We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food at a good price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jennie's Cafe

Jennie's Cafe
1001 S. Coast Highway, Oceanside, CA
(760) 433-2060
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 317 Restaurants in Oceanside
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Oceanside, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good food at a good price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This is a friendly, cozy place along Coast Hwy that serves good wholesome food at a reasonable price. Definitely NOT your greasy spoon restaurant. The waitress was very friendly, courteous and attentive. We have visited Jennie's before and will be back.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    13
    0
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oceanside, California
1 review
“Oceanside's Gem. Great diner, delicious food, a no-brainer.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

A family owned and oriented restaurant, you can't go wrong here.

The service is impeccable. Down-to-earth good people, not the "kiss-your-butt" service. The recommendations are honest and on-point, accommodations are made with ease which is important to me, a clean-eater that often substitutes for healthier options.

My favorite go-to on my cheat day is the Dutch Harbor with grilled onions and peppers added.

The Clean-Eater, as I've dubbed it, is the Veggie Omelet with egg-beaters to cut cholesterol and add grilled chicken. I often bring in my own protein powder and ask for a Protein Shake. Without hesitation the chef blends up a nice personal Strawberry Banana Chocolate Protein shake..

The ambiance is great. I'm a fan of an environment I feel at home and comfortable relaxing in; this is the place!
The bar-top reminds me of old-school diner's back home in the mid-west. The comfortable booths and a cup of coffee is a great way to appreciate a new day. Jennie's supports other local small business by hanging beautiful art (Stained Glass work by Don Myers). The work is so beautiful I actually bought a piece from Don myself as a friend's Christmas gift.


I am happy and proud to bring work associates into Jennie's. They are always wonderfully impressed and surprised at the experience. Being constant travelers it's easy to fall into a routine; Jennie's brings a unique work brunch to the table each time.

Until next time -
Jorie

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Great Place for Breakfast & Friendly Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We had breakfast at Jennie's twice during our stay in Oceanside. Large portions, made how you like it and friendly staff. During our 2nd visit we brought another couple who enjoyed it also. First time I had an omelette with cheddar cheese, ham and tomatoes which came with home fries and whole wheat toast. Second trip I had one of their specials which included eggs, bacon, sausage, home fries and two large pancakes. Absolutely no complaints.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great breakfast/lunch spot.There is a cute patio dining available. They will be moving across the street Jan 2014.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Good food, friendly, good prices, nice for families, loners, or couples. There was nothing I disliked.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great find for basic, delicious food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

I just happened to stop in for lunch. Service was sooo friendly, food was fresh and well prepared, onion rings were excellent. This is called a diner, and it is a diner. A very good diner. I plan to spend more time in Oceanside and plan to eat here often. I'm tempted to give 5 stars - just never know if I should save 5 stars for something more gourmet. But a great place to eat no matter what.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jennie's Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Jennie's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jennie's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.