We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place to Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Oceanside Pier Resort

Save Saved
You added Wyndham Oceanside Pier Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wyndham Oceanside Pier Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   333 N Myers St, Oceanside, CA 92054   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 28 hotels in Oceanside
GreenLeadersBronze level
Northwest Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good Place to Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2009

Found out this was a time share resort upon check in. You can still rent rooms. Went with this because it was only $20. more per night than some of the other motels in the area. My only complaint with the place is they only gave us towels on our 2nd day and didn't make our beds up. Also there are no glasses in the rooms. Two mugs are available but they didn't change those either. Ours had a bug in it and they never changed it. Was told on checkout should have called down for maid service but what's the use when you get back in time to go to bed.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    124
    95
    40
    22
    18
See reviews for
158
77
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
TX
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2009

Overall we were pleased with our stay at the Wyndam Oceanside Resort. It would have been nice to have a full ocean view since we had to use so many of our timeshare points. We could see a portion of the beach from our balcony. The unit was very very clean. Staff was very helpful and friendly. The great thing was you were steps from the pier and beach. We had a two bedroom unit, which was not as small as the previous reviewers'.
The master bedroom was fair sized and had a good sized bathroom with jacuzzi and separate shower. Second bedroom was a bit smaller but did have a window, as I guess, all do not. The second bathroom has a bathtub/shower. Each bedroom has a flat screen TV as does the Living Room. The LR area was plently big enough and had a nice dining area. The full kitchen has pretty much all you would need, unless you plan on cooking a lot. There is a restaurant, but it is not associated with the resort. We did not get a chance to eat there. There was a cafe on the property that sells Starbucks coffee as well as sandwiches, ice cream, etc.. It also carries a few grocery items,
As far as the train noise, I was never once awakened by any trains, and I am a very light sleeper. They rarely run freight trains through there and the commuter trains are not noisy at all.
Oceanside itself is nothing to brag about, although from what I was told they are trying to clean up the city and make it more tourist friendly. However, the beach is very nice as well as the 1/4 mile pier which has a Ruby's Diner at the end. There are other decent restaurant choices nearby, some within walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Tahoe
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2009

The resort itself was great. The rooms were very small (a 2 bedroom unit was only 800 square feet, which is tiny when you think about it, and the second bedroom was built into an inner wall, so it had no windows or ventilation, which made it very "cave-like"), but given the fact that the resort is just across the street from the ocean, that sort of makes up for the small units. HOWEVER...Oceanside is NOT a place I would ever want to take my family to again. I was afraid to walk along the streets alone, even during the day. The resort is like some sort of oasis in a pit of slum neighborhoods, and because I like to venture out and see the surrounding areas, I was rather disappointed with the location. Also, the resort is built like a "U-shape" so that even if you're in an "oceanview deluxe unit overlooking the pool" (which in their definition means you can get a peek of the ocean from your unit), you are still looking out on the units on the other side of the resort. You have to look left or right to see the ocean. I can't imagine what it would be like in the units on the outside of the "U" (that don't look on other units, but are on the outside of the complex and thus are subject to the noise from the outside) as the trains run directly by the resort at all hours and are extremely loud, noisy, and disruptive...even in a unit that is supposed to be "away from the trains." The Activities Center was absolutely fabulous for kids, and my daughter spent way too much money there all week (the staff there was beyond commendable, as they allowed her to do activities that weren't on the "normal" schedule when she asked them). She was happy and occupied, which goes a long way. Also, the entire housekeeping and maintenance staff was fantasic (very friendly, concerned about our comfort and well-being, etc) . It was a beautiful, new resort. All in all, it was a fantastic vacation...but I would have been somewhat disappointed had I spent money on the week versus it being a timeshare exchange that cost me very little. Bottom line: we prefer staying at the Homewood Suites in Del Mar (Vista Sorrento Parkway). For the money, you get a free breakfast and dinner there (including alcoholic beverages if you're so inclined), larger rooms, a MUCH better neighborhood, and a staff that will blow you away. Yes, it's not directly on the ocean. But I have found that "directly on the ocean" often means "directly in the slums" which is so not good with kids. I'll take my 5 minute drive to the beach any day if it means I feel safe and comfortable with where I am staying. However, if you're a timeshare exchanger and get the opportunity to stay at the Wyndham Oceanside, I'd do it. Just watch your back when you're out walking around the neighborhood.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2009

As its name suggests, the Wyndham Oceanside Pier Resort has rooms with terrific views of the Pacific ocean and the famous Oceanside Pier. The hotel is relatively new and rooms are very clean and comfortable. Wyndham is marketing this property as a timeshare resort. There is a sales office on the property but their approach was pretty low key. Just keep in mind that many of the guests will be timeshare clients. If you visit during the summer or at other school break times, this will include many families with children.

The location is great with easy access to the pier, a bit longer walk to the beach, and also a short walk to Oceanside's downtown entertainment district. The only real negative is that the hotel is less than one block from the main commuter rail line between Los Angeles and San Diego. If you have a room on the east side of the hotel facing the tracks, you will hear the train horns all night long.

Also, be aware that if you book one of the low rates offered on the internet, you will be getting a studio suite and not one of the two-bedroom suites. The studio suites are much larger than a traditional hotel room, however ALL of the studio suites are located on the east side of the hotel closest to the rail line. The studio suites do NOT have an ocean view. Still, if the train noise doesn't bother you, for about $100/night the studio suites are a pretty good value. I'm a pretty sound sleeper and, after the first night, the train noise really didn't bother me.

The check in process at the hotel was a bit unusual. Staff at the front desk handles the check in and provides the room key. To get the required parking permit, however, you need to walk across the lobby to see the concierge. The afternoon I checked in, the concierge (there was only one on duty) was busy processing a timeshare family. I did find it irritating to have to wait an additional 15 minutes just to get the parking permit. Also, the property does not have bell staff available to assist with luggage.

When they were not busy, however, the concierge staff was helpful and provided several good local restaurant recommendations.

The hotel does have two restaurants available. The Sea Breeze Cafe offers breakfast and lunch sandwhich fare. It doubles as a well-stocked convenience store but closes at 6:30 PM. "333 Pacific" (the second restaurant) is much more upscale and offers excellent food along with great ocean and pier views. 333 Pacific operates under different ownership and is not actually part of the hotel.

The parking garage is underneath the hotel and is adequate for the facillity. It was nice to park and just walk a short distance to the elevator. The elevators serving the garage will take you directly to your room's floor.

During my stay, the room was serviced very well and staff was responsive to any request I made. The hotel's WIFI internet service was fast and worked very well.

One final note is that they do not have a cleaning valet service available. There are, however, plenty of dry cleaning businesses located within 4 or 5 blocks of the hotel.

I liked the hotel and look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
streamwood, Il
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2009

We rented this 2 bedroom trimeshare from a private individual and was a little hesitant not knowing much about the area. We made a great choice and was very happy with our stay.

While we thought it would sleep 8 versus 6 people, it turned out we only had 4 to 6 people staying with us.

The view was great and our kids loved the beach, 2nd floor pool, and kds activities, which they particpated in when we were around. Kids loved the beach and it was tough to get them to leave. Boggie boarding was also great with my son.

I enjoyed the Skylounges on the top floor of each tower, reserved for guest use. It was great to hang out and watch the big screen TV, play games, read, catch the views, and watching the sun set.

The unit was a tad on the cozy side, but met our needs. Underground free parking was great. I also like the small vernada, big enough for 2 people.

It is definitely the best resort in this Oceanside area. The area would benefit from closer dining options (nearest was 2 blocks).
Hotel was planning on opening an onsite restaurant.

If you get a chance eat at Ruby's on the Pier.

As for closeness to attractions it was about 6 miles to Legoland, and 35 minutes to Sea World.

It is a timeshare and Wynham does try to attract you to take a tour, which we did. They gave us to free/discounted tickets to compensate us which made it worthwhile. Units were less than 1 year old, and the staff was very friendly, and added to our pleasent experience.

  • Liked — Great Location to the Beach and Pier
  • Disliked — No restaurant onsite
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2008

I love the location of this resort! It's closed to everything,Including the train station which is about a 2 min. walk away. But sum trains blow there horns so loud when they pass the resort. Since it's next to a crossing. But there is bar's ,restraunts ,movie theaters(3) the beach and so so much more!!! you really do'nt have to leave for anything.....It's all right in the area!

The check in needs some help here. They 1st. check you in.Then you have to move to another part of the lobby to get a car pass if you rented one.That process takes so long....they should do it all together like every other place i have every been.

The rooms are very nice and huge! We had a 2 bed room 2 bath with ocean view(very nice) on the top floor and the room # was 704 The rooms are clean and they have every thing you'd ever need.dish washer,washer and dryers,3 flat screen t.v.'s c.d. player. stereo ect...........................

The pool area faced the ocean on the second floor as the fitness center was on same floor facing the ocean as well. And both were spotless as well. The lobby had a huge lounge area with game room. And there was visable security every where!! you do'nt see that much...well other than the polo towers. But it was nice to see security gaurds all over...even seen them walking around in the garage at 3 in the morning one time! very very nice!

Eatting...well there working on 2 restaruants and they should be open in a month or two. but htere is so much in waling distance to eat anyways.

Over all I just loved this place!!! The most striking thing is how clean the whole resort is! from the grounds to the rooms. If you dont mind the train blowing there horn at 3 in the moning(which i didnt) you will Love this palce too!!! And all the emplyees where all fantastic!!!!!! The Wyndham co. really out did them selfs with this team they put together here!! I know you will Love them and there resort too!

  • Liked — The whole Wyndham staff,how clean the whole rest was and security all over!
  • Disliked — No free beer:( ...... j/k This place is a perfect 10!
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, WI
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2008

We just returned from the Ocenside Pier Resort and were totally impressed. This is a near to new property and everything was spotless. We had a two bedroom two bath withfull kitchen. Mostly everything in the aprtment looked as if it was nrand new.

Check-in was quick and pleasant and the indoor parking was a great plus. The location is very nice with easy access to SanDiego and surrounding communities very convenient both by train or car. Walking across the street accesses the beautiful beach. The hotel has wonderful amenities ( a top floor lounge/TV room overlooking the ocean, a beautiful ocean view outside heated pool and jacuzzi, a work out center, activities center, free wifi and much much more). Lots of optionall activities to partake of each day. Pleasant help and easy walking distance to many nice businesses.

True there are trains passing often as it is adjacent to tracks for three lines. The noise was not a problem for us. We live near a hospital and hear so many sirens and helicopters that the sound of train whistles was a non-factor. Plus the easy access to them allowed us cheap and convenient travel when we did not want to use the car.

I would most definitely look forward to another stay at this property. Came home totally relaxed after a couple of especially nerve wracking month preceding our stay.

  • Liked — Location and condition of the property
  • Disliked — had no complaints
  • Stayed November 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wyndham Oceanside Pier Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Oceanside Pier Resort

Address: 333 N Myers St, Oceanside, CA 92054
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oceanside
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Oceanside
#5 Family Hotel in Oceanside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Oceanside Pier Resort 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Wyndham Oceanside Pier Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Oceanside Pier Hotel Oceanside
Oceanside Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Oceanside Pier Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;