We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It passed the white sock test!! :-)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn San Diego Oceanside

Save Saved
You added La Quinta Inn San Diego Oceanside to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
La Quinta Inn San Diego Oceanside
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   937 North Coast Hwy, Oceanside, CA 92054   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 28 hotels in Oceanside
Antelope Valley
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“It passed the white sock test!! :-)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2010

Several years ago, on a family trip to Washington, we stayed in a popular hotel chain (before we found LaQuinta), and had an eye opening experience . . .
My son was young enough that he was in one of those baby walkers running around the room - We were horrified when we went to take him out and his perfectly clean socks were black from the filth on the carpet - needless to say, that made us start really checking the room out and it was beyond gross when you really got down to it - boy had we been blind - and we haven't used that hotel chain since!!
Well, ever since then, we have a running joke about whether a hotel will pass the "white sock" test or not - (and I think if you tried it you'd be surprised how many don't!) - My 79 year old Mom did the honors and by the time we were ready to turn in that evening, she had proclaimed LaQuinta Oceanside a WINNER!!! :-)
The room was clean and good sized with a fridge, micro and sink. The bed was comfortable and the FREE Wi-Fi, FREE Breakfast and FREE Parking make it a great deal.
The front desk clerk, Sue, was warm and helpful and the location is great!!!
We will definetly be staying here again!

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    93
    48
    14
    8
    4
See reviews for
65
38
15
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Parker , CO
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2010

We stayed at the La Quinta for 2 nights with our Dog. The staff was very friendly room was clean and large. Flat panel tv fridge and microwave, nice shower everything you could ask of in a hotel along with a good location. Due to traffic it can be tough getting in and out of the parking lot. I would stay there again in a heartbeat. Breakfast was nice with scrambled eggs and waffles along with the usual items.

We were on the 2nd floor and usually my dog will bark if he hears people slamming doors or talking. Over both nights he never barked once. The hotel we stayed at in Vegas he barked several times.

For the price it is a great value, more expensive hotels might have more services such as room service, fancy lobby but you can't beat the things that really count clean comfy quiet location food

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, OK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2010

Just got back from four night business related trip. Hotel was clean, staff was courteous and location was excellent. We have stayed at several LQ locations over the last year and this was the best. The breakfast selection was above average for an LQ. Rooms had microwave and fridge. Cleanliness was not an issue in the room or the rest of the hotel. The business center was one computer, but internet in the room was not a problem. Ran down to the beach a few times, it is about a quarter mile. Tried Anitas Mexican restaraunt, food was not totally authentic but not bad and decent prices. Also went to Joe's Crab shack down the road, it is a national chain restaraunt, but $1.50 beers and $2 drinks at happy hour made it worth it.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2010

Checked into the La Quinta and Rose was at the Front Desk. She was so nice. We paid $71.00 (AAA) rate. Rose gave us a key and asked us to go check out the room and see if we like it. She kept saying she wanted us happy. We loved it. The room was very clean. Spacious. Refrige in room. Free internet. Free parking. Free breakfast. The beds were queen size and very comfy. Nice bathroom. Great shower. For a "sold out" night the hotel was very quiet. It is located across the street from one of the California Travel & Info Ctr's.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2009

Excellent front desk staff, good housekeeping and excellent beds. The rooms feature a nice flat panel TV, 2" pillow-top beds, double-windows (keeps noise out), a small kitchen area (no stove, but microwave and small fridge), Wireless HSI (free) and a clean bathroom.

For $69.00 (last minute, walk-up price) a deal!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, BC
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2009

We stayed for two nights on a quick trip to visit San Diego and area. We expected a nice clean hotel and that's exactly what we got. The staff were very friendly, the room was really, really big. We had asked for two beds, and it had two queens. There was a small fridge, a microwave, a sink, cupboards and drawers in the room, sort of like a mini kitchen. The room was very clean and although the housekeeping staff removed the used soap and didn't replace it, soap was sent up as soon as we called down. This hotel offered excellent value for the money. Good breakfast was offered in the tiny breakfast area. This hotel is quite close to the water.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2009

Large rooms, modern and clean,10 minute walk to the beach, quiet, friendly and helpful staff. Didn't even notice the bar/club next door. Full B-fast, but not always on time.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Quinta Inn San Diego Oceanside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn San Diego Oceanside

Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Oceanside Hotel Oceanside
La Quinta Inn Oceanside Hotel
La Quinta Oceanside
La Quinta Hotel Oceanside
Oceanside La Quinta
Address: 937 North Coast Hwy, Oceanside, CA 92054
Location: United States > California > Oceanside
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Oceanside
#4 Business Hotel in Oceanside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — La Quinta Inn San Diego Oceanside 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, LaQuinta, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your La Quinta Inn San Diego Oceanside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn San Diego Oceanside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.