifth, but last visit EVER to this horrible place. Too bad, the view is great.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jdaronco, General Manager at Southern California Beach Club, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Hi markyourangels,
We greatly appreciate your review of Southern California Beach Club. We apologize for any inconveniences you experienced during your stay, as it is our goal to make sure all of our guests are provided with a clean atmosphere and excellent service. We are sorry if we fell short of that goal during your most recent stay and invite you to contact us at jdaronco@gpresorts.com with any additional information regarding your trip. We thank you again and look forward to speaking with you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Reasonable rates right on the beach been staying here for the last 3 years we come for the World Famous Mud Run only 5 minute to Marine Base. No need to bring towels, chairs, boogie boards and bikes all supplied. It can be noisy on the weekends due to Pier just up the strand, but not to late and anywhere you go there will be homeless anymore on the California Beaches. The property is gated and you need a code to enter so we felt perfectly safe. Your vehicle is also in gated garage and you will not need to move it once you are there, walking distance to restaurants, shops and stores

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edina, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed in a first level studio room which was clean and very nicely decorated in blues and greens and had a nice nautical feel to it. That said, on Saturday afternoon and late into the night, there was a steady stream of vehicles blasting rap music..not really my thing. There were drunken homeless people wandering around and made us nervous leaving the patio door open (solved that by placing an ottoman in front of screen). Oceanside Beach is a much busier beach than I expected. By Sunday, things on the street had calmed down-- the rap music yielding vehicles replaced by classic woody's, VW's and vintage muscle cars playing 60's music (much better). The property offers beach chairs, beach towels and Electra cruising bikes on loan..this was appreciated. Anyway, the property and service is great and perhaps a 2nd level unit would be better.

Room Tip: If you can, avoid a Saturday stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jdaronco, Manager at Southern California Beach Club, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Hi Lkotsonas,
Thank you for reviewing Southern California Beach Club. We're happy to hear that you had a wonderful vacation with us. Next time you are vacationing with us and experience any inconveniences, please feel free to notify our front desk immediately, they will be sure to help you. We want our guests to feel safe and at home, customer satisfaction is of the utmost importance. We thank you again for your review and hope to have you back again soon!

Julie DaRonco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the beach club for 10 nights and we would definitely return. Jeremy really went the extra mile to ensure we were happy with our assigned units. The location is fantastic. The facility has beach equipment available to check out. Even though the resort was very busy, we found it to be very peaceful at night.
I definitely recommend the resort for families. It is not designed to be a five star hotel. You are basically renting a great condo in a wonderful location. The store Fresh and Easy has a great variety of tasty, easy to prepare meals.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Southern California Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern California Beach Club

Address: 121 South Pacific St, Oceanside, CA 92054
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oceanside
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Oceanside
#1 Green Hotel in Oceanside
#2 Family Hotel in Oceanside
#2 Romantic Hotel in Oceanside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Southern California Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
California style that is casual and chic is what the Southern California Beach Club is all about. Located next to the Oceanside Pier, guest can take pleasure in amazing sunsets seen from the resorts rooftop whirlpool. This beachside resort is one of the hot spots in Southern California. Its location near the Pacific Ocean gives each guest the relaxation they need in a vacation. Stay in a studio, one or two bedroom condos for a relaxing experience. Each room include mini kitchens, queen sized bed and sofa sleeper, dishwasher, hair dryer, microwave, refridgerator, stovetop and a private patio/balcony. Although without air conditioning, the ceiling fans and airy ocean breezes will keep you cool. Southern California Beach Club is also a non-smoking resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Southern California Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern California Beach Club Hotel Oceanside
Southern Ca Beach Hotel
Southern California Beach Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southern California Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.