We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vacationing from North Carolina” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Oceanside Pier Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Oceanside Pier Resort to your Saves list
Wyndham Oceanside Pier Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   333 N Myers St, Oceanside, CA 92054   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Oceanside
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
High Point, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Vacationing from North Carolina”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

The staff was very helpful especially the bellmen who delivered our enormous pile of luggage (we were traveling with a toddler and infant). The rooms were nicely decorated and clean. We had a 2 bedroom suite. The kitchen is nicely stocked. The baths were very nice especially the master. You do have to call and request towel exchanges but this was not a problem. We enjoyed the pool. The spa water at the pool was delicious. It was very convenient to the beach. There is beach umbrellas and chairs for rent--very convenient. When booking your room you are not guaranteed its location--I don't like that. The best rooms are above 2nd floor facing the pool-you will also have an ocean view. Do not book a city view--it is of the railroad tracks. If you are on the side of the building you will have an ocean view but it includes public parking lot view also. I had read other reviews about the train noise but this did not bother us. Don't miss the sunset Farmer's Market--every kind of ethnic food you can think of and lots of booths to explore. Here is the big negative: Oceanview needs to clean up their beaches. The beaches are trashy and there is not early morning clean up that I am use to on other beaches. The shopping and stores are run down and there are very few restaurants to eat at.

Room Tip: When booking your room you are not guaranteed its location--I don't like that. The best rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    115
    48
    23
    22
See reviews for
180
99
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Piedmont
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

There was no regular room cleaning, no laundry facilities, the air conditioner was right next to the bed and was very noisy, and an underground parking garage that was difficult to maneuver in. The concierge was rude when I asked for a map of the area. The train whistles all day and most of the night so they give you ear plugs!

Room Tip: the train tracks are right out the back of the building so ask for a beach side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granby, Colorado
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

This is my first post to tripadvisor...I really want to share my experience with other families. This property is very lovely and super clean. The location right on the beach is fantastic and the pool is beautiful and overlooks the pier and ocean. I took the train here (great experience on Amtrak) with my two kids after a two day stay in Anaheim/Disneyland hoping that we could walk around the town to eat, etc. and avoid renting a car. We checked in and were given the typical time share speech. I told them that I was absolutely not interested and they left me alone after that. We proceeded to walk a couple blocks inland to get some snacks, etc. for the kids and we were scared. I was approached twice by people (one very rude and aggressive) asking for money and then we were followed by a couple of different guys for a while. We speed walked back to the hotel (which is crawling with security guards by the way) and returned to the room and my son curled into the fetal position and said he was scared. This was not the beach vacation experience this mom and kids were dreaming of. Needless to say, I quickly called Enterprise and rented a car so we wouldn't have to walk anymore. We were honestly afraid to leave the resort. Cute town but tons of very sketchy people hanging around. I don't know what the deal is. We ate dinner near the Oceanside harbor one night and that area seemed nicer. But I would say go to Carlsbad instead...it's very quaint and much more family friendly in my opinion.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, AK
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

The facility is lovely, clean, and rooms are well stocked. Oceanside is a little seedier than its neighbor Carlsbad, but I suspect the prices reflect that. The Wyndham is nicely located for an easy walk to the beach, the pier and casual dining. The pool was clean, warm and a great place to hang out with both sun and shade.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the pool or ocean, the backside rooms face the train which always whis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville
Top Contributor
252 reviews 252 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

I can see the ocean from my unit. The iconic pier is outside my window. Although the surrounding area is less than perfect, the resort is fresh and modern. The two bedroom unit is spacious and well stocked with amenities, kitchen supplies, toiletries etc. Nice flat screen televisions and down comforters make watching television in bed a treat. We have a Jacuzzi and roomy master bath. The second bedroom is small but nice. You can take the train to San Diego and avoid the traffic.

Room Tip: The views are better from the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

My wife and I wanted to stay on the beach for our week-long getaway. This place is right on the beach, right next to the Oceanside Pier (as the name indicates). Even though we stayed there as a couple, we could see that the resort would be ideal for families. The staff was very friendly and attentive...even the folks working in housekeeping and maintenance. We absolutely loved the restaurant that is attached to the resort called 333. They have fabulous $7 martinis made with any kind of vodka you can imagine. You HAVE to try the Key Lime Martini...OMG!

Very clean, modern and beautiful ocean views. I surfed at the pier every day I was there!

We got a 20% discount through my company which belongs to a discount program called Wild at Work, so that made our trip even nicer.

Would highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

I rarely ever write a review. I am easy to please really.

Clearly I do not know the meaning of a resort.

We arrived late last night for a romantic evening to our "studio suite." You have to sign your life away at check-in. Then because the "concierge" was not here, you have to get a temporary parking permit for which I was awakened at 8 AM by the new concierge to get my "welcome packet" or my car will be towed.

Then we get to the room .. We are on the 3rd floor FACING THE TRAINTRACKS! A train comes by every 5 minutes from 8am to midnight. That would have been nice to know when booking my $200 a night room! There are earplugs on the alarm clock. The "two person jacuzzi" barely fits one. Oh and the bed is not comfy to top it off.

Skip this place. It sucks.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Oceanside Pier Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Oceanside Pier Resort

Address: 333 N Myers St, Oceanside, CA 92054
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oceanside
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Oceanside
#4 Family Hotel in Oceanside
#7 Romantic Hotel in Oceanside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Oceanside Pier Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wyndham Oceanside Pier Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Oceanside Pier Hotel Oceanside
Oceanside Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Oceanside Pier Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.