We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites San Diego Oceanside/Downtown to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites San Diego Oceanside/Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   110 North Myers Street, Oceanside, CA 92054   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Oceanside
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Amazeballs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

Firstly i just have to say, ALL of the staff i spoke to were amazing, very helpful, friendly and attentive. The Marriot must be doing something right with staff training. I've travelled all over the world and this is by far the best customer service ive received. The rooms were fresh looking and spacious. Everything in the hotel was modern and very up to date. There may be one down side for some people.....the noise of the trains...possibly every 15 mins. Didn't bother me one bit though as i like trains! Fantastic stay and i will visit again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSOceanside, General Manager at SpringHill Suites San Diego Oceanside/Downtown, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your past stay with us. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that our rooms suited your needs. We do apologize for any noise that you experienced from the train, and we have just outfitted all of rooms that would experience noise with white noise machines to assist with keeping the rooms quiet.

Sincerely,
Kathleen Maola
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    43
    14
    7
    3
See reviews for
45
34
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
South Pasadena, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

This new hotel is just up the street from the Oceanside Amtrak station, which made it a no-brainer since we arrived by train. It's brand new, with sort of a brand new car smell, and is so modern it almost seems out of place in this sleepy part of town. The neighborhood can be described as transitional--- definitely on the upswing, but tired and worn in parts. The city is rehabbing Mission Drive and has started a Thursday Farmers Market and nighttime street fair. I suspect there will be more development locally, including on the several empty lots that surround the hotel. Since the hotel is two blocks from the beach, parking can be scarce during the day, especially on weekends. Hotel parking is all valet, and runs $24/night--- steep in this essentially suburban locale.

The hotel is close to the 5 freeway, and walking distance to the beach, Oceanside Pier, Regal Movie Theater, and the local business district. Food options are expanding, with many walkable options--- we tried the attached Hello Betty seafood restaurant (very good, and chargeable to the room), Rim Talay (a local Thai place, very good), and Ruby's on the pier (fun, as always).

The area can be a little gritty still, so hotel security is fairly tight. You need room keys to use the elevator and enter the pool and gym. The pool is on the 6th floor roof--- a smallish rectangular pool with a long hot tub alongside, sort of boring, but with a killer view.

The rooms are large, with an L-shaped sofa/sleeper and built-in desk. The bathrooms have only a shower. It's all very stylish and functional, even the large sliding door into the bathroom.

Breakfast is included with the room. Coffee is mediocre at best, but the food selection is good, though perhaps not up to "Embassy Suites" standards. The hot options are limited to sausages and scrambled eggs (from powder, no doubt).

I should mention that the entire "city-view" side of rooms is directly adjacent to the Amtrak/Santa Fe tracks. I had a 4th floor room, and was surprised to hear trains all night. Apparently the freight trains run hourly all night long, and while some folks may be able to sleep right through the rumbling, I could not. My wife and kids slept fine, though, and my sister in a room down the hall didn't have any issue. But for me, interrupted sleep is not an option, so I paid an extra $20 to move across the hall (literally) to a full ocean view room where the train noise was barely audible, if at all. So light sleepers beware; pay for the upgrade.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSOceanside, General Manager at SpringHill Suites San Diego Oceanside/Downtown, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your past stay with us. I was excited to read that you took the train to our property! Riding the train is so much fun, a “green” way to travel, and also saves you money on gas and parking. A win-win! Glad you took advantage of that!! We truly hope to be able to serve you again in the future, thank you!

Sincerely,
Kathleen Maola
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

It's a nice new hotel a block away from the beach, we had a balcony room on the 5th floor which was a complimentary upgrade. You can choose to hear the ocean waves anytime from your room. The look and feel of the hotel is very contemporary and modern. They offer free internet and breakfast. Parking is valet only and costs $24 a day with not many other sensible options. Drive into San Diego is about 40 min although we ended up hanging out in Oceanside for the nice walks, shopping, eateries, and the nice people.
Only negative point about the hotel would be that the shower leaked water into the restroom floor and after complaining about it twice it was not fixed and I wasn't offered another room.
Oh and Sambie at the front desk is a great and friendly associate

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSOceanside, General Manager at SpringHill Suites San Diego Oceanside/Downtown, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your past stay with us. Please accept my apologies that we were not able to take care of the shower door for you. I am glad to hear though that you enjoyed our location as well as the complimentary upgrade we were able to provide you as a platinum elite member! Thank you also for the wonderful comments about Sambie, he is a valued member of our team. We truly hope to be able to serve you again in the future, thank you!
Sincerely,

Kathleen Maola
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

I haven't even left this property yet but I had to write a review! This property is BEAUTIFUL. The entire staff is extremely friendly and always willing to help out or give advice! I would absolutely recommend this property to anyone traveling to Oceanside!

Room Tip: You can't beat an ocean view room! Try to request one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSpringHillSuites, General Manager at SpringHill Suites San Diego Oceanside/Downtown, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for writing your review of your stay! We are so excited that you enjoyed everything we have to offer! We truly hope to see you again, thank you!

Sincerely,

Kathleen Maola
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

This is a brand new, gorgeous hotel. If you like modern design you will enjoy this. Also if you like trains you will enjoy it. Spent several weeks here. Stayed on both sides of the hotel. A big difference on the ocean side with noise levels, but I didn't mind the train noises on mountain side either. Any oceanfront hotel within 20 miles north or south has to deal with the same train noise. One good thing about the train is you can use it to go anywhere in SoCal. Beautiful pool, hot tub and fitness center on 6th floor. Good restaurant, Hello Betty, on corner of hotel. Plenty of good eating all around town. Farmers market on Thursdays with food stands Thursday nights. Staff is young, and learning, but all staff is very friendly and helpful. Over the weeks that the hotel has been running they are improving everything. As one reviewer mentioned when they develop the lot between the hotel and the beach the dynamics of hotel may change. Love it, favorite place to stay in Oceanside/Carlsbad area.

Room Tip: Highly recommend ocean front. If you want to save money and stay in a great hotel other side is nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSpringHillSuites, General Manager at SpringHill Suites San Diego Oceanside/Downtown, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review on your experience with us! We are so pleased you enjoyed your long term stay with us! We truly hope you had a great experience and it sounds like you did! We hope to be of service to you in the future. Thank you for your review!

Sincerely,

Kathleen Maola
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Oceanside is not on everyone's radar when planning a trip to San Diego. This brand new Marriott property certainly elevates the most northerly coastal suburb of San Diego. Every modern amenity, a roof top pool overlooking the Pacific Ocean, patios with fireplaces and a two minute stroll away from Oceanside Pier with miles and miles of surf.

Just be aware that the hotel name may well suggest that this hotel is in San Diego - it's not! Oceanside is a good 35 to 45 minute drive north from San Diego Airport. That being said, the hotel is just a 5 mile drive along the coast from Carlsbad Village - a wonderful place to walk, browse the many boutiques and stores, and a host of restaurants.

The hotel was still smoothing a few rough edges: most notably the breakfast cafe - no coffee one day, no eggs the next. But these are minor issues when you are up on the roof top, languishing in the hot tub looking out over the ocean.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSpringHillSuites, General Manager at SpringHill Suites San Diego Oceanside/Downtown, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your past stay with us! We are so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and we are also pleased to hear you enjoyed our close proximity to everything that Oceanside has to offer! We truly hope that if your travels take you to the area again, that we will be your home away from home!

Sincerely,

Kathleen Maola
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ILLINOIS
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

After seeing some of the early reviews for this hotel I was a little hesitant about staying. But from the check in to leaving no real problems. Everyone was friendly and willing to help. Rooms were new and fun.
Pool was great to be in on the top floor and the hot tub was perfect.
The train was never an issue. And if you stay at any hotel along the coast you are going to hear it some. Not a big deal at all.

A couple of minor issues. Two night at the pool they were out of towels. And one night the elevator was out. But its new so maybe some growing pains??

Would be more than happy to stay here again when im in the area!!

Room Tip: Ask for a ocean side room if not sure about the train at nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSpringHillSuites, General Manager at SpringHill Suites San Diego Oceanside/Downtown, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your past stay with us! We truly appreciate your positive feedback. Thank you also for alerting us about the pool towels as we will make sure to take that into consideration for staff to take care of. Again thank you for your time and we hope to be of service to you again soon!

Sincerely,
Kathleen Maola
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites San Diego Oceanside/Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites San Diego Oceanside/Downtown

Address: 110 North Myers Street, Oceanside, CA 92054
Location: United States > California > Oceanside
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Oceanside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites San Diego Oceanside/Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your SpringHill Suites San Diego Oceanside/Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites San Diego Oceanside/Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.