We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little apartment” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oceanside Palms

Save Saved
You added Oceanside Palms to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oceanside Palms
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   909 North Coast Highway, I-5/San Diego Freeway at the Coast Hwy Exit, Oceanside, CA 92054 (Formerly Oceanside - Coast Hwy Motel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 28 hotels in Oceanside
Katy, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice little apartment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I think this would be great for a small family and an economical vacation. 2 Q beds, kitchenette, full kitchen w/ dishes, nice bathroom (of course), laundry room on-site, modern, swimming pool on-site and all this at a reasonable price. Close to beach, slight ocean view (top floor). Many attractions with-in a reasonable drive; i.e. DT San Diego and it's goods (you can take the train and enjoy the scenic views), Carlsbad, LA.

Room Tip: Ask for the closest thing to an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    35
    17
    7
    9
See reviews for
46
27
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo BC Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Have been spending many nights in US Motel 6 hotels travelling from Canada to Mexico with 2 dogs.
This was one of the newer renovated hotels.
Caution......choose the actual renovated rooms....well worth it.
We were a late check in and selection was limited.
Floor 2 with gorgeous king bed, new fixtures etc was a great surprise. Still only soap and flimsy towels, but flat screen TV! fridge, microwave and iron.
Bathtub small, but new unit.
Comfortable night.
Paid $80 with tax for two adults, but assumed it was higher than normal due to location.
All in all a good experience with friendly staff.

Room Tip: Floor 2. Ask for renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
motel6oceanside1, Director of Sales at Oceanside Palms, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Mrs Bill,

Thank you for choosing the Motel 6 Oceanside while visiting our city.

My staff and I are delighted we met your expectations.

We are looking into the pillow and towel quality and researching new options with other vendors.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Paul Terzis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontiac, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

EASY to get to very close to the base or ocean . was very pleased with the price . Clean non-smoking ... no surprises thats always a big plus ..
Would stay again. stayed on the third floor .. THANKS....

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I would recommend this motel to anyone traveling through Oceanside. Nice, clean, comfortable and great price. The staff went above and beyond to be helpful. I've dealt with many hotel chains. I can honestly say, this Motel 6 staff are the very best. A huge "Thank you to Mike"!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
motel6oceanside1, Director of Sales at Oceanside Palms, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Denise G,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience while staying at the Motel 6 Oceanside.

My staff and I are delighted we met your expectations.

I am looking forward to your return in the near future.

Sincerely,

Paul Terzis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is okay, looks just renovated. Unfortunately we got a room with the old division and colors. No kettle or coffeemachine in the room, therefore tea and coffee is available in The lobby 24hours. Hotel is at a walkable distance from the beach, approx 15min. Every Thursday there is a nice morning and evening market with food, drinks and live music, also at walking distance. Staff is okay. Would have expected à bit more of the hotel for the money paid.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
motel6oceanside1, Director of Sales at Oceanside Palms, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear L V

Thank you for the feedback about your stay at our Motel 6 Oceanside.

Your comment about not receiving value is very important to me.

We offer 3 types of rooms. The Deluxe type offers the best value as it includes all the amenities you mentioned were not available in your room which is the basic economy type.

I apologize in advance if my staff did not explain those room type options to you

Please contact me directly if you plan to return so I can explain all your options.

Best Regards

Paul Terzis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pole
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed here for two nights, and it's safe to say this is not a comfortable place to relax or lounge around. It's good for having a bed and bathroom to recoup in, and that's about it.

Our room was next to the stairwell, elevator, and the parking lot. So yeah, it was noisy most of the time. The bed was comfortable enough, and the room and bathroom were clean. But my pillow had old stains of blood or something worse... The TV was old-school and mounted awkwardly in the upper corner of the room, so if you were lying in bed trying to watch, it was angled funny and would bug you after a while.

The staff we interacted with were quite friendly, and gave us great tips on local eats. The location is just a few blocks away from Oceanside Pier, which was great. (It's practically next door to Camp Pendleton, so the area is filled with US Marines, but I don't see this as a problem).

Overall, it served its purpose as a place to get clean and rested from our ventures into Oceanside. Next time though, I would pay the additional $10 a night and stay at one of the nicer hotels down the street.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
motel6oceanside1, Director of Sales at Oceanside Palms, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Jerry E.

I like to thank you for choosing the Motel 6 Oceanside while visiting our city.

Your feedback is mostly positive however your comment about the pillows is of great concern to us therefore we are addressing it immediately and I like to sincerely apologize as it is unacceptable.

Our records show you selected one of our standard rooms with the basic amenities and older style TV. My staff is instructed and will offer the option to upgrade to a deluxe room with a new flat 37 inch screen TV, upgraded furniture and amenities for just $10.00 more ($15 during high season). This would of saved you having to travel further to get the value you expected.

I am looking forward to welcoming back to our hotel in one of our deluxe rooms.

Sincerely,

Paul Terzis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlsruhe, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I stayed at Motel 6 Oceanside, Coast Hwy.. It was a good experience and stay. It is a clean Motel and the staff is friendly. I had an upgraded room. Nice, bed for most might be hard. For me was heaven... Would and will stay here again when we visit.. For me does not feel like Motel 6.. Good Job!!

Room Tip: With this Motel being refreshed I think all the rooms are good. Upgrade was a nice change and worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oceanside Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanside Palms

Address: 909 North Coast Highway, I-5/San Diego Freeway at the Coast Hwy Exit, Oceanside, CA 92054 (Formerly Oceanside - Coast Hwy Motel)
Location: United States > California > Oceanside
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Oceanside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Oceanside Palms 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all new Oceanside Palms Hotel includes upgraded amenities in every room. Property amenities include a complimentary Hot Breakfast, Free Wi-Fi internet access, fitness facilities, business center, pool & hot tub, gas barbecue & fire pit. Kitchenette rooms are also available for your next vacation or extended stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Despegar.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Oceanside Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Oceanside - Coast Hwy Hotel Oceanside
Motel Six Oceanside
Oceanside Motel 6
Oceanside Motel Six

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oceanside Palms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.