We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of WorldMark Oceanside Harbor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added WorldMark Oceanside Harbor to your Saves list
WorldMark Oceanside Harbor
1301 Carmelo Drive, Oceanside, CA 92054   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
southern california
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2010

After reading mixed reviews we were pleasantly surprised when we checked into the Worldmark at Oceanside. The rooms felt a little retro, but we found the place to be exceptionally clean. The bedrooms were at either end of the condo so there was ample space for us. Our two-bedroom place had everything and we didn't need half the stuff we brought. The overall location is a short walk across a parking lot to the harbor where there are some shops and restaurants, as well as, some water excursion opportunities. The beach is just a block from there, so it was very easy to get our stuff over to the beach, too. The condo had a very nice view of the harbor and the ocean surf breaking onto the beach from our 5th floor unit. Sunset was awesome.
One negative is that the train track runs in between the complex and the beach. Surprising how many trains share that track: Amtrak, Coaster, Metro, etc....back and forth. No horns or shaking units, but there is definitely noise. We got used to it over the course of the week, but it's pretty loud at first. We didn't get woke up at night though so maybe they didn't run then.
The condo itself has washer/dryer and dishwasher that we used over the week. There is a tv in the master bedroom which was smaller than my computer here. The main living room tv is also pretty small...27", so they're in need to upgrade that. We rented a couple movies there over the week. There's a small exercise room with the essential equipment. The pool is quite nice and there is a large jacuzzi and a kiddie pool which got some use. Seemed like a nice mix of people...no rudeness anywhere or loud/late parties. The complex was doing some painting which involved a little late night disruption, but it wasn't a big deal. They gave us notice.
They do have an internet option available in the room, but it was terrible. The desk staff told me that it wasn't working too well and they weren't kidding. We were able to get on here and there, but I had to call tech support a couple times or tap into a wireless signal in the area.
The couple of negatives were not "deal-breakers. We would stay there again and definitely recommend the place.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    29
    1
    4
    0
See reviews for
42
12
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2009

I booked this hotel via Interval International Exchange, for its close proximity to Legoland and the beach. I was not disappointed. It was also a close driving distance to Carlsbad Shopping outlet. We got a one-bedroom apartment with a murphy bed for my two boys (10 and 11 yo.). We had a full kitchen, a large balcony with a BBQ grill, in-room washer & dryer, a lounge, a fireplace, two TVs with cable, a sizable bathroom, coffee maker, free parking etc. Internet was not free, but was cheap for $16 per 10 days. You get a modem to connect to their network so that speed and reliability were not an issue. No free breakfast though as you were supposed to make one in your kitchen.
The balcony looks out to the tennis and basketball court, landscaped garden, then in the horizon you see boats, other apartments and the ocean! Simply beautiful.
There were a couple of days in our one-week stay here that we did 'nothing' except enjoy the resorts pool. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

For my complete blog, copy and paste below URL to your web browser:
(--)

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, UT
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2009

I stayed here with my extended family for one week. The rooms were clean when we got there and in an excellent location - very close to the beach. Our washing machine was broken and started to leak water onto the carpet so the management had a new one brought up and installed immediately. The front desk was friendly and helpful anytime we called them or saw them in the lobby. We had three adjacent rooms, each with small children. Although we were in the middle, I didn't hear any noise coming from either side, or below us. The rooms were spacious, with all the amenities that we needed although I wish that the carpet had been a little cleaner.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2009

Stayed at The WorldMark for Spring Break with wife and 2 kids. (March 16-20). It has a very convenient location just off the 5 and 76 freeways in Oceanside. Also has the Coast Highway running out in front of it. Great views of the Ocean as well. We were really impressed with the the Harborside restaurants just a short walk from the WorldMark. There is a Joe's CrabShack and a Harbor Fish and Chips place. Just beyond the Harbor is the beach. We went there one of our days and had a blast building sand castles and chasing waves, etc. Very fun.
Funny thing happened while we were there. So, DR Horton had the guys holding the signs out on the street. The signs said "Lender Short Sale" Well, they also had a huge sign up on their buildings that read "Ocean View Condos from the $400's." About halfway through our week stay, they changed the sign to read "Ocean View Condos from the $300's."
Anyway, on to the room. We had a 2 bed, 2 bath that I guesstimated to be about 1000 sq ft. The entryway was pretty big and there was a Murphy bed and a washer and dryer in this area. They had a kitchen table that had six chairs and a bigger than normal kitchen with all the norms of a timeshare kitchen. The living room had a sofabed and 2 love chairs, along with a small entertainment center with a smallish TV and a DVD/VCR combo player. Finally, there was a gas fireplace.
The Master bed and bath were smaller to me than other places we stayed, in fact the 2nd bath was bigger than the master bath. There was another small entertainment center with smallish TV in the Master Bedroom.
The 2nd bedroom was fine, only thing was that it didn't have a TV.
Lastly, the patio area was very small, but it did have a gas barbeque for some steak and burger nights.
The parking garage was great as well. When you check in they send you over to the resort host to get your parking pass. Each room gets one spot in the garage. From our room, it was a very short walk to the garage, which is extremely convenient.
We had no problems at all and would recommend the WorldMark to any who asked.
PS, they do have a surcharge for California energy. It was $40 for the week.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to WorldMark Oceanside Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WorldMark Oceanside Harbor

Address: 1301 Carmelo Drive, Oceanside, CA 92054
Location: United States > California > Oceanside
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Oceanside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and TravelClick so you can book your WorldMark Oceanside Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Worldmark Oceanside Harbor Hotel Oceanside

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage WorldMark Oceanside Harbor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.