We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unique experience, sipping a margarita & sitting in their outdoor patio.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Johnny Manana's

Johnny Manana's
312 Mission Avenue, Oceanside, CA
760-721-9999
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 334 Restaurants in Oceanside
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A unique experience, sipping a margarita & sitting in their outdoor patio.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

It's one of those places we always visit when we are in town. Been there for years, good location, great place for lunch!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    24
    4
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Placentia, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good food..good price...2 blocks from the pier”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We make it a point to go here whenever we get the chance..yeah, food prep can be a little slow, but it's cooked to order by the owner and his wife..we think it's worth the wait..and a great margarita on the rocks for $4, even greater...just a simple laid back place

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicopee, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Blessed by the Chicken Fajita of Saint Johnny Manana's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Johnny Manana's is truly my most favorite restaurant of all. The staff is exceptionally professional and the food is truly outstanding! Although I live in Massachusetts now, I make a culinary pilgrimage each year to Oceanside for the blessings of Johnny's Chicken Fajita with black beans and picante. If Don Alfonso is there, he will gladly share his unique Costa Rican wisdom (for a reasonable price) along with his insightful perspectives on world peace and international soccer. Don Ramiro, Ms. Mari and the great staff always go the extra mile for their customers and really know how to treat them like family. Please tell them that Pablo sends his best regards from the East Cost. Truly Lo Maximo!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Slowest service ever”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

This place looks cute. Went up to window to order and the man told us to go ahead and sit and they would take our order. We waited quite a whole to get the order taken. Then, we sat there for another 45 minutes for them to make a breakfast burrito and a carne asada burrito. Just unreal. There was hardly anyone there. I enjoy spicy and the salsa there was awful. I mean I would rather have had taco bell. I you just want to sit and drink beer and don't care if you get waited on then I guess place would have been ok. Never again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OFallon
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Local little Mexican find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

Don't come here if you're a McDonalds fan, or if you are in a hurry & demand instant food. If you like local flavor, laid back atmosphere, Mexican music and good plain Mexican food, this is the spot. The cooks are working to get the food out but the kitchen is tiny so it takes awhile. 4 booths & 6 tiny tables inside; a good patio outside is a better bet. Lots of noise, happy customers and large portions mean this place stays busy. If you aren't comfortable with waiting head elsewhere. Otherwise relax and enjoy!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Johnny Manana's also viewed

 

Been to Johnny Manana's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Johnny Manana's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.