We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oceanside Museum of Art” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oceanside Museum of Art

Oceanside Museum of Art
704 Pier View Way, Oceanside, CA 92054
760 435 3720
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 45 things to do in Oceanside
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Oceanside Museum of Art”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Oceanside has a very nice art museum in downtown, near city hall. Rotating exhibits, modern building, small gift store. We live here and are members of the museum. How long you spend there depends on the person. Cannot recommend length of time for visit.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    10
    5
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hampstead, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“An excellent place to see some really cool local art.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

My favorite exhibit was actually the quilting exhibit, I never knew the detail and artistry that could go into quilting. It was fascinating. They have rotating seasonal exhibits and all have been wonderful.
Also it is free for active duty military.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not What I Expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

This truly isn't a "traditional" art museum ... if you think you're going to see paintings on the wall ... you won't find that here. I've been here several times, and left each time scratching my head and wondering "what the heck was that all about?" From the bedezalled low riders, to extremely abstract items, I don't think I've seen anything that I connected with. It's certainly not the type of museum as you would find at the Timken in Balboa Park, or the Metropolitan Museum of Art. It's all just a little bit odd.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Culture is a great Walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

The art work is very inspirational and many people (musicians) have taken from that building and it's art.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
131 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A Small Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

My visits to this museum have usually been connected to the textile exhibits; the display of quilts several years ago was outstanding --- excellent CD and book of the collection, works displayed perfectly. Other exhibits have had appeal, others less so. That is the norm for a local museum, so I appreciate the online newsletter that gives an idea of pending exhibits. The gift shop has an excellent array of art and crafts, always tastefully displayed.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oceanside Museum of Art also viewed

 

Been to Oceanside Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oceanside Museum of Art, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.