We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Menu Warning...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hill Street Cafe

Hill Street Cafe
524 S. Coast Hwy, Oceanside, CA
760-966-0985
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 334 Restaurants in Oceanside
Cuisines: Californian
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
San Diego
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Menu Warning...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

This place is confusing. My family and I looked at the menu online before coming in to make sure they also had vegan options for a few of us. When we got there the menu was completely different than online. It wasn't a holiday or anything special, so we were all a little thrown off since we already had in mind what we wanted and had to quickly rethink our orders since the menu was so different. Service was slow as some of the dishes are "prepared next door" which makes eating awkward as half of us got our food before the others. My sister didn't get her dish until everyone was practically done and we all had to sit there while she ate. Also, many of the "vegan" items aren't truly vegan. Be sure to ask your server. That being said, my "Vegan Surf and Turf," while $14, was in fact vegan and pretty awesome. A giant glazed portabello mushroom and baked tofu on vegetables and rice. The others unfortunately didn't like their dishes. The place itself looks interesting, but the menu issue was weird. Doubt I'll be back. Picture of the receipt included.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    18
    9
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good things take time--what's the rush, Dude?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Really good, healthy, fresh ingredients put together in a hearty way. Don't come if you're a fussy type or in a hurry because service is super casual. Just know that going in. Both times that we went, surfer-type dudes shuffled about as servers. At breakfast, he forgot my toast but then brought it after we'd completely finished eating. Don't sweat it. Go for what our waiter called "real food" . . . they grow some ingredients in their front yard!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Everything I hoped it would be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

We had the teriaki tofu salad, yam soup, and rippin' fish soup. All ingredients were fresh and the results superb. We ate our fill but didn't feel overstuffed because of the low salt and fat. Plus, the building itself is very charming.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
284 reviews 284 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
“Vintage Establishment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

The setting is an old 19th century house so the ambience is quaint, cosy and inviting. There's a "chill" courtyard for AM coffee meet up or wine in the evening. This is an unassuming, relaxing atmosphere so if you are in a hurry or demanding of constant attention this may not be the place for you. I hear they can get very busy so I have only been for coffee or wine during the week. It's small, intimate and artsy and I enjoy the patio solo with a book or laptop or to meet a friend during off peak time as it has such a calming vibe then. The menu is extensive with veggie options and fresh ingredients. The staff is friendly but the service is very laid back.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia Island, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Always Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This is a place we always try to get to for a meal when visiting Oceanside / Carlsbad. It has quality food, freshly prepared, and many vegan offerings. Cool ambience, too! Try the freshly juiced drinks, turkey chili, and carrot cake :) Everything is delicious!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hill Street Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Hill Street Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hill Street Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.