We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1401 Carmelo Drive, Oceanside, CA 92054   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 28 hotels in Oceanside
Phoenix, AZ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great weekend getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I stayed her for 3 nights with my family. We had a great time and this hotel is a hidden gem. The staff was exceptional and the location is great. It was a very short walk to the beach and marina that had restaurants and lots of beach activities. The rooms were great! We booked a junior suite. I must say these rooms are great! They are very large with a lot of storage for all of our bags, beach chairs etc. The 46inch flat screen TV was loved by all. The only thing I wish it would have had was a balcony. The front desk was friendly and welcoming. All of the employees met us with a smile and always asked how our stay was. I even received a late check out (2pm) on a Sunday no less. I would highly recommend this hotel and I will most definitely will back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCNPC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Hello rteneyck Family, We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us and glad to hear that you were able to explore all of the fun activities near the hotel. Next time you are visiting, please be sure to check out the 6th floor observation deck that serves as the big balcony (We even do free yoga classes up there Saturday mornings). Also, there are some fun new activities in the harbor area including stand up paddle boarding! Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to share your experience with the world.
Warm Regards,
Geoffrey Parkford
General Manager
Holiday Inn Oceanside Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    137
    73
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
76
54
15
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Forest, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Close to the beach, restaurant, mall and many tourist attractions. The room is very big and my daughter enjoys every bit of it. Great service with many amenities we will always come back for our " great escape". Very friendly staff and beautiful rooms!!! Just a short walk to the beach and the pier with great restaurants or even a few minutes drive to downtown oceanside, everything is easy and stress free.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCNPC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Hello Eduardo,
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience on here. Please come back again soon - we look forward to your next visit!
Warm Regards,
Geoffrey Parkford
General Manager
Holiday Inn Oceanside Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Currently, Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Based on the very good reviews on tripadvisor, I expected something special from this hotel. I took my family here for two days of beach going. Somehow I thought this hotel was across the street from the beach, but it is not. It is maybe a 10 minute walk from the beach. Location is across from a trailer park... not very stunning visually. The rooms are large and nice. The hotel staff is very good. Overall it was a pretty good hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This place was recommended by a friend and I'm not usually fond of Holiday Inns but this one exceeded my expectations.

The rooms were really spacious and clean. It had everything we needed, TV, air con, fast wi-fi, the whole deal. The best part was the massive shower head!

I was holidaying with a friend and stayed one night. All the hotel staff were lovely, especially Joanne at front desk and Geoff the Manager made us feel very welcome.

We got hungry and didn't really want to eat at Denny's down the road so sat at the cute bar in the lobby. My friend and I had the best time chatting away with Katrina the bartender, and chowing down on some delicious buffalo wings - I won't forget that blue cheese sauce!

Although a short stay, it was a nice welcoming stay and will definitely come back again :)

Room Tip: Every second floor has laundry service
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

This is a good holiday inn. I am a member so was upgraded to a junior suite which was a nice surprise. If you are member you also get a goody bag with water and popcorn. So sign up before you go.

The hotel is quite close to the beach. It is about a 5 minute walk to the beach but if you had 5 kids and a bunch a crap to bring it may feel a lot longer.

The walk is over a railway bridge and down and hill that gets you to the harbor which is nice. They don't really have Oceanside views by the way.

Breakfast is typical holiday inn food. It was good and a reasonable price. It is either buffet or menu order so you have a choice.

It has a small bar in it. Typical 2 treadmill and 2 elliptical machine exercise room with a small pool and deck in the back.

I was quite comfortable here. Staff was nice and for me on my own the walk to the beach was easy.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, texas
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Nice hotel, refurbished and clean. Nice and accommodating staff.
Only disappointment was that they did not have any ocean/marina view rooms; seems like those are for the time share units?? DId not eat here, so could not comment on this.
The marina nearby had some nice small restaurants; the Fish and Chip place was great.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor room to prevent noise from the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Stayed here for a night and it was absolutely fantastic! The staff were extremely friendly and fun and were so helpful. Was so nice to see a fellow australian there - Jo had one of the best smiles ive seen and was super friendly. Katrina made us some amazing drinks during happy hour and provided some great recommendations about the food - buffelo wings = amazing!! The room was heaps bigger than I expected, was super clean and the shower had great pressure (which is always a bonus!) The beach was just a short stroll away with plenty of good eateries to choose from. Overall I had a great night here and would highly recommend anyone to stay here. Enjoy :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area

Address: 1401 Carmelo Drive, Oceanside, CA 92054
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oceanside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Oceanside
#1 Romantic Hotel in Oceanside
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Oceanside
#2 Family Hotel in Oceanside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Oceanside Marina area, the Holiday Inn features 110 guest rooms and Jr suites. On site heated outdoor pool/spa, fitness center, full service restaurant and bar. Covered parking. Walk to the beach and harbor & 700 yards from the Camp Pendleton main gate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Expedia, Otel and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Oceanside Marina Hotel Oceanside

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.