We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than expected” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1401 Carmelo Drive, Oceanside, CA 92054   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Oceanside
GreenLeadersBronze level
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“More than expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We are frequent guests at Holiday Inns around the US. We often book with Holiday Inn/Express because we know just what to expect. However, this particular property exceeded all expectations. The staff at the front desk were welcoming and friendly throughout our stay. The room was fresh, spacious, and attractive. There was sufficient soundproofing so that we did not share the activities of guests staying next door or above us. The beach and marina areas are a short walk down a dirt path and across a parking lot (about five minutes). The pool and jacuzzi are not resort-quality due to the limited space and lack of a good location (in the parking lot), but with a beautiful beach so close it isn't a problem. The fitness center has two treadmills, an elliptical, a recumbent bike, and a set of free weights. It is small but clean. Breakfast is not included but is available for $10.95 for standard continental fare. The quality of the room, the staff, and the proximity to the beach/marina make this an outstanding property for a stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCNPC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to Oceanside and thank you for your loyalty to the Holiday Inn and Holiday Inn Express brands. As a loyal guest of IHG hotels, we greatly appreciate you sharing your feedback about your experience.

We are thrilled to hear that our hotel and staff exceeded your expectations and hope that your travel plans bring you back again soon as it was our pleasure serving you.

Sincerely,
Geoffrey Parkford
General Manager
Holiday Inn Oceanside Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    78
    14
    2
    1
See reviews for
84
58
15
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

My husband and I were attending a Navy Corpsman pinning ceremony for my son. The front desk staff was very friendly and accommodating to our family. We had the queen size suit which was perfect with a pull out sofa bed. The housekeepers came every day to attend to our needs. Within walking distance was the beautiful beach and many restaurants. Camp Pendleton's gate 5 was right around the corner along with the main highway #5. Great location, and value for families visiting the Marine Corps base.

Room Tip: Suites are a good size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCNPC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Sharon,
We are very happy to hear that your enjoyed your visit during your son's recent pinning ceremony. Congratulations to your and your family and we salute your son for his service.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. We hope that your travel plans will bring you back to your son (and us) again soon so we will have the opportunity to serve you.

Warm Regards,
Geoffrey Parkford
General Manager
Holiday Inn Oceanside Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

In October of 2012 we booked rooms for March 2013 with about 5 other couples for a big birthday celebration. About a week before the vacation, my boyfriend and I realized we would not be able to go due to a sick family member. Jeff, the General Manager, was very helpful in working with us so that we would not lose our money and allowed us to book another time, past what the usual expiration date would be. He was great to work with and we really appreciate his flexibility. We are really looking forward to our visit and already have a great opinion of the staff!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCNPC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
It was a pleasure speaking with you and being able to resolve your reservations troubles... We are glad that everyone is feeling better and look forward to the upcoming vacation.

See you soon,

Geoffrey Parkford
General Manager
Holiday Inn Oceanside Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

A great experience with the Holiday Inn. Didn't have a reservation, just walked in. Staff at desk was very nice. Large clean room. Comfortable Bed. Quiet, can't hear the neighbors. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCNPC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Bobkatevan,
We are so happy that you walked into our hotel and enjoyed your visit! As a "Top Contributor" on TripAdvisor, your Excellent rating really means a lot to us. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience (and photos). We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Sincerely,
Geoffrey Parkford
General Manager
Holiday Inn Oceanside Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel over a half dozen times. It continues to surprise me as to how nice the staff is and what a great value this property is in an area that is usually pretty expense.
Rooms are immaculate - have lots of space and include a large updated flat screen HD-TV
Its one of the nicest (and affordable) 3star properties. Highly recommended

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCNPC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Ronald,
Thank you for your continued loyalty to our hotel and taking the time to share your opinion about the property with the TripAdvisor community. We look forward to keeping your experience excellent (Note: those fancy HDTV's are in the process of being packed with about 60+ new HD channels so within the next month your TV experience will get even better!)

Hurry back again soon.
Best Regards,

Geoffrey Parkford
General Manager
Holiday Inn Oceanside Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

Lead by Mr. Parkford, General Manager, the whole team makes sure every need is addtessed. Outststanding venue for business or pleasure. Business center services a plus. Internet access speed is consistently good too. Walking distance to the beach and Harbor at Oceanside.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel before. The staff are very courteous and helpful. On this trip there was some confusion with my reservation (reserved through Orbitz). The front desk staff were very helpful and kind. The hotel is located close to I-5 and access to the highway is quite easy.

The room I stayed in was large and comfortable( 2 queen size beds). The room included a small refrigerator, which is helpful for me because I usually need one for beverages and food. The shower is huge!

One of the reasons I chose this hotel, (I come to Oceanside frequently to visit my son who is a Marine), is that it had the lowest rate in the area for the time I was going to be here. It was an easy decision because I had been here before and like the hotel location, rooms, and service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area

Address: 1401 Carmelo Drive, Oceanside, CA 92054
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oceanside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Oceanside
#3 Family Hotel in Oceanside
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Oceanside
#4 Romantic Hotel in Oceanside
#7 Business Hotel in Oceanside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Oceanside Marina - MCB Camp Pendleton Area is a Full Service, Award Winning hotel located 700 yards from USMC Base Camp Pendleton's Main Gate and minutes' walk to the Oceanside Harbor and Beaches and with easy access to Interstate-5, accessing all of San Diego County. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Oceanside Marina Hotel Oceanside

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.