We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Seafood - Too Loud” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Joe's Crab Shack

Joe's Crab Shack
314 Harbor Dr S, Oceanside, CA 92054-1036
760-722-1345
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #85 of 317 Restaurants in Oceanside
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Description: Been in business for several years at this location. Yelp has reviews going back to 2008.
Redmond, Washington
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good Seafood - Too Loud”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I understand the Joe's Crab Shack theme and it's appeal to the tourist crowd, but it can make for an unenjoyable meal. It is so loud due to blaring background music, packed tables, birthday party singing, etc. I guess people like the dancing wait staff but it all seemed geared towards a really young crowd (only kids seemed amused). It didn't help that we were seated right next to a table of really drunk people who were extremely loud. This all takes away from the fact that the seafood was quite good. I had the classic steamer bucket and everything in it was great, especially the crab and shrimp. Skip the calamari appetizer though. It was so thickly breaded that you couldn't really taste the calamari, but if you enjoy that deep fried goodness you might like it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    58
    30
    16
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Local Sea Food - Fun Place to Eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Great Local Sea Food - Fun Place to Eat, I have been here several times and enjoy it every time.
Great View of Harbor, very friendly People, very attentive service. I will be back I am sure many times. Love to bring friends. Love the atmosphere.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tecumseh, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

everything was great, food as well as service, the atmosphere was absolutely wonderful, and I definetly plan on returning when I visit again!!!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton, California, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Noisy bar atmosphere, waiters dance.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Food was so so. Daughter enjoyed dancing to music with wait staff. Can't talk to with your party, music too loud/party atmosphere. Salmon over-cooked, vegetables under-cooked.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent view, just ok food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I have been to several Joe's throughout the country, this is probably one of my least favorite for the food but by far the best for the ambiance & view. The crab legs were a little oversteamed (dry) and the corn was a bit wilted looking. I think the view of the harbor made up for the minor issues with the food though. My sister & nephew also had overcooked crab legs, but were otherwise happy with their lunch. Our waitress was very nice & attentive.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's Crab Shack also viewed

 

Been to Joe's Crab Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joe's Crab Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.