We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was blown away- late lunch yummm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jolly Roger- Oceanside

Jolly Roger- Oceanside
1900 Harbor Dr. N., Oceanside, CA 92054
760-722-1831
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #97 of 334 Restaurants in Oceanside
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Brierfield, Alabama
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Was blown away- late lunch yummm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Was riding around the harbor looking ar the boats when I saw a restaurant opening soon sign reminding me we hadn't eaten lunch yet. It was around 2pm. So my wife and I decided to finish the loop and look for somewhere to eat. Them I saw a nice inviting place on the water that turned out to be the Jolly Roger. Established looking, full tree lined parking lot, menu posted outside, so we were drawn in. Spacious dining rooms multi level. Great view of boats. ANYWAY. .GREAT food. We both were saying can you believe how good this is? I ordered a turkey and stuffing entrepreneurs w creamed corn and cranberry sauce. I dont usually eat cranberry sauce but this was fresh made and delicious. The corn was not expected. In a small bowl was fresh kernel corn sweetened w cream? Carved Turkey and dressing was wonderful. Great presentation. Overall a very satisfying meal. Witness very attentive. Should be rated higher! Wish there was somewhere like it near Newport Beach..we couldn't find a similar experience there for the $$

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    30
    38
    17
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
378 reviews 378 reviews
259 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 156 cities Reviews in 156 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
“Great view of harbor with average happy hour food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

The restaurant sits at the end of the harbor and has a great view through large windows. The decor is out dated and a little run down. The service is fair and the happy hour prices are good. The calamari was tender but it had a lot of breading on it. Clam chowder was good but had very little clams. My wife had the salad with chicken which was nothing special. A good place to go for a view of the harbor but don't expect great food.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Happy Hour in the Upstairs Lounge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

These guys do a low cost, decent happy hour with $3 appetizers and wine or beer. You sure can't get a better price, and for bar food it's pretty good. The grilled fish tacos are tasty, as are the chicken lettuce wraps. An added bonus is the view of the harbor. Time if for sunset - a great spot to watch the sun sink into the ocean.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“What a waste of a great location!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

This restaurant is dated, some furnishings are in bad repair, the food is tolerable and so is the service, but only just. Do yourself a favor and patronize one of the other fine establishments around the harbor.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Had Mid-afternoon lunch w/ Family over looking Harbor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We had a beautiful day on the 2nd Level of the restaurant over looking the harbor facing East. Very nice, relaxing, and tranquil. We were in a laid-back mood and enjoying the day. We were the only ones there when we arrived.

We ordered a variety of items from the menu. These included Fish Tacos, Spring Rolls, Caesar Salad, Sweet Potato Fries, and beverages.

We enjoyed our time together, relaxing, taking in the breathtaking view of the harbor. It was just the thing we all needed after a long week of work.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jolly Roger- Oceanside also viewed

 

Been to Jolly Roger- Oceanside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jolly Roger- Oceanside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.