We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay in Oceanside” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1401 Carmelo Drive, Oceanside, CA 92054   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Oceanside
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A great stay in Oceanside”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

It was my first trip to California from Australia so I was nervous booking a stay anywhere!
The overall stay was fantastic, the staff were helpful and very friendly.
Special thanks to Joanne at front desk who helped us out with a dilemma we had!
The rooms are decent and very clean - I always judge hotel rooms by the cleanliness of the bathroom especially haha
Although there is plenty of restaurants around, we were recommended to try the restaurant and was not disappointed. I would call myself a foodie and the food was great.
Will definitely come and stay again and recommend this to anybody needing a place to stay in Oceanside!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    80
    16
    2
    1
See reviews for
90
61
15
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

I travel quite a bit on business and stayed at hotels all over the country. This is by far the best experience of customer service I have ever seen. Every employee from mangement, reception, food service, maintenance, and housekeeping went out of their way to ensure that my stay was the best it could possibly be. It was obvious the employees enjoyed working there and it showed in their upbeat attitudes and friendly smiles everday. Kudos to the entire staff!

Room Tip: I was originally in room 334 but the hot water was not working properly to my satisfaction so I was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

My fiance who is from SD moved to Australia and upon returning to California to visit family we wanted a place to stay which was close by to them and Holiday Inn Oceanside Marina seemed like the perfect location. We were not disappointed!! ALL the staff were great and extremely helpful especially Joanne. I was grateful she was so knowledgable on the hotel and surrounding areas and finding out that she is a fellow Australian made being away a less "homesick" experience.
The hotel is lovely - nice clean rooms and oh so comfortable bed! The food and service at the restaurant was great, we were recommended the five pepper chicken and it was divine!
Thanks to all who helped to make our holidy a memorable one. We would definitely come back!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCNPC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area, responded to this review, December 16, 2011
On behalf of Joanne, the 5-pepper chicken, and the rest of the staff, we thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel during your recent visit to Oceanside! We hope that you will choose to stay at our hotel next time your travels bring you our way again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neumunster, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

I was sorprise how good WAS all the staff at the front desk...the housekeepers and all the employees... Location was perfect for our stay, so convenient. very special thanks to Geoffrey thew GM for all his help and advise... we will return to your hotel for sure.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCNPC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area, responded to this review, December 16, 2011
Thank you for sharing your experience. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit and the level of service received from our staff. It is our hope that your travels bring you to California from Germany again soon and we have the opportunity to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oceanside, ca
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

Brand new. Good location. Excellent staff. One has to be careful in Oceanside because many motels are homes to crime and drugs. This motel is safe and secure.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCNPC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area, responded to this review, December 12, 2011
Thank you for sharing your experience. Guest safety is our primary concern at our hotel and we do take every step possible to ensure our guests have a safe experience. As with all travel, we do suggest that you be sure and lock your car doors as well as lock the deadbolt and safety latch while in your guestroom. Our staff is available 24/7 to address any concerns and to be of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

Best service i have ever had at a hotel and i travel a lot. The lady that helped with our meetings in the conference room Oct 18-20 was awesome. The whole room was big, beautiful and clean. A 5 min walk to the marina which has great restuarants and some stores to do souvenir shopping. Very close to Camp Pendleton. The only thing is it can be a little hard to find if you don't know your way around.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCNPC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area, responded to this review, December 12, 2011
Thanks so much for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

Our busy and stressful Orange County lifestyle had finally gotten to me and I hadn't been able to sleep. I needed a 'sanity escape'. I jumped on Priceline.com and found a hotel in a nearby city that would provide us with the opportunity to enjoy the beach and fresh air at a reasonable rate. I wanted a nice hotel, one that would be clean and up-scale, but this time around I didn't need a 5 star glitzy place. I just needed a retreat! Was very thankful to find that I had won the room at the Holiday Inn Oceanside Marina on Price line for $55 per night (plus fees of course).

The hotel Staff was warm and friendly; some of the nicest we have ever experienced! Made us feel welcome right away and I knew right away I had come to the right place to recuperate from my exhaustion.

We asked for a 'quiet room' and our lovely host put us in an end unit which would have been protected us from possible noise of other guests walking through the hallways. Our room was nice, very clean, and had a king sized bed that was very, very comfortable (and - believe me - I'm picky). Not much of a view but that wasn't essential to me this trip.

Unfortunately, my insomnia problems continued the first night's stay because the room we had been given (although a quiet end room) was facing the freeway. In the morning the commute traffic going to San Diego sounded like a mild and continual 'roar to me. I'm sensitive to sound though; for some, this may have been no problem.

But...this is the kicker: We called down to the front desk and they INSTANTLY made another room available for us. And, this one was wonderful. It was in the back of the hotel, facing the beach area (we had somewhat of a beach view from the window). They had upgraded us FREE to a Junior Suite. The room was great and I FINALLY slept like a baby and felt like a million dollars the next day.

Internet access for many hotels cost extra these days, but I was very happy to find that the Holiday Inn Marina charged nothing extra for me to use my laptop in-room. And the service was fast and without problem. Another plus!

I have to carry special food with me during travel, and the in-room refrigerator and microwave was very helpful. Small sink was available too. Bring your own dishes and utensils with you if you need to bring your own food as I do.

We did not take advantage of the eating facility so I can't comment about that. We did stop by the fitness room and it was quite adequate. There are bicycle rentals available right there at the hotel for a reasonable cost so you can get out and about and cruise around the marina and beach areas.

With a short hop onto the freeway we were in Carlsbad and at the Shopping Outlets, which we love. We ate at King's Fish house twice while there which I recommend. It is across the street from the Carlsbad Outlet.

We got in lots of walking during those two days - the Carlsbad beach and the Oceanside beach near the hotel. Both lovely.

The hotel itself is in a typical marina type area, but if you're used to beach cities, you expect that. Once inside, it is wonderful. And it has great access to the marina and beaches and wonderful shopping. For a quick get-away, where you can get some fresh air and lots of enjoyable beach time in, plus Outlet Shopping - you can't beat this hotel for the price.

Oh, there are two things I need to advise you on. If you are a "BATH" person, make sure that you tell your host you need a room with a bath when booking or at arrival. The two rooms we had both had only a shower. Granted it was a HUGE shower, with superb bath products, but if you were fantasizing about a good 'soak', you'll be disappointed. Just make sure you book a room with a bath if that's important to you. I believe that baths may come only with 2 queen sized beds (but I may be wrong).

The T.V. and reception was fine, but there was no option for pay-for-movies. I always like to have a choice of a good movie when I'm relaxing at night. The lobby advised they did have DVDs available, but check on this if it's important to you.

Enjoy our beautiful California beaches - even if it's for a quick 1 or 2 night get away. A Sanity Escape!

Room Tip: If you want a BATH, discuss in advance as I think they come only with the 2-queen bed option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCNPC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area, responded to this review, December 12, 2011
We are so happy to hear that you had a great time. Please come and visit us again soon. Be sure to follow us on Facebook as we often have fan-only specials that you can take advantage of. Until next time, happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area

Address: 1401 Carmelo Drive, Oceanside, CA 92054
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oceanside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Oceanside
#3 Family Hotel in Oceanside
#4 Green Hotel in Oceanside
#5 Business Hotel in Oceanside
#6 Romantic Hotel in Oceanside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Oceanside Marina - MCB Camp Pendleton Area is a Full Service, Award Winning hotel located 700 yards from USMC Base Camp Pendleton's Main Gate and minutes' walk to the Oceanside Harbor and Beaches and with easy access to Interstate-5, accessing all of San Diego County. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Oceanside Marina Hotel Oceanside

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.