We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family trip to the beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1401 Carmelo Drive, Oceanside, CA 92054   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Oceanside
GreenLeadersBronze level
Currently, Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Family trip to the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Based on the very good reviews on tripadvisor, I expected something special from this hotel. I took my family here for two days of beach going. Somehow I thought this hotel was across the street from the beach, but it is not. It is maybe a 10 minute walk from the beach. Location is across from a trailer park... not very stunning visually. The rooms are large and nice. The hotel staff is very good. Overall it was a pretty good hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    78
    14
    2
    1
See reviews for
84
58
15
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This place was recommended by a friend and I'm not usually fond of Holiday Inns but this one exceeded my expectations.

The rooms were really spacious and clean. It had everything we needed, TV, air con, fast wi-fi, the whole deal. The best part was the massive shower head!

I was holidaying with a friend and stayed one night. All the hotel staff were lovely, especially Joanne at front desk and Geoff the Manager made us feel very welcome.

We got hungry and didn't really want to eat at Denny's down the road so sat at the cute bar in the lobby. My friend and I had the best time chatting away with Katrina the bartender, and chowing down on some delicious buffalo wings - I won't forget that blue cheese sauce!

Although a short stay, it was a nice welcoming stay and will definitely come back again :)

Room Tip: Every second floor has laundry service
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

This is a good holiday inn. I am a member so was upgraded to a junior suite which was a nice surprise. If you are member you also get a goody bag with water and popcorn. So sign up before you go.

The hotel is quite close to the beach. It is about a 5 minute walk to the beach but if you had 5 kids and a bunch a crap to bring it may feel a lot longer.

The walk is over a railway bridge and down and hill that gets you to the harbor which is nice. They don't really have Oceanside views by the way.

Breakfast is typical holiday inn food. It was good and a reasonable price. It is either buffet or menu order so you have a choice.

It has a small bar in it. Typical 2 treadmill and 2 elliptical machine exercise room with a small pool and deck in the back.

I was quite comfortable here. Staff was nice and for me on my own the walk to the beach was easy.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, texas
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Nice hotel, refurbished and clean. Nice and accommodating staff.
Only disappointment was that they did not have any ocean/marina view rooms; seems like those are for the time share units?? DId not eat here, so could not comment on this.
The marina nearby had some nice small restaurants; the Fish and Chip place was great.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor room to prevent noise from the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Stayed here for a night and it was absolutely fantastic! The staff were extremely friendly and fun and were so helpful. Was so nice to see a fellow australian there - Jo had one of the best smiles ive seen and was super friendly. Katrina made us some amazing drinks during happy hour and provided some great recommendations about the food - buffelo wings = amazing!! The room was heaps bigger than I expected, was super clean and the shower had great pressure (which is always a bonus!) The beach was just a short stroll away with plenty of good eateries to choose from. Overall I had a great night here and would highly recommend anyone to stay here. Enjoy :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redondo beach
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed here accidentally as the hotel that we booked was oversold and they sent us here. The rooms are very clean and the staff throughout the hotel are extremely nice. It's more of a business hotel and I wouldn't hesitate to stay again if I had to. The best part of the stay were the nice people who worked here. Shout out to the tall Hispanic guy. Super nice and brought us new towels when we were at the pool. The wifi was fast and free which is always nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

this hotel isn't the best location and not exactly kid friendly (no bath tub) but the rooms are clean and the staff was helpful. rooms on the harbor side are quieter. the free coffee in the morning is good.

Room Tip: get a room on the harbor side
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Drew H,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel. I appreciate the compliments on the staff and the level of service provided. It is also nice to know that you noticed the cleanliness of our hotel. I am sorry we were not able to exceed or at least be at par with your expectations on some aspects of your stay. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area

Address: 1401 Carmelo Drive, Oceanside, CA 92054
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oceanside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Oceanside
#3 Family Hotel in Oceanside
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Oceanside
#4 Romantic Hotel in Oceanside
#7 Business Hotel in Oceanside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Oceanside Marina - MCB Camp Pendleton Area is a Full Service, Award Winning hotel located 700 yards from USMC Base Camp Pendleton's Main Gate and minutes' walk to the Oceanside Harbor and Beaches and with easy access to Interstate-5, accessing all of San Diego County. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Oceanside Marina Hotel Oceanside

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.