We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horribly rude waiter” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Venetos

Venetos
608 N. Coast Hwy, Oceanside, CA 92054
Venetos@VenetosItaly.com
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 317 Restaurants in Oceanside
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Horribly rude waiter”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

While vacationing in Oceanside, my friends and I decided to try Venetos. Right off the bat we asked for separate checks, but the waiter passive aggressively refused so we had to all go on one.
We started by ordering the bruschetta appetizer, which was good, but we weren't given plates, just the big one the bruschetta came on. When it came time to order the waiter, the guy seemed to also be the bartender, was incredibly rude and scoffed when one of us had the audacity to pronounce a dish incorrectly. The food itself was good but after it was dropped off we were completely ignored. Most of us ran out of water (our only beverages) a few bites in and we had to ration a quarter full glass one of us had just to get through the garlic knots. When the waiter finally returned to collect plates we tried to make things easier by passing them to the end to which he responded curtly "I don't know if I can get all of them" before leaving.
A few minutes later we had to ask for the check and more water. He returned and set the check and a pitcher of water on the table then left without waiting the two seconds it took for us to stick a card in the envelope. Once he finally took the check he returned with the card and a five dollar pizza coupon, as if it would make up for the horrible service. We left the coupon on the table along with a 9 dollar tip on a 100 check. Never have any of us felt so unwelcome at a restaurant nor have we experienced such awful service. NEVER going back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    12
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seal Beach, California
1 review
“First timers.... Loved it!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I played it safe and got pizzas. Both pizzas were very good. Now I only wish I would've tried their other dishes.
Atmosphere was very nice, live music and our waiter sang his song. Great time

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
1 review
“An Italian Gem in Downtown Oceanside”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We have frequently dined at Venetos and have never been disappointed. Every meal, from Osso Buco to pizza has been superb. The spinach salad is easily big enough to share and is the best I've ever had. All the staff are friendly and helpful and on weekends,Tony provides musical entertainment. Considering food quality, price and a great waitstaff, what more could you want?

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fantastic authentic Italian meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Our family of 6 had a great meal here. We enjoyed good food, good wine and great service. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. Food was served piping hot and flavorful! Just a great night out. We were all full and happy when we left.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Quality standard Italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Stopped by for a quick meal after a movie mid-week. It was fairly late and the restaurant was not too full. We found the staff friendly and helpful even though it was near closing time. Though not spectacular, they got the basics right. We had lasagna, fettuccine, and chicken Marsala. All were good and tasty!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Venetos also viewed

 

Been to Venetos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Venetos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.