We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Ocean View” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Oceanside Pier Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Wyndham Oceanside Pier Resort to your Saves list
Wyndham Oceanside Pier Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   333 N Myers St, Oceanside, CA 92054   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fall Sale - 20% Off
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Oceanside
GreenLeadersBronze level
Houston, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Ocean View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2009

As its name suggests, the Wyndham Oceanside Pier Resort has rooms with terrific views of the Pacific ocean and the famous Oceanside Pier. The hotel is relatively new and rooms are very clean and comfortable. Wyndham is marketing this property as a timeshare resort. There is a sales office on the property but their approach was pretty low key. Just keep in mind that many of the guests will be timeshare clients. If you visit during the summer or at other school break times, this will include many families with children.

The location is great with easy access to the pier, a bit longer walk to the beach, and also a short walk to Oceanside's downtown entertainment district. The only real negative is that the hotel is less than one block from the main commuter rail line between Los Angeles and San Diego. If you have a room on the east side of the hotel facing the tracks, you will hear the train horns all night long.

Also, be aware that if you book one of the low rates offered on the internet, you will be getting a studio suite and not one of the two-bedroom suites. The studio suites are much larger than a traditional hotel room, however ALL of the studio suites are located on the east side of the hotel closest to the rail line. The studio suites do NOT have an ocean view. Still, if the train noise doesn't bother you, for about $100/night the studio suites are a pretty good value. I'm a pretty sound sleeper and, after the first night, the train noise really didn't bother me.

The check in process at the hotel was a bit unusual. Staff at the front desk handles the check in and provides the room key. To get the required parking permit, however, you need to walk across the lobby to see the concierge. The afternoon I checked in, the concierge (there was only one on duty) was busy processing a timeshare family. I did find it irritating to have to wait an additional 15 minutes just to get the parking permit. Also, the property does not have bell staff available to assist with luggage.

When they were not busy, however, the concierge staff was helpful and provided several good local restaurant recommendations.

The hotel does have two restaurants available. The Sea Breeze Cafe offers breakfast and lunch sandwhich fare. It doubles as a well-stocked convenience store but closes at 6:30 PM. "333 Pacific" (the second restaurant) is much more upscale and offers excellent food along with great ocean and pier views. 333 Pacific operates under different ownership and is not actually part of the hotel.

The parking garage is underneath the hotel and is adequate for the facillity. It was nice to park and just walk a short distance to the elevator. The elevators serving the garage will take you directly to your room's floor.

During my stay, the room was serviced very well and staff was responsive to any request I made. The hotel's WIFI internet service was fast and worked very well.

One final note is that they do not have a cleaning valet service available. There are, however, plenty of dry cleaning businesses located within 4 or 5 blocks of the hotel.

I liked the hotel and look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    106
    44
    23
    21
See reviews for
166
85
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
streamwood, Il
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2009

We rented this 2 bedroom trimeshare from a private individual and was a little hesitant not knowing much about the area. We made a great choice and was very happy with our stay.

While we thought it would sleep 8 versus 6 people, it turned out we only had 4 to 6 people staying with us.

The view was great and our kids loved the beach, 2nd floor pool, and kds activities, which they particpated in when we were around. Kids loved the beach and it was tough to get them to leave. Boggie boarding was also great with my son.

I enjoyed the Skylounges on the top floor of each tower, reserved for guest use. It was great to hang out and watch the big screen TV, play games, read, catch the views, and watching the sun set.

The unit was a tad on the cozy side, but met our needs. Underground free parking was great. I also like the small vernada, big enough for 2 people.

It is definitely the best resort in this Oceanside area. The area would benefit from closer dining options (nearest was 2 blocks).
Hotel was planning on opening an onsite restaurant.

If you get a chance eat at Ruby's on the Pier.

As for closeness to attractions it was about 6 miles to Legoland, and 35 minutes to Sea World.

It is a timeshare and Wynham does try to attract you to take a tour, which we did. They gave us to free/discounted tickets to compensate us which made it worthwhile. Units were less than 1 year old, and the staff was very friendly, and added to our pleasent experience.

  • Liked — Great Location to the Beach and Pier
  • Disliked — No restaurant onsite
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2008

I love the location of this resort! It's closed to everything,Including the train station which is about a 2 min. walk away. But sum trains blow there horns so loud when they pass the resort. Since it's next to a crossing. But there is bar's ,restraunts ,movie theaters(3) the beach and so so much more!!! you really do'nt have to leave for anything.....It's all right in the area!

The check in needs some help here. They 1st. check you in.Then you have to move to another part of the lobby to get a car pass if you rented one.That process takes so long....they should do it all together like every other place i have every been.

The rooms are very nice and huge! We had a 2 bed room 2 bath with ocean view(very nice) on the top floor and the room # was 704 The rooms are clean and they have every thing you'd ever need.dish washer,washer and dryers,3 flat screen t.v.'s c.d. player. stereo ect...........................

The pool area faced the ocean on the second floor as the fitness center was on same floor facing the ocean as well. And both were spotless as well. The lobby had a huge lounge area with game room. And there was visable security every where!! you do'nt see that much...well other than the polo towers. But it was nice to see security gaurds all over...even seen them walking around in the garage at 3 in the morning one time! very very nice!

Eatting...well there working on 2 restaruants and they should be open in a month or two. but htere is so much in waling distance to eat anyways.

Over all I just loved this place!!! The most striking thing is how clean the whole resort is! from the grounds to the rooms. If you dont mind the train blowing there horn at 3 in the moning(which i didnt) you will Love this palce too!!! And all the emplyees where all fantastic!!!!!! The Wyndham co. really out did them selfs with this team they put together here!! I know you will Love them and there resort too!

  • Liked — The whole Wyndham staff,how clean the whole rest was and security all over!
  • Disliked — No free beer:( ...... j/k This place is a perfect 10!
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, WI
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2008

We just returned from the Ocenside Pier Resort and were totally impressed. This is a near to new property and everything was spotless. We had a two bedroom two bath withfull kitchen. Mostly everything in the aprtment looked as if it was nrand new.

Check-in was quick and pleasant and the indoor parking was a great plus. The location is very nice with easy access to SanDiego and surrounding communities very convenient both by train or car. Walking across the street accesses the beautiful beach. The hotel has wonderful amenities ( a top floor lounge/TV room overlooking the ocean, a beautiful ocean view outside heated pool and jacuzzi, a work out center, activities center, free wifi and much much more). Lots of optionall activities to partake of each day. Pleasant help and easy walking distance to many nice businesses.

True there are trains passing often as it is adjacent to tracks for three lines. The noise was not a problem for us. We live near a hospital and hear so many sirens and helicopters that the sound of train whistles was a non-factor. Plus the easy access to them allowed us cheap and convenient travel when we did not want to use the car.

I would most definitely look forward to another stay at this property. Came home totally relaxed after a couple of especially nerve wracking month preceding our stay.

  • Liked — Location and condition of the property
  • Disliked — had no complaints
  • Stayed November 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2008

I am a Wyndham timeshare owner in Waikiki BeachWalk. We came here after spending a week in Hawaii because my son was getting married in San Diego. My oldest son and his wife flew from Hawaii and met us here as well as my daughter and her fiance. We also had our 13 year old son too. We had room #723 which is an ocean-front, 3 bedroom, 2 bath unit with access to a corner bonus room. It has high end appliances, two spas, FREE WiFi, FREE parking and is within walking distance to town. We ate at Joe's Crab-Shack and the Beach Back Cafe. The people at the front desk were very nice and the concierge was very funny. They directed us where to go to eat and shop and were a huge help. I would send anyone here because it was such a wonderful and beautiful place. Nice pool and the ocean and pier were awesome. You have to walk the 2000' pier and have a banana malt at Ruby's Diner at the end or cast off the pier and catch a fish. Pier fishing is free, no license required. The Oceanside Pier Resort is #1 except for the Metro & Amtrak.

  • Liked — Clean & comfortable
  • Disliked — Train noise
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSP
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2008

Lets start with the hotel. Staff is as friendly as they can be but Hotel's policies suck.

First time in my life a book a hotel and did not get ANY room service during whole week. As I was told, it will cost me 60 bucks to request something that included everywhere as part of the service.

Noise - it is underrated by many reviewers here. First of all trains - it feels like working at a train station instead of having a vacation. Second - ongoing construction. Our children could not sleep at all during the day due to constant drilling, hummering, wall demolition not only at the first floor where restaurants are supposed to be, but also on our floor.

Rooms are new and clean, but architect who designed a second bedroom without a single window should be shot. Talk about vacation leaving in a closet.

Checking in, not only you get your room only at 4:00 PM, but in our case it was not even ready. We were supposed to get an ocean view - good luck with that... Basically if you get a glimse of the shore from a single window, it is considered full ocean view.

On the positive side, you get free parking, baut Oceanside itself is not Beverly Hills by any means. If you want a quality time, book in Carlsbad or anywhere south.

Hope it will help to save your hard earned money and vacation experience in general.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Oceanside Pier Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Oceanside Pier Resort

Address: 333 N Myers St, Oceanside, CA 92054
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oceanside
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Oceanside
#5 Family Hotel in Oceanside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Oceanside Pier Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, TravelClick, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wyndham Oceanside Pier Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Oceanside Pier Hotel Oceanside
Oceanside Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Oceanside Pier Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.