We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oceanside Get Away” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aquamarine Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Aquamarine Villas to your Saves list
Aquamarine Villas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   711 S. Myers Street, Oceanside, CA 92054   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Oceanside
Palm Desert
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Oceanside Get Away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2011

What a great place to Vacation , for us it was just a two hours ride to splender by the Sea and just a 30 minute drive to Mission Bay San Deigo.
This was a great value and the pool was prisitine,. I would definately reccommend this complex to both familys and couples alike. We plan to book again next year

We loved the condo and its vicinity to all the attractions down at the beach.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    13
    2
    1
    4
See reviews for
11
21
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
McLean, Virginia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2010

We've just returned from a wonderful stay at Aquamarine Villas (AMV) from Dec. 20 to 27, booked through RCI. We stayed in an upstairs corner one-bedroom suite with views of the ocean from the cozy living room with fireplace (that we didn't use) and its balcony; and from the open kitchen/dining area. From the bedroom we could see the ocean and the long Oceanside pier. (The restaurant "Ruby's" is at the end of the pier.) The AMV staff was friendly, welcoming, and fabulous. Kudos to Danielle, the hospitable manager, who answered our questions, recommended local sights and eateries, and arranged an early check-in for our adult children who stayed in a two-bedroom suite over the weekend. Kudos also to Kris, housekeeping manager, for the clean rooms and her and her staff's readiness to supply us with extra towels and blankets, and other arrangements. Perhaps because it's a small complex, Aquamarine Villas offered special touches that we have not found in our own timeshare at a large Eastern resort. The table was set for two when we arrived; all it needed was a candle in the middle for a romantic dinner. As in a hotel, a basket of shampoo, conditioner, and lotion were in the bathroom as well as a jar of cosmetic pads and Q-tips. Housekeeping came everyday (but Xmas) for trash and to replace any towels (if needed). We appreciated having free wireless and the help of a staff member to get our laptop set up. The attentiveness of the staff at this small "resort" also was a big advantage over staying at our own timeshare.

After 3 days of rain and lots of good reading, the sun came out and we enjoyed frequent walks to the pier, town, and the tiny harbor. As for the frequent trains that run along the Coast (not just at Oceanside), the tracks are about a half a block away but we quickly got used to their sound, and found our entire stay to be wonderfully comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010

A delightful place to stay in a great location. Staff very friendly and helpful. Facility small (26 units) but very spacious and bright. Very close to ocean and pier for nice walks. Take the train to San Diego for a day; fun trip.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2010

I am writing this from my unit in Aquamarine Villas, my home timeshare resort. We have been coming here for years and look forward to out stay each summer. Yes, it is in an older set of buildings..... but the landscaping and the pools are beautiful! Hot tub at about 102 degrees and pool somewhere in the 80s. The unit is large and airy. We are in a corner unit so it gets a bit more light than most. It is impeccably clean, in fact our housekeeper just won an award for timeshare housekeepers. Decor is such that it increases the feeling of light and air.

Let me answer a couple of the earlier reviews..... As with any building near the ocean, the management strugles to keep ahead of the elements. They have, in the last couple of years, installed aluminum double paned windows and doors. These make a great difference. Some of the older wood railings have been replaced with painted metal as protection against the termites, which happen to live at the beach. Each year the units are refurbished, and if a visitor has been here close to refurbishing time, the units may show the wear and tear of the year. ... but a groundskeeper in on site all the time to repair and keep this from happening. The units are a block from the ocean --- but, that beach gets very noisy on summer weekends and I am happy for the quiet here. There is no elevator for handicapped access, but that has been in the discussions and will someday happen -- meantime, when we came in with our gray hair and lots of stuff to unload, the staff was right there willing to help us take our things up the stairs. The primo unit is the upstairs one on the northwest corner -- but this year it was not available, so we took a corner unit on the first floor. My husband is quite relieved not to have to walk up that second set of stairs. Flat screen TVs are one of the upgrades coming soon, and it is great to finally have Wi-Fi in the room.

The train -- Any hotel on the coast in Oceanside has to deal with the train because the track parallels the coast. After the first day we seldom hear it, and the new windows and doors do minimize the noise inside the unit. On the other hand, frequency of trains and closeness of the station make it easy to take the train for a day in San Diego or San Juan Capistrano or even Disneyland....

This is not a deluxe luxury resort, but it is an excellent place to spend a week's vacation. As I say, we love it. The staff is friendly and helpful. Occasional continental breakfasts and social activities are nice. It is also child friendly. Yes, we would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCal
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2009

Really enjoyed the Christmas at the Beach. From the secured Parking Garage to the Chocolate left in the entry area. Walked on the Beach Christmas Morning and was impressed with the Santa Surfers and Family Traditions of Reunions at the Beach. Lived in San Diego County in the Past... The train was noticeable but afterall (Tradition)the trains run all up and down the coast from OC to San Diego Border...Kinda neat...The water is literally 1 block away...quaint beach community.
We plan to be back again and again.
Dennis and Rene

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, TX
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2009

Booked this trip through RCI. First day I was there, I found the main trash can in kitchen full of trash from the previous people. Second day, the hot water wasn't working. Receptionist said there was some unscheduled maintence to be done. How inconvienient. You would think we'd get some kind of warning before they got started. Very unprofessional. We took a warm shower in another room they let us borrow. Now room service is as 10am. The whole week I never heard the door bell ring at 10am sharp. The day of checkout the door bell rang at 10am sharp. Told the cleaning lady we were in the process of leaving when then I get a phone call from the receptionist not 5 minutes later saying that checkout is at 10am and basically get out as soon as possible was the message. I felt like I was getting kicked out. I had never in my whole entire life had any problem with any hotel or motel when it came to checkout. Even if it was an hour later or so. Motel 6 has way better service by far.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

Wanted to spend a few days away from home, not too far. OSide is just 50 miles so we spent 4th of July weekend but not the 4th. Condo was clean and modern, everything worked, staff was friendly and available. Beach and area was nice and an interesting place to wonder about. The train is loud but you get used to it. The bed wasn't fluffy and big but it was clean and comfortable. Overall thought it was great for a low key beach vacation--very inexpensive week. The beach is wide and sandy, some areas rocky but nice. Oceanside still a charming beach town, lot's of military out of towners. We'll go back next summer.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aquamarine Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquamarine Villas

Address: 711 S. Myers Street, Oceanside, CA 92054
Location: United States > California > Oceanside
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Oceanside
#6 Family Hotel in Oceanside
#7 Romantic Hotel in Oceanside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aquamarine Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Aquamarine Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquamarine Villas Hotel Oceanside
Aquamarine Hotel Oceanside

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aquamarine Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.