We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply amazing hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites San Diego Oceanside/Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites San Diego Oceanside/Downtown to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites San Diego Oceanside/Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   110 North Myers Street, Oceanside, CA 92054   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Oceanside
Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Simply amazing hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

This hotel has really hit a home run here. Every member of the staff has truly gone out of their way to make this their own hotel. The rooms are clean and spacious, the breakfast was filling and tasty. The restaurant Hello Betty offered what I felt was a very good value (being a block or two from the beach I was expecting higher prices). Valet is the only parking option, but with some public lots asking over 30 bucks for a 24 hour period, the hotel's price is very reasonable. Be sure to visit the rooftop pool and hottub, if you can time it with sunset you will never want it to end. Absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone who needs to stay in the area. And definaltely get the upgraded ocean view rooms - the view is worth every penny

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    40
    12
    7
    3
See reviews for
43
29
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Yes, the train is loud. However, we are familiar with the area and the Coaster was something that we are accustomed to. We honestly did not hear it at night and the hotel did provide a sound conditioner.
We really enjoyed our stay. This is a hip, modern, brand new and LEED Platinum hotel. If you are sustainably minded and like a " W" vibe this is the place for you. We had never stayed at a Springhill Suites, but my boyfriend is a Marriott Elite member and we had a free night so we thought we'd check it out. The location is fabulous. We walked everywhere - you are across the street from the pier and a nice beach, and close to great restaurants. We loved the wide open lobby and the cool room and thoughful touches - like the sliding door in the bathroom that slid rather than opened out and the movable privacy glass by the desk. The room has a pullout cool bed, microwave, refridgerator, keurig. The buffet breakfast was fine and while the pool was crowded, we liked the rooftop location and the glass panels to keep out the wind. We had a wonderful time.

Room Tip: We liked a higher floor and a partial ocean view was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSOceanside, General Manager at SpringHill Suites San Diego Oceanside/Downtown, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and how close we are to everything in downtown Oceanside! We truly hope that if your travels bring you back to the area that we would be able to serve you again, thank you!

Sincerely,
Kathleen Maola
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed for five days and we enjoyed every moments of our stay.
First, we were greeted by Ms. Ellie Walton and checked into a nice ocean view room.
Even though the hotel is not on the beach, the view from the room was awesome.
Ms. Walton checked with us during our stay to make sure we are taken care of. We really loved personal touch... So nice of her. In addition, all the staff were very polite and friendly.
Also, we took a train to San Diego since a train station is right next door.
We recommend this hotel to everyone.

Room Tip: Complimentary breakfast can be improved.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSOceanside, General Manager at SpringHill Suites San Diego Oceanside/Downtown, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. We will also give your compliments to Ellie, she is a great asset to our wonderful team! Again thank you for your review!

Sincerely,
Kathleen Maola
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

I give this review an AVERAGE simply because of the train. W/o the train horn it would get a "Very Good". The hotel itself was fantastic, clean, cool contemporary rooms, excellent complimentary breakfast, GREAT location, walking distance to the beach, shops, bars, restaurant, and the theatre. The train horn was a nuisance! The hotel is built literally RIGHT on the tracks so ANY room that is in the back of the hotel is going to have the issue with the train horn. I upgraded to an partial Ocean View room thinking that we might be away from the tracks, not so much, we were about as close as possible as our balcony was right above the crossing. 6am, 7am, 8am, the horn blew. To this hotels credit they took extensive measures to install double pane, sound minimizing windows and sliding door but whatever you do DON'T sleep with your patio door open you'll be blasted from bed at 6am! I did asked to be moved and the hotel was full. I spoke to the MOD at departure and she was VERY understanding and credited my account $35/night. I WOULD stay there again but ONLY in an Ocean View room as that's in the front of the hotel.

Room Tip: Book an Ocean View room or request at check in to be away from the tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSOceanside, General Manager at SpringHill Suites San Diego Oceanside/Downtown, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your candid review of your recent stay with us. Our ocean view rooms are a great option for guests who are concerned about the train noise. As you noted, our city view and partial ocean view rooms do experience the sound of the train horns at night. We have put sound conditioners in these rooms to help mitigate the issue for our guests. Again thank you for your review and we hope to see you the next time your travel plans find you in Oceanside!

Sincerely,
Kathleen Maola
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

This is a very nice hotel with great views of the beach. You can walk to the sand in about 2 minutes, so it's a great spot. We were luck enough to get a second floor room that had access to the large deck. As parents it was GREAT because we put our girls to bed and then were able to have some time on the deck, all while being able to check the kids with no problems. GREAT perk. The breakfast was a little chaotic and they ran out of food frequently...but overall we got enough to make it through the day...what do you expect for free? The staff was over the top nice and friendly. The valet guys didn't even get annoyed with us when we kept having them run down to get things out of the car that we had forgotten. Also, the restaurant in the hotel "Hello Betty" (I think) was cute and had great fish tacos. Overall, we were very pleased with our stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSOceanside, General Manager at SpringHill Suites San Diego Oceanside/Downtown, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our downtown location by the beach! I apologize for your breakfast experience. We are working very hard to improve the breakfast experience for our guests and appreciate the feedback! Again thank you for your review and if your travels take you back to the area, we would love to welcome you back!

Sincerely,
Kathleen Maola
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
223 helpful votes 223 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Used a Marriott reward to stay here. Picked this hotel because it's brand new and it's by the ocean.

Rooms are very nice; especially loved the bathroom with the window in the shower. Really Beautiful. The beds are amazingly comfortable! As good as any I've ever slept in. We had a partial ocean view room with a balcony. The ocean front rooms would be an even better choice, and I think they'd be the quietest as they're furthest away from the trains. We still had a decent view of the ocean with the partial ocean view, and the balcony had a little table with 2 chairs.
The trains are noisy, but we didn't hear them during the middle of the night, and when we did hear them we went right back to sleep because the bed was sooo comfortable! So we weren't too bothered by the noise.

Oceanside was a fun place to visit. Great beach to walk along. We ate at two restaurants, and both were great -- That Boy Good for delicious barbeque and The Flying PIg, an excellent dinner restaurant. Both were an easy walk from the hotel, too. The morning breakfast at the Marriott is fine, too.
The only real fault I give this hotel is the expensive $24 parking. But valet did a good job.
Would definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms would be the best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSOceanside, General Manager at SpringHill Suites San Diego Oceanside/Downtown, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your past stay with us. We are excited to hear how much you enjoyed your stay along with our comfortable beds! We truly hope to be able to serve you again if your travels take you back out this way.

Sincerely,
Kathleen Maola
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Love this hotel! We arrived early and were immediately upgraded and checked in even though it was well before check in time. Staff went above and beyond anything we asked of them. Every time we were given a restaurant recommendation it was exactly what we were looking for. The hotel is a block from the beach and we had a great view from our room. We could open the balcony doors and hear the ocean. Love the foosball table off the lobby and the very large open breakfast area. Breakfast was great too! We had 5 people in our room and every time housekeeping was in our room we had 5 new towels and extra soap and shampoo. Everyone was really fantastic and attentive. You do have to use their valet parking which we didn't love.

Room Tip: Book one of the corner rooms facing the beach! You cannot beat the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSOceanside, General Manager at SpringHill Suites San Diego Oceanside/Downtown, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your past stay with us. We are so pleased that you enjoyed yourself and that our attentive staff were able to accommodate all of your needs! We truly hope to be able to serve you again in the future, thank you!

Sincerely,
Kathleen Maola
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites San Diego Oceanside/Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites San Diego Oceanside/Downtown

Address: 110 North Myers Street, Oceanside, CA 92054
Location: United States > California > Oceanside
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Oceanside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites San Diego Oceanside/Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Venere, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your SpringHill Suites San Diego Oceanside/Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites San Diego Oceanside/Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.